We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel du Golfe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Golfe
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Our flight was severely delayed and our baggage lost, so we arrived at 2.30 in the morning. The manager waited up for us and nothing was too much trouble. When we woke up there was toothpaste and toothbrushes just outside the door. The other staff were equally friendly and helpful. All the rooms have seaviews and the coastline here is incredible.You can swim directly in front of the hotel. We had come for a family wedding, but it would be a great place to stay if you were touring Corsica - you could chill out here and explore the local area.

Room Tip: all the rooms have sea views and balconies or terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have been to Corsica several times before, and close to Tizzano, so we have been to many wonderful spots and beaches. Even so, and despite the fact that there is nothing at all extraordinary or special about the hotel or rooms themselves, we would rate this as one of our exceptional stays. The location is simply perfect if you love the sea and sunsets - we had a room on the level below reception ( all rooms have sea view and balcony or terrace, and are spacious , simple but had everything we needed including decent air-con), and literally stepped from our terrace, down a few stone steps and into crystal clear azure waters. Pretty much a private sea swimming pool... rocks not sand, so brilliant snorkelling, and rocks and terraces to sun on after.
Likewise the sunsets..
Service is simply excellent, friendly, welcoming, informative. Again, this is not luxury or upmarket, just good, simple and focussed on providing everything guests may need to enjoy their stay. You can buy drinks to enjoy on your terrace, the breakfast was unexpectedly good, and good value. There are a number of sitting areas / terraces around reception where you can access wifi.
Restaurants in walking distance- I see Chez Antoine gets some mixed reviews, we had a wonderful meal, and charming evening there. Tizzano is at the end of a longish road ( an easy one though, for Corsica) in the best possible way, relaxed and unspoilt.
If you enjoy walking, there is a "sentier littoral" - great coastal path, fantastic views, and with the bonus of a beautiful bay, usually to yourself - we were into low season - to swim in between each ascent and descent..
All of this at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: ask for one with a terrace if you want to be closest to sea/swim, but you will enjoy fabulous views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Tizzano is an idyllic location in a remote South Western corner of the island. Stayed here after visiting Bonifacio.The resort comprises a few villas and apartments, 2/3 restaurants and a couple of shops. The resort overlooks a small bay which is dominated on the far side by an old fort. The hotel is right on the waters edge and our room had a balcony with a stunning sea view across the bay. Quite breathtaking. The room was clean and the staff friendly. Our only complaint concerned ants for which we were given a free breakfast in compensation. Highly recommended as is the adjacent restaurant - Restaurant Du Golfe

Room Tip: As far as we are aware all rooms have a sea view but worth just checking as this would be a 'mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapjackBostonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Tizzano itself is far enough off the beaten path that is is relaxed and enjoyable. Hotel du Golfe is not a luxury hotel; it is a pleasant seaside establishment with terrific, friendly service, and a housekeeping staff that keeps the rooms spotlessly clean. Enough really cannot be said about the friendly service - everyone on the staff seems to anticipate what you might want or need next, and springs into action. The A/C works well - important in July when we were visiting, but a more thorough way to cool off is the set of stairs down from the breakfast terrace to the sea. There's really no need for a pool when the entire Mediterranean is at your feet, crystal clear. Though the hotel doesn't boast a true beach, the tiny cove is a delight and you don't have to deal with sand on your feet at the end of the day. There are two nice beaches close by and a gorgeous one about 30 minutes drive. One of the best megalithic sites in Corsica is a stone's throw away from Tizzano! The wireless works best in the lobby area, and even there, it's not that fast - but hey, you're supposed to be on vacation, so take a break from e-mail and all the social media and enjoy a lovely respite by the sea.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms on the top (first) floor - 31, 32, 33, and 34; these don't have the foot traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Located in a quiet little fishing village of Tizzzano, this small hotel is a delight due to the fact that all the rooms face the water, where you can experience some excellent sunsets from the balcony. The people in the hotel and around the little fishing village were very friendly and the place had a lived in non touristy feel. It is well located near secluded beaches and you can also swim in the natural rock pools directly under the hotels balconies. The water is turquoise and crystal clear and it welcomes you to jump in. There are several good sea food restaurants nearby,all with beautiful water views where you can also watch the sunset. The breakfast was very good and there are tables out on a patio or you can take it to your room. It is close to Sartene, a charming medieval fortified town with narrow cobbled streets, and very popular with tourists in the summer, so it is only a short drive, about 20 mins, on a small road to Tizzano on the coast. It is well worth the drive down to Tizzano to stay at the Hotel du Golf, a little piece of magic by the sea. Very good value for such a lovely place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful sea view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minoumex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Really pleasant staff, great location and an excellent breakfast for €7 pp. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hfikry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The hotel may seem a little unimpressive from the road - but as you step into your room and see the view that awaits - you will know you have come to a good place! Tizzano is a very small town, made for relaxation (but with the added bonus of only being about 20 mins from Sartene) but if you are going to relax - do it here! The rooms aren't perfect or 'charming' but are comfortable and clean with airconditioning, good bedding and a mini bar and a balcony almost on the sea! The breakfast was very generous, with the left over croissants and pain au chocolat left out for the guests to enjoy throughout the day for free. Sit on your patio with a bottle of wine (bought from the local shop across the road with the charming owner) and one of the hotel's board games and soak up the sun and the mediterranean. Unfortunately the restaurant was being refurbished when we were there but we chose to go to the other 2 excellent restaurants down the road which we loved anyway! We are already dreaming of returning!

Room Tip: We had room 12 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AliceSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sartene
0.4 mi away
Lilium Maris
Lilium Maris
#6 of 7 in Sartene
147 reviews
5.3 mi away
Domaine de Murtoli
Domaine de Murtoli
#3 of 7 in Sartene
232 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel des Roches - Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel San Damianu
10.1 mi away
Bartaccia Hotel
Bartaccia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Propriano
537 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rossi Hotel
Rossi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Sartene
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golfe

Address: Tizzano, 20100, Sartene, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Sartene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Price Range: $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golfe 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Golfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Golfe Sartene, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing