We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous stay.........and fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap de Castel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cap de Castel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puylaurens
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay.........and fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Cap de Castel for 5 nights and were not disappointed. We were welcomed by David who showed us our room No 10. The room is large, is decorated using an African theme with a large bathroom. It has lots of original features including a large old sink and tiled floors throughout which added to the character of the room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very clean. However the best feature of this room are the outstanding uninterrupted far reaching views of the countryside and the mountains, absolutely stunning.
We chose to eat at the hotel and were certainly not disappointed, the food is fantastic! There is a choice of a la carte or a set menu but both can be interchanged. All beautifully presented and we didn't feel rushed. Recommend that you book as there is limited space in the restaurant. David and his staff look after the guests so well. We can certainly recommend and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms 9,10 or 11 - all have amazing views! Book the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great hotel, beautiful location in a lovely old village with a view to the Pyrenees. This is better than on the website. Friendly and informative hosts, great food, lovely old building beautifully decorated, nice touches, with toiletries and .... well you just have to try it.
Oh a word of advice - one night is not enough!

Room Tip: Talk to the hosts, they answer emails promptly .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend our 29th Wedding Annivesary here in the junior Cocagne suite and it was a real treat! The room was gorgeous with a huge bed, quality linens and lovely finishing touches like L'Occitane pillow mist and refresher towels. The bathroom was beautiful and spotlessly clean with both a bath and walk-in shower. The views across the countryside are stunning and the terrace is a lovely place to sit and read or just while away the hours! The decor is a wonderful mix of ancient and modern and the lighting just adds the finishing touches to create an incredible ambience which permeates the whole place. The dinner was divine and the breakfast was superb with practically everything on offer being home-made, down to the raspberry smoothies and fig conserves. We were made to feel so welcome and it was a real privilege to have the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I stopped 1 night at this beautifully restored 12th Century Castle. Our room was very big with all the facilities you would expect with a large walk in shower separate bath the bed was comfortable and the room was generally spotless. I was not to sure about all the electrical applicances in the bathroom!!! fridge coffee maker etc.

The pool overlooked the beautiful countryside and had complimentary lemon and mint ice which was most welcome on one of the hottest days of the year. We had dinner on the terrace and it was lovely to sit out side and the food was without doubt lovely but small portions the service very good cannot fault a good menu with something for everyone.

The only negative was that the room was unbearably hot and sleeping with just a fan was impossible. It would have been nice to have bottled water in the room considering the temperatures outside and not have to buy it yourself from the bar these are just little touches that make a hotel special. I would recommend this place to couples looking for a romantic break as it was just wonderful to sit on the terrace with a drink its not a place I would take my kids !! We visited the Black Mountain and if its hot its lovely to sit up at the lake in the shade as the temperature is always about 10 degrees lower than in Puylaurens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChildFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at Cap de Castel. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive. Hard to find better!
The food is outstanding, the rooms are nicely decorated (the insulation could maybe be a little better), very clean, coffee maker facility, as well as a huge video selection in case the weather is not nice....

Only little drawback: there is nothing to do in the village - no other restauants either.

However, congratulations to the team of Cap de Castel for their effort to bring life back to Puylaurens ;)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank croquette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I recently stayed here for 5 nights - using it as a base to explore the surrounding beautiful countryside and visit friends.

Its an absolutely charming hotel. The rooms beautifully furnished, the staff were very friendly and only too happy to help and the setting couldn't be better. Dinner on the terrace just perfect!

The food at dinner was fantastic, great choices and great value.

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosielj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Don't tell too many people about this gem of a place,it might get too crowded! Spent four nights here for a special celebration and loved every moment. Our room was spacious with commanding views over the Lauraugais countryside, ensuite,of course, and a huge comfy bed. Coffee making facilities also. Dinner on the terrace each night was excellent, with an interesting and varied menu each evening, beautifully presented and expertly served. Good well priced wine list, all local too. David and Lise and their staff run a superb establishment and deserve their success. Our third visit and we certainly intend to return. Marvellous.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cap2C, Propriétaire at Cap de Castel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you Maralyn.

The whole team joins me in acknowledging our pride to welcome you here for the 3rd time. In such appropriate occasion, we believe your room (cinema themed) is an invitation to repeat your pilgrimage in the future.

Take good care of both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puylaurens
5.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pavillon du Chateau de Garrevaques
9.3 mi away
Domaine de Rasigous
Domaine de Rasigous
#1 of 1 in Saint-Affrique-les-Montagnes
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Abbaye Ecole de Soreze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Eco Sweet
Hotel Eco Sweet
#1 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#3 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Renaissance
Hotel Renaissance
#4 of 11 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap de Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap de Castel

Property: Cap de Castel
Address: 36 rue Cap de Castel, 81700 Puylaurens, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn > Puylaurens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puylaurens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cap de Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap de Castel is a charming small hotel, set within the protected "Cathare" property, originally built in the 13th century on the lands of the Lords of Hautpoul. Ten beautifully renovated large bedrooms, in two 17th century buildings, reflect the local Languedoc Roussillon colours and stimulate your senses. The spectacular view embraces the neighbouring roman tiled roofs, the Lauragais hills, and the foothills of the Pyrenees and Black Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cap de Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap De Castel Puylaurens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing