We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVEN I LIKED IT HERE!”
Review of La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Pergola
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“EVEN I LIKED IT HERE!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I hate camping. I absolutely detest Center Parcs. I've never been too impressed with Eurocamp before. This place? I liked! There is a massive lake attached to the parc which means you have somewhere nice to swim and sun bathe but with the added bonus that you'll find the pool is not as over packed as most Eurocamps (no baggy shorts though). If you need to get away from the crowd then hire a pedals with its own water slide, the food was better most Eurocamps but as always the caravans are little saunas and sleep is unlikely.

Room Tip: Remember to pack your speedos if you want to use the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
63
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two weeks here in a 'cottage evasion'. We loved it! We booked our static caravan directly with La Pergola through their website and it all worked out very well. Staff were friendly and did speak good English in case you don't speak much French. The campsite is a real gem, set amongst a lot of trees and right next to a beautiful lake which was great to swim in. The swimming pool area was great and with the added bonus of a trampoline and bouncy castle for the kids (no waterslides though, but funnily enough none of our kids really missed them). It had a lovely friendly atmosphere with lots of French, Dutch and English and catered for families very well and particularly for younger kids with a mini-disco that my daughter loved. Weather was great, but we did get a couple of days rain, but we used the opportunity to explore the nearby towns and attractions and see more of the area which was absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Some of the static caravan pitches had more shade than others so during the day it could get quite h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holidayfamilytrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The campsite is ok, the lake great, the countryside superbe. We rented a mobile home which was in good condition, just the lack of a usable frying pan was a problem. The biggest minus point is for the internet, which is completely unusable. For the it-freak: a ping takes around 800ms which makes working in the evening impossible. The staff is generally friendly but when I tried to explain the internet problem, they simply answered: your computer is too slow - instead of checking the problem. Anyway, we will come back to into the french jura, but probably not to the la pergola.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the campsite through Euro Camp. We were low season so it was very quiet and animation had not yet started. However, it looked liked during high season there would be quite a bit going on. The pool area was great and has beautiful views over the lake. The takeaway was good too. The shop was small but good and Doucier nearby has a little market as well. Unfortunately it rained a lot in May, but we still had fun.

Restaurants:

We went to the restaurant on the campsite - good pizzas, but we enjoyed the local trout and duck specials. Service was good and great views of lake. The campsite is a 4 min drive from Doucier where there are a number of restaurants. It looks like you could walk there too along a path (perhaps 15 mins walk). In Doucier we went to le Comtois. It was excellent! I expect in high season you need to book. The owners were so welcoming to us and our 2 boys (9 and 6). They were passionate about their food. All local specialities and home cooked. It was truly fabulous. The boys were offered saute potatoes a la maison and chicken (my two did not want it in the sauce).
We also went to Locruste in Doucier which was mainly pizzas and ice cream (loads of choice of both) and grill choices. It seemed very popular with locals and had a nice atmosphere. Most restaurants get going after 7pm.

Days out
As the weather was so bad we went out every day. The Cascades du Herison are only 10 mins away and spectacular. A 3 hour (there and back trip) - great for picnics.

We also went to Arbois - a lovely village to walk around and taste the local wine. Its about 40 mins away. Then to Baume les Messieurs which was a gorgeous village with caves. The kids loved the caves which go quite deep into the rock. A bit scary for some to get into as you have to climb some iron steps on the cliff face to enter. Not great for anyone with access problems although the guide was very helpful.

Jura mountains via col de faucille. This would have been great if the weather was better. You can see all the ski runs and ski jumping. I believe you can also do a toboggan in the summer which looked great - particularly for older kids. Roads are quite twisty in this area and particularly so for this trip, but on a clear day you can look right over Lake Geneva.

Our favourite day out was over the jura mountains into Switzerland. I believe it is quicker to go to Geneva itself, but we decided to go to Montreux. If you use the autoroute, you will need a vignette (car tax) which is quite pricey about 40 CHF and lasts for a year. They are available from a post office once you cross the Swiss border. It would cut the journey by about 1 hour. Otherwise you can take non toll roads as indicated by a GPS. It takes about 2 hours to get to Montreux. There is a beautiful promenade on the lake side. We didn't but you can geta cog train up the mountain. We went to Chateau Chillon just outside Montreux which was amazing. Had a picnic on the stony beach to the side and chilled out there a while. We then headed up into the hills by autoroute to Broc - chocolate factory and museum which was fun. The kids loved it and you get to eat as much choc as you want at the end of the tour. 5 mins from there was the beautiful medieval hillside village of Gruyere where the cheese is from. We enjoyed a gruyere fondu in the village centre and spectacular views of the mountains - like something out of Heidi!

All in all we had a real adventure. I do wonder if the weather is just not great at this time of year or it might be an exception. We were hoping to canoe down the nearby river or even on the Lake, but it was too wet and cold. However there was so much to do, we weren't bored.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank doraYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went to La Pergola last June. It is a nice camping where you have almost everything you need. We think it was a shame you had to pay to be able to use the Wifi at the reception which, most of the time didn't even work (but still your bought) internet time would decrease. The lake is very nice and you can make beautiful hikes in the surroundings of the camping. A real must do is Baume-les-Messieurs and Les Cascades de Herison.
We stayed in a bungalow tent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jolanda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here during the 3rd week of August 2012 (family of 4 - children being teenagers). We booked through Eurocamp, but the campsite is also one of "Les Castels - Hotellerie de Plein Air", We had stayed at another of their sites previously so hoped this would also be good. It was. The campsite did not disappoint in any way.

Our mobile home was spacious and, as expected, spotlessly clean. The camping pitches/sites were in a sheltered, wooded area leading uphill in long rows, each behind the other, so the top row involves a steep uphill walk but the sites are well organised. From the far end of the site to Reception/shop/pool area is easily a 5-10 minute walk

The site has 3 pools: one very large "family" pool which was busy (but not heaving!) when we went, another standard swimming pool (referred to as the Exercise pool) and a toddler pool, along with a play area for kids aged 4-12, volleyball court, archery and area for football along with the usual, expected shop, bar & restaurant, take-away. Food was good and reasonably priced.

You get access to the lake/beach through one of a number of gates, the water being a stunning turquoise colour. If you wish, it is easy to hire a pedalo and/or pedalo with slide - our children loved this! .The beach, though, is NOT sandy, but stony/rocky, so make sure you take/wear watershoes/flip flops. Watershoes are useful, as it's sharp underfoot when in the water. We found it better swimming in the lake than the pool as it was far quieter - the main pool seemed to be used by families with younger children.

La Pergola had a full entertainment programme involving everyone/all ages, but, as ever, there was no pressure to be involved or go along.

The Reception staff were incredibly helpful. We speak reasonable French, but are not fluent at all, so were very happy for the staff to phone and arrange a booking for a Microlite flight for us - also recommended with lovely Jean-Francois!

The area is stunningly beautiful with pretty villages nestled inbetween deep gorges, stunning waterfalls and other lakes and nearby towns to explore.

This was a great base to explore the Jura region of France. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Mrs-H-828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigny-le-Lozon
0.0 mi away
Camping la Pergola
Camping la Pergola
#1 of 7 in Sainte-Marie-la-Mer
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Beauregard
Camping Beauregard
#1 of 1 in Mesnois
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sites et Paysages La Roche d'Ully
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola

Property: La Pergola
Address: Lieu dit La Pergola, 39130 Marigny-le-Lozon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Jura > Marigny-le-Lozon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Marigny-le-Lozon
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing