We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maire
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Restaurant La Barguillere(Saint Pierre de Riviere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
16
5
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
5
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 22 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We certainly struck it lucky when we found 'La Maire'! Our little family of four (including two boys aged 1 and 4) had the best time! Great views, amazing food and spacious yet cosy accomodation combined with lots of space to relax or play! Especially in the beautiful pool.
A fantastic area with lots to see and do, yet it has a great feeling of being away from it all.
The best bit though has to be our amazing hosts who made our stay a real treat with a warm welcome and lots of local knowledge to help us get the best out of this amazing region!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pyrenees Suite, in which we self catered which was a godsend with two small children who can be fussy eaters! The Suite was really lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a simply beautiful place to stay. The scenery in and around La Maire is just lovely and so tranquil. The garden is so peaceful and the swimming pool is a delight. Our room was very comfortable with welcoming hosts to chat with and a very good value evening meal was followed by an adequate breakfast, though it was a continental breakfast and not an English breakfast. However Lesley does go to collect the freshly made croissants in person every morning!

Would love to return to La Maire one day and would recommend it to everyone who enjoys the French countryside at its best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bramble26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very welcoming hosts made it a pleasure to stay, we actually extended our visit after the first night. Evening meals of a high quality. Quiet location, we loved relaxing by the new pool. Rooms were clean and spacious, ideal for our family, and being able to use a fridge was appreciated when the weather was hot. Good birding from the surrounding countryside with 2 species of Eagle, Rollers and Golden Orioles regularly seen. Plenty of maps, books and games available.Easy access to the mountains, and a day trip to the Med was manageable. Would recommend this place to friends without question!

Room Tip: Both B&B rooms were quiet, the twin had more floor space, the double had great views over the garden to the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Admittedly the weather was kind but I think the views from La Maire will be stunning in all seasons. What a peaceful and picturesque setting with such a warm and hospitable welcome from the owners who provided fabulous breakfasts with the home made fig jam a particular favourite. The beds in the main house were very comfortable and next time we visit ( there were so many more places to explore than our two nights permitted) we plan to book the self contained gite, well worth the money for a longer stay. Our teenage son was well catered for with the pool, table tennis with several obliging adults to challenge, plus the Internet to plug into when he lost interest in the leisurely chats over a glass of chilled wine on the terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I spent a very happy, relaxing week here in June. The hosts were welcoming and friendly and I enjoyed the meals I had with them, both the conversation and the food! It's a very peaceful location with very little traffic noise, some delightful walks and plenty of opportunities for painting/drawing. I also had a fun visit to the nearby mohair farm, which sells beautiful, irresistible wool from their own farm, as well as some knitted garments. My room was nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable - I slept very well. I didn't get to try the pool as it was in the final stages of installation while I was there, but it looks lovely, and I'm sure it will add to guests' enjoyment of their visits here.

Room Tip: I was staying in the Pyrenees Suite, which is spacious and comfortable, with its own terrace and cooking facilities, excellent if you want to eat independently.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews