We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay on tour of Corsica”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Golfe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Golfe
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Certificate of Excellence
Boston Spa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overnight stay on tour of Corsica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Tizzano is an idyllic location in a remote South Western corner of the island. Stayed here after visiting Bonifacio.The resort comprises a few villas and apartments, 2/3 restaurants and a couple of shops. The resort overlooks a small bay which is dominated on the far side by an old fort. The hotel is right on the waters edge and our room had a balcony with a stunning sea view across the bay. Quite breathtaking. The room was clean and the staff friendly. Our only complaint concerned ants for which we were given a free breakfast in compensation. Highly recommended as is the adjacent restaurant - Restaurant Du Golfe

Room Tip: As far as we are aware all rooms have a sea view but worth just checking as this would be a 'mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapjackBostonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Tizzano itself is far enough off the beaten path that is is relaxed and enjoyable. Hotel du Golfe is not a luxury hotel; it is a pleasant seaside establishment with terrific, friendly service, and a housekeeping staff that keeps the rooms spotlessly clean. Enough really cannot be said about the friendly service - everyone on the staff seems to anticipate what you might want or need next, and springs into action. The A/C works well - important in July when we were visiting, but a more thorough way to cool off is the set of stairs down from the breakfast terrace to the sea. There's really no need for a pool when the entire Mediterranean is at your feet, crystal clear. Though the hotel doesn't boast a true beach, the tiny cove is a delight and you don't have to deal with sand on your feet at the end of the day. There are two nice beaches close by and a gorgeous one about 30 minutes drive. One of the best megalithic sites in Corsica is a stone's throw away from Tizzano! The wireless works best in the lobby area, and even there, it's not that fast - but hey, you're supposed to be on vacation, so take a break from e-mail and all the social media and enjoy a lovely respite by the sea.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms on the top (first) floor - 31, 32, 33, and 34; these don't have the foot traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Located in a quiet little fishing village of Tizzzano, this small hotel is a delight due to the fact that all the rooms face the water, where you can experience some excellent sunsets from the balcony. The people in the hotel and around the little fishing village were very friendly and the place had a lived in non touristy feel. It is well located near secluded beaches and you can also swim in the natural rock pools directly under the hotels balconies. The water is turquoise and crystal clear and it welcomes you to jump in. There are several good sea food restaurants nearby,all with beautiful water views where you can also watch the sunset. The breakfast was very good and there are tables out on a patio or you can take it to your room. It is close to Sartene, a charming medieval fortified town with narrow cobbled streets, and very popular with tourists in the summer, so it is only a short drive, about 20 mins, on a small road to Tizzano on the coast. It is well worth the drive down to Tizzano to stay at the Hotel du Golf, a little piece of magic by the sea. Very good value for such a lovely place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful sea view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minoumex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Really pleasant staff, great location and an excellent breakfast for €7 pp. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfikry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

The hotel may seem a little unimpressive from the road - but as you step into your room and see the view that awaits - you will know you have come to a good place! Tizzano is a very small town, made for relaxation (but with the added bonus of only being about 20 mins from Sartene) but if you are going to relax - do it here! The rooms aren't perfect or 'charming' but are comfortable and clean with airconditioning, good bedding and a mini bar and a balcony almost on the sea! The breakfast was very generous, with the left over croissants and pain au chocolat left out for the guests to enjoy throughout the day for free. Sit on your patio with a bottle of wine (bought from the local shop across the road with the charming owner) and one of the hotel's board games and soak up the sun and the mediterranean. Unfortunately the restaurant was being refurbished when we were there but we chose to go to the other 2 excellent restaurants down the road which we loved anyway! We are already dreaming of returning!

Room Tip: We had room 12 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AliceSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

This is truely an excellent hotel. Located in a quiet town of Tizzano, all the rooms face the water, where you can experience some excellent sunsets on the little harbor. We spent one night there during our honeymoon and it was just lovely. The people there were friendly and very helpful. It is also well located to visit the neolythic sites in Corsica and is very close to some beautiful secluded beaches. There is also a very good sea food restaurant 5min walk away, which I highly recommend. All around, the price is very low compared to the location and just an excellent stay.

  • Liked — Great view. Friendly service. Good price.
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank etman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sartene
0.4 mi away
Lilium Maris
Lilium Maris
#6 of 7 in Sartene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Damianu
8.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Roches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
#1 of 11 in Propriano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel le Golfe
Hotel le Golfe
#1 of 5 in Porto Pollo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golfe

Property: Hotel du Golfe
Address: Tizzano, 20100, Sartene, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Sartene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golfe 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Golfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Golfe Sartene, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing