We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ar Men Du Nevez”
Review of Ar Men Du

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ar Men Du
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nevez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights in September 2013. The location is amazing and sitting on the veranda watching the sun go down is not to be missed. The rooms are very clean and of a good size with lovely fluffy towels and a bath robe. Don't miss eating in the restaurant but I would advise that you have a very light lunch on that day!

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the car park with a view of the sea in the distance - so ask for a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour votre commentaire.

En Septembre c'est souvent merveilleux, on a ici un été indien qui peut se prolonger sur Octobre certaines années et c'est un petit paradis avec moins de monde dans la région et tous les commerçants encore ouverts.

Oui nous le revendiquons nous donnons à manger à nos clients. Patrick Le Guen comme moi ne supportons pas de "déguster" une assiette à moitié vide.
Nos repas sont donc en effet relativement copieux (mais on fait tout de même attention de ne pas tomber dans l'excès inverse) ....et il ne faut pas oublier le bon pain et le beurre de ferme qui mettent certains de nos clients dans un état de béatitude qui entraine parfois quelques excès de leur part!!!

A bientôt,

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We agree with other reviewers about the fantastic cuisine and location. It was a great treat to be served such exceptional food with flavour, freshness an delicacy. The waiters were pretty good too. We had a sad experience over our two-night offer as we booked a third night. There had been a plethora of offers on the hotel website. This led to an exchange of emails booking an extra dinner. When we arrived, the booking had been forgotten. We re-sent the emails and the next night thought we should check which dinner option to choose: another setback as we were told it was not included. Our email clearly said it was. The next night we showed the email and it was accepted that it was. On our departure the bill however included one night's meal. Neither this receptionist nor the one on our arrival had a sufficiently courteous attitude. We got the feeling that the staff were possibly jaded after a long summer but we couldn't quite put our finger on it: no one had the time to read the emails properly. The second receptionist blamed Relais du Silence but it was quite clear from our emails that we had been expecting a meal every evening. All this was a great pity and at the very least, the front desk needs to be more efficient, to do justice to the talented restaurant, as well as apologise properly for the confusion. Our experience detracted from our overall experience, which was a great shame. It was also annoying not to be automatically put into the main dining room. Customers appear to have to reserve a table in the panoramic restaurant: if this is necessary it should be offered upon arrival. It is furthermore annoying to be asked whether one wishes to be answered in English or French to find one is being asked again. The rooms were plain but suited the seaside. The housekeeping was done well and the staff were friendly. It was a shame that a row of motor homes was parked nearby but it could not be seen from the dining rooms. All in all it was really very good but our experience was disappointing: it could be brilliant if the front desk staff were efficient and more polite. In customer relations, problems should be acknowledged and the situation clarified/ put right with a smile. Also, if Gordon Ramsay had seen the offers and problems caused, he would say simplify your offers and keep track of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014
Google Translation

Je vous remercie de votre commentaire et je vais répondre le plus clairement possible;

D'abord je suis soulagé que notre bêtise en réception n'ait pas gâché votre séjour.

Alors oui sans doute nous étions fatigués en Septembre mais ce n'est pas une excuse.

Il s'agissait en effet d'une offre de notre chaîne Relais du Silence que nous n'avons pas maîtrisée et nous avons donc raté la réservation du premier soir.
C'est vraiment la raison pour laquelle vous n'avez pas pu être placé dans la salle panoramique car tout était réservé ...c'est aussi la raison pour laquelle je refais totalement la seconde salle face aux Glénan cet hiver pour avoir dans tous les cas une belle table.

Depuis nous avons conforté notre équipe de réception avec une personne supplémentaire et nous contrôlons la veille de l'arrivée toutes les réservations. Cela ne nous fera pas être toujours parfait mais on essaie de tendre vers....

Encore merci pour cet avis qui nous a permis de nous remettre en cause et d'avancer!!

A bientôt,

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights while on holidays. All rooms have a view over the sea. The beach is only 2 minutes walk away and the hotel also offers beach towels. the food is excellent, very refined and tasty. wine card is also good. A bit pricy. The rooms have a decent size, however with a baby bed it is quite small...
I really enjoyed staying there, having dinner while looking at an amazing sunset and staring at the Glenan archipelago, and going to the beach every day. You can also go for long hikes along the beach (GR34) there. The restaurant also owns (if I'm not mistaking) a grocery store where they also serve excellent food (much cheaper), so if you don't feel like eating Michelin-starred food on a daily basis, this is a good alternative. Breakfast is good, nothing extraordinary though..Staff was good and very helpful. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire charmant.


Nous avons en effet un nouveau bébé qui est piloté par mon associé, Stéphane Leguern. C'est un restaurant avec une vraie cuisine de marché faite avec uniquement des produits frais transformés sur place (nous avons obtenu le diplôme de Maître Restaurateur par la préfecture).
C'est aussi un traiteur, une cave à vins (avec les vins d'Ar Men Du à prix boutique), une belle épicerie fine et une boutique cadeaux.

Donc en effet, du mardi au dimanche midi vous pouvez y déjeuner ou y dîner, trouver les thés, cafés, chocolat, jambons que vous avez au petit déjeuner d'Ar Men Du , le foie gras est supervisé par Patrick notre chef etc....

A bientôt,

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Ar Men Du for two nights in late August, as I had friends staying nearby. It was a really lovely location, with a great sandy beach and rocky shoreline to explore. It has a nice small independent hotel feel - the rooms aren't flash or modern, but very comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I didn't eat at the restaurant, but it is apparently fabulous, but the breakfast was really lovely, with lots of delicious French produce and a view of the sea. Comparatively the price was really good for two nights bed and breakfast, (especially compared to an alternative in hotel chains like Ibis) -I will definitely come back with partner for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour ce commentaire.

Le petit déjeuner c'est sans doute le moment le plus important à réussir pour nous.
D'abord on se réveille, on veut pas être dérangé, on va un peu moins vite ...

On a un gros avantage à Ar Men Du c'est la vue panoramique, cela met de bonne humeur !
Ensuite hop, petit jus frais pressé au dernier moment, bon café léger du torréfacteur local ou vrais bons thés en vrac de la Maison Leguern au choix.
Puis le buffet que l'on améliore tous les ans avec des beaux produits bio ou locaux. Maintenant nous avons de plus notre magasin (Maison Leguern place de l'Eglise) qui nous fourni de beaux jambons, des gâteaux maison, des confitures, le fromage vient de Madame Baratte, le beurre et les yaourts de la ferme....sans oublier la presse du jour et surtout pas de musique!!
On fait de notre mieux pour vous faire bien commencer la journée!

A Bientôt,

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This small friendly hotel offers every comfort, beautifully positioned overlooking the sea, in a tranquil location, with unforgettable food from the Michelin starred restaurant. If you are not sure what to order, simply use the experience of Pierre-Yves and his friendly staff for a recommendation. Certainly the wine list is daunting, with over 500 to choose from, thankfully they have the option of a different recommended glass of wine for each course.
This is not the normal excellent traditional Breton or French cuisine; it is a "tour de force" in terms of an unforgettable gastronomic experience from the chef, Patrick and his staff of ten. They prepare magnificent cuisine from local fresh ingredients, for only about forty dinners. This is in the premier league of, small hotels and restaurants of the world. A true celebration destination!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaygee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Really thank you for you message.

Yes we try to represent french gastronomy and I am so glad to offer such an experience to people who discover our country!

As you mentionned it is 10 people cooking and 7 people serving you for no more than 40 customers. This does explain that it may cost a bit more than else where in a classical restaurant!
It also explain how we can do cooking "a la minute", nothing pre cooked or prepare in advance.
Most of the vegetables are even cut at the last minute just before cooking in order to keep the taste!

The wine is one of my passion so do not hesitate to ask for help, it is just normal that you do not know more than 20% of the wines we propose, we are just crazy with wine and are there to guide you depending on your taste!

Thank you sir .

Best Regards,

Pierre Yves Roue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent one day at this charming hotel. Pierre-
Eve and his excellent staff made us very welcome. It is ideally situated overlooking the sea with plenty of walks for the energetic. The whole experience was finished off with a suberb meal in the michelin star restaurant. Once again the staff were very professional and looked after us very well. Exceptional wine list and the food memorable. Look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Sorry not responding to you for a while. I missed your message and I rediscovered it today in July!

I remember very well your stay and I cna tel you that we will be delighted to welcome you again for New Year or for an other period!!

New Year is great because it is , most of the time here, a quite wild weather compared to other parts of France and sometimes some butifull storms to start new year!

Kind Regards,

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Small little Hotel at the "end of the world" in Brittany France. The reception at the Hotel Ar Men Du was perfect and our bags were brought directly to the room. And what a room! We had a large room with a window from floor to ceiling and a great view over the beaches and ocean. Very clean, perfectly kept and with cosy furniture.

The restaurant is small and reservations should be made in advance. Different menus available with fish and lobster in the center of these menus. The menus were excellent and different from many fish receipts.

Do not miss to go there and we were there the first time but not the last time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour votre avis.

C'est vrai que l'on a cette suite panoramique qui est vraiment un bel endroit. C'est une chambre de 30m² environ avec un mur de verre qui donne sur la mer et un lit de 180x200 face à la mer à 180°.
Nous avons fait faire des reproductions de meubles de Paquebot et en particulier une malle à vêtement assez incroyable.
Des fauteuils vous permettent de prendre le petit déjeuner ou juste de lire confortablement face à l'océan.

Il faut mieux en effet réserver car chaque chambre chez nous est différente!

A bientôt !

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevez
3 mi away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#2 of 4 in Nevez
212 reviews
8.9 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
591 reviews
8.8 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
#3 of 5 in Pont-Aven
198 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#3 of 10 in Concarneau
312 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Ker-Moor
Hotel Ker-Moor
#8 of 10 in Concarneau
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ar Men Du? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ar Men Du

Address: 47 rue des Iles | Raguenez Plage, 29920 Nevez, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Nevez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nevez
Price Range: $137 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ar Men Du 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested on a listed site with a breathtaking sea view, the Ar Men Du in Nevez, a three star hotel de charme in Brittany which occupies an exceptional position on the Raguenez point. All rooms have sea views and are decorated in a marine style. You will appreciate the cuisine based on products of the sea in the panoramic restaurant. The Ar Men hotel restaurant is a three-star hotel on the in the Finistère Sud in Nevez which has received the Relais du Silence seal of approval and which is a member of the Hotels de Charme of Brittany. You are looking for an hotel nearby Pont Aven, Hotel Ar Men Du is ideally situated, facing the sea, at 5 miles from Pont Aven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ar Men Du reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ar Men Du névez
Ar Men Du Nevez, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing