We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking Views”

Chateau de La Roche-Guyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$174.53*
and up
Day Trip to Giverny with Private Driver and Guide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Fantastic views although not for the faint hearted as it's quite a trek up to the actual Castle. The small parking area is a bit of a downside as it was quite full when we visited. The views from the Castle were absolutely fantastic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rederickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    146
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Explore and admire”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I fell upon this chateau whilst driving home from a disastrous night at a B&B. It certainly made up for the disappointment of our B&B. It was inspiring , the size of the chateau is unbelievable and we must have been wondering around it, mostly alone for at least 3 or 4 hours. It was awe inspiring to visit, especially walking up the stairs created out of the rock on to the battlements and looking down on the town below. My husband who suffers from vertigo was unable to do ( walk up the rock cut stairs .....to high to steep to scary) this so be warned.Whilst we were there a modern art show with installations was being shown. Some more appropriate than others but with or with out the art the castle-chateau is worth a visit. I am not sure how easy it would be for people with walking problems or in wheelchairs to get around it though. Also small children could find the amount of walking difficult, I noticed that the push chairs had been left at the front door. The walk up to the battlements is quite frightening and tiring ( once again kids would need to be supervised at this point) but all in all we had a great time exploring.
We also ate crepes in a little cafe just in front of the chateau they were the best I have eaten in a long time inexpensive too!!!.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank vi0let17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pretty spot by the river”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Two castles in one - if you can cope with a lot of steps through the cliffs to the ancient Keep above. Nice small town with good crepery and coffee shop oposite

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReadingDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic House, well worth a visit, find time to climb the stairs to the top.”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We visited le château de La Roche-Guyon the day after visiting Monet's Garden, it's only a few minutes away by car. The village, which lies within the Parc Naturel Régional du Vexin Français, is charming and blends the architectures of Ile-de-France with Norman-style timbered houses and it is considered to be one of Frances most beautiful villages.

We got here early, 9am and we had the place almost to ourselves - which was great, as we were leaving the tourist coaches were turning up. If you need some sustenance pre or post I can highly recommend the boulangerie patisserie just on the corner near the castle - the fresh Pan Rustique was delicious.

The castle is huge, the older fortified part goes back to the12th century and the 'new' addition the 17th, it's built up against, and into, the chalk cliff and is quite an imposing sight. The newer part is has the usual french chateau feel of large airey rooms with lots of light, but on the most part there's very little within them. The large stables are interesting with the brick lined stone vaulted ceiling quite beautiful..

To my mind it's the older area which is most interesting with seemingly flight after flight of stairs cut through the chalk cliff which take you up finally to the 1190 Keep at the top, which has amazing views over the village, the Seine, the formal garden and surrounding countryside - beware you do need to be fairly fit though as there are many very steep steps to get you there.

The cellars have an interesting spooky walk showing their connection to Rommel who was stationed there with 1,500 soldiers during the end of WWII.

There is a small fee to get in and they do have a small shop good for a few postcards.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Red7Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Scenic history spanning the centuries, something for all, undiscovered”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This riverside village is beautiful. It doesn't get half as much publicity as nearby Les Andelys, but was every bit as scenic & more interesting.
The chateau is mostly empty of furniture, but its history from Medieval towers to 18th century turrets and WW2 German HQ is well-explained in English leaflets. The kids can climb through the chalk cliffs up to the cliff-top tower and explore the artillery stores.
There is free shady parking & free access to the huge walled garden, now restored & farmed organically.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fifytyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de La Roche-Guyon also viewed

Auvers-sur-Oise, Val-d'Oise
Auvers-sur-Oise, Val-d'Oise
 

Been to Chateau de La Roche-Guyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing