We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL VILLA MARJANE”
Review of Villa Marjane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Marjane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent accommodation which we used for a single night stop over travelling to the south. Chantal, one of the owners was charming and helpful. Breakfast was very good in the conservatory. Intermarche and other small shops within 2 mins walk; 10 mins drive from Orleans centre. Would use again. The car park has lots of space around the back, not just 3 spaces at the front.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukprophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the typically French logis and it proves to be as reliable as ever. Rooms are small by American, but typical by English and French, standards and all the facilities were perfectly acceptable. Please don't take this language is any form of criticism, this hotel does exactly what it says on the tin.

For me, the outstanding feature is their breakfasts. They seem to carry a wider range of pastries and the viennoiserie than most, offer better than average cereals and even the option to boil your own eggs while you wait. We ate in the conservatory, although if we had been little bit earlier or a little bit later we would probably have had one of the small number of tables set out in the courtyard of the back of the hotel.

The lady proprietor speaks extremely good English and was quite happy to swap between French and English when I couldn't quite understand what she was saying. All done with good grace and humour.

The one downside is that there is a shortage, for which read total absence, of eateries within walking distance-I suspect that the hotel would do a roaring trade if they were to offer meals themselves rather than encouraging guests to drive the 3 miles to the centre of Orleans where there are plenty of options.

Thoroughly recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Friendly Logis on South bank of the Loire, within a short drive of central Orleans. The hostess is a charming lady who makes you welcome and makes your stay relaxing. Nothing is too much for her, with tea/coffee in the garden and maps and recommendations for routes into Orleans and local restaurants. Breakfast was excellent and a good choice for either a stop over or visit to Orleans. Rooms are good with excellent shower and free wifi.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank HertsNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited again this summer en route to Toulouse. Lovely garden, big trees, warm welcome, elegant tradtional decor, bedroom with shower which worked well, big breakfast in conservatory and garden. Again we drove up to the centre of Orleans to eat late at night and parked in one of the parking buildings. We chose Villa Marjane in preference to an otherwise equally attractive central traditional hotel because there is parking in the garden. Also it is cheaper! We have booked again for our return trip to Calais.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanais31420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We chose to stay here early May on our way to southern France after reading other reviews. The location was perfect in relation to the motor way and getting into Orleans for the evening. The room was small but quiet and had everything we needed. The bed was excellent, giving me the best night's sleep of the holiday, and when I remarked on it to the patron she said all the beds had been replaced with a memory foam version in January. There was plenty of parking; though beware of the bird's mess in the morning! There is a supermarket with petrol opposite. The breakfast room is delightful and the full complement of continental breakfast set us up for the day till we arrived at our final destination in the evening. There is a restaurant about a mile away, we were told, but we didn't find it and other guests told us it was closed - not sure if that was just temporary. I would definitely stay here again and thought the price reasonable for the quality.

Room Tip: Had a room at the back but there is not much road traffic at night anyway. No lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel was very appealing both inside and out. The décor was nice and the garden was very very relaxing. The garden was complete with seating areas, perfect for relaxing during the summer months after a long drive.

The on-site parking was very convenient, ample and seemed very safe.

The owner spoke very good English and was really friendly and welcoming; he even helped us to our room with our dog's travel crate. Our dog was made to feel very welcome too!

We had a peaceful night's sleep and found the hotel to be very peaceful and relaxing.

The hotel is situated in a nice area and not far if you want to pop into Orleans centre for the evening (although a car would most likely be required).

It's easy to get back to the motorway for onward travel (if required).

sunday arrival ~ provisions
There is a supermarket and petrol station (as well a variety of other shops) opposite the hotel perfect for stocking up on petrol and provisions before onward travel.

However, a word of caution: the shops are not open on Sundays (as is usual in France) so if you arrive on Sunday they will be closed as were a lot of shops in Orleans centre itself.

We were really impressed with the Villa Marjane and are planning to stay there again on our way to the south.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ultraviolet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for just one night, but it was a pleasant one.

The owner, to our surprise, speaks English very well. The room is, albeit very small, reasonably clean with a convenient bathroom with a shower. On the downside, it has very thin walls and you can hear every step in the corridor. The optional breakfast (9 Euro per person) is fairly extensive with fruits and boiled eggs.

Overall, a nice hotel, but given the price (92 Euro per night including breakfast for two), something you should expect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Jean-le-Blanc
2.4 mi away
Escale Oceania Orleans
Escale Oceania Orleans
#3 of 31 in Orleans
773 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Abeille
Hotel de l'Abeille
#6 of 31 in Orleans
353 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Marguerite
Hotel Marguerite
#5 of 31 in Orleans
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Orleans Sud
Comfort Hotel Orleans Sud
#19 of 31 in Orleans
151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Orleans Centre Gare
1.9 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marjane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marjane

Address: 121 route de Sandillon, 45650 Saint-Jean-le-Blanc, Orleans, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Orleans > Saint-Jean-le-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Jean-le-Blanc
Price Range: $77 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Marjane 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 2.5 km south of Orléans and just one hour away from Paris, the Villa Marjane hotel is ideally situated. It is well situated as a base for visiting a region with a rich historical and natural heritage. The central region is bursting with cultural and sport activities.You will find that the hotel is also perfectly situated for business travellers, who will find here not only the necessary equipment for working, but also the comfort, tranquillity and warm welcome of an authentic family house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Marjane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing