We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best place we stayed in during our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais du Chateau d'Arche
Ranked #1 of 5 Sauternes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of the best place we stayed in during our trip”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

At arrival, we were given a choice of two rooms. Our room, no 9, has an amazing stone staircase inside. The bathroom is on the ground floor and the room on the first floor. The room is wondering. Newly decorated by keeping the old traditional features. The room faces the Chateau d'Arche vineyards.

We had a tour of the Chateau, which was wonderful. It has followed by a tasting of the Chateau d'Arche Sauternes, which is very good.

Highly recommend this place. Will definitely return to Chateau d'Arche…… wonderful!

Thank you

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    35
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
112
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Lovely chateau-hotel in the heart of Sauternes, within walking distance of the village of Sauternes itself and the great "Les Sapriens" restaurant. Friendly staff, lovely rooms (not air-conditioned, but thick walls keep it cool). Bathrooms don't all have showers but are roomy and nicely equipped. The "only" place to stop in Sauternes if you're looking for tranquility, location for vineyards and comfort. Have been using this hotel for our guests since it opened several years ago.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalon-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

It was early spring when we got to Aquitaine, having driven down from Baden-Wuerttemberg to Barcelona, and then up through the Pyrenees. We've had a longer, harsher winter this year than last, but by the time we reached Sauternes, beautiful spring weather arrived with us; the Relais du Chateau d'Arche's comfort, elegance, and splendor, only enhanced the glorious surroundings.

Our room was practically Belle Epoch, roomy and relaxing. Service was exceptional, with the desk clerk calling around to get us a dinner reservation that night. (We finally located a place called L'Abricotier, which was by itself exceptional.) Internet connection -- not easy as we traveled through Spain -- was free and trouble-free, allowing us to keep in touch with family & friends.

I just wish I'd thought our itinerary through a bit more and stayed at the hotel at least another 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
179 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Really beautiful Chateau in the vineyards nearby the charming village of Sauternes.

We found the atmosphere very relaxed and pleasantly informal.
The website pictures of the rooms are truly representative and they are spacious and fun.
Breakfast is great
Internet works well
Both Restaurants in the village are good, in walking distance and a pleasant experience. Personally I enjoyed the Auberge the most
The wine the Chateau produces is quite pleasant
Good walking to the nearby villages

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
272 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Chateau d’Arche is within walking distance to the small village of Sauternes, we stayed there recently and really enjoyed our stay. The surrounds are peaceful, the rooms are spacious, very clean, with large bath rooms and good toiletries. While there were other guests at the Chateau we actually felt we had the whole place to ourselves. The Chateau has a beautiful garden area with chairs and tables to relax or enjoy a picnic. We wandered through the vineyards during the day and gazed at the starry sky late into the night. The breakfast was very good and the service was outstanding. Nicole gave us great direction for a day at the beach. While the hotel had no A/C the room stayed cool through the day and in the evening we opened the windows.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PermanentNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, IE
Level Contributor
226 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2009

have stayed here a few times, really special place, easy to get ot from Bordeaux and is as authentic as it gets. Rooms super and Jerome is really good advisor! Did not do the breaksfast there but really enjoyed both restaurants in the village. Favourite is Auberge!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

I was a bit concerned when we arrived at the Chateau D'Arche as the reception area had the musty smell of an old building. Fortunately, this was confined to the reception area and the bedrooms were very fresh. Our room was lovely with a very comfy bed and a huge and well-fitted bathroom. I would definitely recommend it as a comfortable place to stay but be aware that it is not a normal hotel and doesn't have facilities such as a bar, restaurant, room service etc. As the hotel was in a remote location, we had breakfast there which was excellent.

Sauternes is a lovely village with 2 restaurants. I would recommend Le Saprien which had excellent food, very friendly service and reasonably priced set menus. Far better than the other one, Auberge Les Vignes, which was very popular with the locals but not as good. We were also very impressed with the wines from Chateau D'Arche having had the opportunity to taste 3 of them after a tour.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelsizeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauternes
4.8 mi away
Domaine de Valmont
Domaine de Valmont
#1 of 1 in Barsac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
24.3 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
14.4 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Claude Darroze
Hotel Claude Darroze
#1 of 3 in Langon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sauternaise
La Sauternaise
#2 of 5 in Sauternes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Corterra
Villa Corterra
#1 of 1 in Fargues
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais du Chateau d'Arche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais du Chateau d'Arche

Property: Relais du Chateau d'Arche
Address: Chateau D Arche, 33210 Sauternes, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Sauternes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sauternes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais du Chateau d'Arche 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais du Chateau d'Arche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing