We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, big welcome”
Review of Hotel De La Plage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel De La Plage
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Four of us arrived at the hotel after a long(ish) 250 mile drive from West Brittany. made to feel most welcome, the room was spot on and the breakfast perfect - we like their bread especially.
booked again for early May as it is a good place for an overnight stay before getting the ferry home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the second time in March of this year 2013 and it was every bit as good as the first time. The hotel and the bedroom were clean and welcoming as was the lady on reception. We were stopping over to catch the early morning ferry to the u.k as we do throughout the year and we have stayed in a good few of the hotels in Ouistreham and have found this one to be the best and very good value for money. We would recommend this hotel
without any hesitation. It is also well located for an evening meal as it has a good few restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: On both occasions I requested ground floor rooms and both times we were placed in lovely rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Once again we stopped over before catching the early morning ferry to Portsmouth.
The room was spotless and the small shower room perfect. The lady on reception was helpful and spoke English this time, which could mean my accent is getting worse.
This was our second stay and I can see no reason to go anywhere else. Sadly with the early boat there is no time for breakfast but the breakfast room looked bright and cheerful like the rest of the hotel. Perhaps we should try a later ferry so we can spend longer at this charming establishment

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldcarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped here after a full days drive up from the south coast of France. We were met with a friendly welcome and settled into our clean and comfortable rooms. The hotel is convenient for the beach and also handy for the local shops and a wide choice of restaurants. Continental breakfast was as expected and then just a 2 min drive to the ferry terminal. It is not the cheapest option for a stopover but very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We decided to use this Hotel for a week during a visit to all the D.Day sights, as well as Caen and Bayeux.
The welcome we received was very friendly and the reception formalities were dealt with quickly. Our room was adequate, although the double bed was on the small side it was very clean, but we only had one wooden chair to sit on. There was tea sachets provided, but no milk or coffee. The shower room/toilet was very clean with plenty of hot water. Towels and linen were changed daily. Early morning risers can be heard padding about and talking, which isn't a good point. Breakfast is obviously continental with a small choice of breads, fruit etc. Only one croissant per guest is allocated (must be on ration in France).
English guests need to ask for cups as the Europeans drink out of large bowls that are set on the table.
Car parking at the Hotel is limited although the street parking is safe as the Hotel is situated in a one way street which is wide - although you would be wise to fold your wing mirrors inwards as I did see one or two parked with these items hanging off! The car park itself has a number of trees within it and the local feathered wild life seemed to enjoy making a mess on the cars. In particular ones displaying a GB plate! However, not to worry the owner goes out in the morning with his bucket and sponge upon request.
This Hotel is not cheap and compared to others that we have stayed in and it does have its limitations however, it does make an ideal base for touring and brilliant if you are using the Ferry to and from the UK.

Room Tip: The first floor room we had overlooked the car park. Not a bad choice for location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed before catching the ferry. The receptionist was very welcoming. The room was clean with minor shortcomings. Coffee and tea was provided but no milk. No English TV channels but maybe not to be expected. The odd thing was knowing most or at least many of the clients are catching the ferry breakfast does not start until 8.00 am, well past the time you need to be at the port. The car park is tight. and egress could be difficult as the gateway is fairly narrow. The hotel is well placed for shops and restaurants and the sea front. I would consider using this hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Booked ahead. Arrived as advised after the evening ferry. The receptionist was rushed and not over-welcoming - he seemed keen to go about his own business! Our room was clean but very pokey. The tiny shower-room was awful. Very overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Party39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouistreham hotels
0.1 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western La Mare O Poissons
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Phare
Hotel du Phare
#6 of 8 in Ouistreham
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Cosy
Hotel Le Cosy
#7 of 8 in Ouistreham
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Plage

Address: 39 avenue Pasteur, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De La Plage 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel De La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing