We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Murtoli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sartene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de Murtoli
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Domaine de Murtoli is like nowhere we've stayed before. The drive around the coastal road towards the estate is spectacular, giving a taste of what lies ahead. Beyond the impressive wrought iron gates the long bumpy driveway would please any 4WD enthusiast. Our young sons loved it. The estate is huge and naturally beautiful. Words don't do it justice. Just amazing. Pristine private beach, rugged terrain, rocky hills, wildlife, and old fort in the distance, views to die for.

Our villa, L'Arba Barona was rustic from the exterior but perfectly furnished and fitted out on the inside. I had the French country kitchen of my dreams - fully equipped and charming. The furnishings and decor are perfectly rustic yet luxurious. The bathroom supplies were beautiful L’Occitane products and were in generous supply.

The beach was superb. The facilities are all so understated yet so magnificent and beautiful. The thatched roof shade structures were well placed apart and provided a beautiful place to while away the day. The restaurant was great. We ate so many beautiful dishes. The spaghetti with clams was the highlight – our five year old son devoured it every night. The Fleur de Murtoli rosé was a highlight. We cannot find a rosé as perfect.

It is a dream of mine to return one day though from Australia it is a huge effort but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaMcKinnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
81
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were guests of my sister in law at the Eddera house, in the Cove area of the estate. This meant the private cove / beach was just a few mins walk from the property. We felt just like Robinson Crusoe here. Stunning! In general this is a beautiful corner of the earth. So amazingly cosseted from the outside world. The estate is raw in its beauty. Cattle and wild boar roam freely. Dust track roads lead you to the beach restaurant, the vegetable garden, the Equestrian centre, beauty treatments and more. Words cannot really describe how extraordinary and wonderful this place really is. There is little need to actually leave the estate. Your food shopping is brought to you daily or you can eat at the beach restaurant (sumptuous local fish and meat). Valerie (your host) is a charming and enthusiastic person. Her family have developed this estate with love and imagination. If you can afford this, go! As I say we were v lucky to be invited along.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestrina, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent in Murtoli our honeymoon. It was fantastic, a dream!
We stayed in the Tiria house: very romantic atmosphere and a beautiful panorama. Total privacy, personal swimming pool, breakfast served in the garden in small baskets. Cleaning services very efficient and when we came back from the beach we found the table set. The estate is really big: around free animals (eagles, boars, sheeps, horses, cows on the beach) and nature. A three-kilometer private beach and a 5-star restaurant that will delight. A special note for the kindness and professionalism of Responsbile, Valerie, and all the staff at the Domaine. Nothing is left to chance, everything is taken care of small details, all needs met.
We suggest only to use a car suitable, since the beach is only accessible by car and the trails in the Domaine are unserface.
We had read that you fall in love with this place and for sure you will want to return. Well, it's true! we are already planning to do so at some anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Domaine Murtoli is an amazing place to spend a week or two. We travelled with three adults and three children ages 6,4 and 1 and stayed in the house called 'Alivu'. Our experience was expensive but perfect. The children loved the wild boar, our private beach and the towel animals that our housekeeper made for them. The adults loved the views, the pristine sand beaches, the peace and quiet and the food. The service was outstanding and very personal. The waitstaff learned our kids names and made sure to take good care of them. The beach restaurant is like Club 55 in St. Tropez but without the attitude. The cave restaurant is just amazing to see. Only downsides: the roads are terrible (you can't drive more than 20 miles an hour) and the high prices for food mean that at the end of your stay, your food bill will be 1/2 the amount of the cost of your house. We should have taken more advantage of the ability to self-cater...but the food and ambiance at the beach restaurant was just too good to pass up. This is a gem. Those who get to stay at Domaine Murtoli are a lucky few.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Murtoli delivers on every promise. The vast estate is wild and beautiful, the accomodation both stylish and practical - the kitchens are equipped for proper cooking - while the huge beach is heavenly. This is the place to come for true peace and quiet, where wild boar are your only neighbours, but really the experience feels more like staying in a luxury hotel than self-catering. The beach restaurant is treat for those evenings you can tear yourself away from your stone house and pool. The only thing to take heed of is the need for a four-wheel drive - access to some parts of the estate is quite challenging. It's a small inconvenience to bear for such a unique experience. We were there for the second time this year and are already planning our next trip.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sgreeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sartene
15.8 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Damianu
7.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Roches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis
Hotel Version Maquis
#2 of 20 in Bonifacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Murtoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Murtoli

Property: Domaine de Murtoli
Address: Vallee de l'Ortolo, 20100, Sartene, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Sartene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the South of Corsica, between Sartene and Bonifacio, lays a territory of 2500 hectares wide, with a preserved coastline of 8 kms long, uniting the sea, a river, beaches, dunes, maquis, plains, hills, forests, and mountains. The Domaine de Murtoli is unique holiday destination offering 19 authentic sheepfolds from the 17th century within wide-open spaces, breathtaking landscapes, and access to all of your favorite sports and hobbies. In this spectacular site, it is possible in one day to fish in the sea and in a river, go hunting, water fowling, horse-riding, play golf and even having a meeting in our seminar room. Everything that you've dreamed of is here. You'll discover pristine nature, the heady scent of paradise. Blissful moments that will last an eternity begin here. We invite you to discover... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domaine De Murtoli Sartene, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing