We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life is short to not spend it there!”
Review of Plat & Orphee

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plat & Orphee
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Do not waste your time and your money! So far the worst experience that I ever had!

The service, the hotel and people are so unwelcome that was a nightmare to stay there.

Even Dubrovnik was unwelcome!

We're not cash machines.
Life is short to not spend it there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in room 15 in Celia apartments which had a great view across the small stony beach (one of 3 within the complex). We could watch the sunset every night from our balcony and everything about the room was spot on including the much needed (and included in price of stay) air conditioning.
Beware though as it's a lottery as although all balconies face towards the sea some have trees obscuring the view, & smaller kitchens and some have grand balconies & better views so worth checking when you book.
Some of the staff are really good (particularly at the pool bar) but a fair few are just rude, although in their defence it's very hot, they work 7 days a week, 7 a.m to 11 p.m from April to Sept and they get paid a pittance.
The food is not good..... everything is salty, we had under-cooked burgers on 3 occasions (one was raw inside) and they don't de-beard the mussels. no waiters want to help by explaining the menu in the taverna restaurant (which is the posh one with great views) and you can't get anything after 9 p.m.
Bars close at 11 p.m. precisely & as it's all just local staff they just want to go home so you're not really made to feel particularly welcome.
The shop is very limited so if you do plan to self cater stop off at Cavtat en-route from the airport in order to avoid the ready - steady - cook challenge we were compelled to have when there was a local people dancing by the pool type entertainment evening. What we didn't know was that
1. There was entertainment on that night (guess we should have checked somewhere)
2. The pool bar would stop serving food at 8 p.m instead of 9 p.m
3. All other restaurants would be full.
4. We would have to race against the clock to get to the shop & choose something to cook with 7 minutes to go before the Jekyll & Hyde shop lady put the closed sign up & scowled at us (again).
We manged it but there's only so much you can do with ham, tuna in brine, seived tomatoes and spaghetti (no garlic, no herbs, no veg, no salad, no fish, no meat etc, etc)

Please don't get me wrong Plat Villas is a great place to stay and we had a great time. I hate sand & the stony beaches were a plus for me. I just invested £7.98 for 2 pairs of those slip on rubber soled shoes from a well known sports shop & had no problems with rocks or urchins.
The sea is the cleanest I've ever swum in & getting a boat to Cavtat in the evening for Dinner in a good restaurant whilst watching the sun go down is up there in my top 10 holiday experiences. If you treat it for what it is (good value in a great location), get out of the place in the evenings to eat and take regular boat trips you can't go wrong.

You've got to feel for the poor French people who went all inclusive only to find that they had to eat nothing but Pizza in one specific club restaurant which was by reception and only open from noon to 10 p.m with a very limited choice of drinks & no French speaking staff :)

Room Tip: Celia, top Floor far left when viewed from the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rillyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in the moring greated by a nice young lady another receptionist who relayed information about the hotel in a robotic voice. Once in the room lovley view of the sea nice big balconey. We have a s/c room facilities for cooking were poor only having a small cooking ring and a saucepan. No oven or microwave the mini market was limited there is no local supermarket the nearest one is in milni which is not possible to walk to as you can not walk on the main road. If staying please go b&b or half board or stay in milni as this area is better equipped. Plat is an area better with groups of people which we found out while there. There is nothing to do in the evening there is only 2 Restaurants locally which do serve lovely food. The hotel mainly had french guests in large groups with a couple of english couples. The shuttle bus is great and the water taxie. We took a boat trip called the fish picnic which i recommend. The weather was hit and miss we did have three days where it rained intermittently. Everyone has either a brolly or light waterproof coat on hand i did not find any information reguarding what clothes to take which i think is very useful. Please dress for all weathers in may / june. The pool is stunning but never full of people. The villa anita was very clean throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugerstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Plat is a very lovely place to stay and enjoy during the summer. Villas are very nice and good equipped. The pool look's very nice,especially during the evening, but I always prefer crystal clear Adriatic sea. Plat is about 20 minutes by bus from Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a enjoyable two week stay in the Hotel Orphee. We had a side-sea view room and sure enough you could see the sea but any further back you would have only trees. The room was basic but ok and the aircon was a god send with the hot weather we had. We were half board so used the hotel restaurant most days and there was always a veggie, fish and 2 meat options every day. All the food we had was good quality. There is also a Sunset Restaurant in the complex (payment required) which I would recommend and is reasonably priced. The pool is excellent but is used by everybody in the complex not just the hotel so if you have not got a sunbed by 9:30 your on the beach. The staff are very friendly and generally talk good English and other languages. The two weeks we were there 95% of the holiday makers were French so a lot of the entertainment was geared round them but did not stop the others joining in. There is a few pebbled beaches adjacent which are usable. There is an entertainment team which offer activities from Aqua fit to learning Crostian and they keep the young chidren entertained also. There is a local boat service to Cavtat, Mlini, Dubrovnic etc. and the Hotel runs a shuttle bus to Dubrovnic, finally if you have the energy you can walk up the hill and catch the local bus. To sum up we had a cheap and cheerful value for money holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pter4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Firstly... to clear up any confusion, if booking, Plat Hotel & Villas / Hotel & Villas Plat / Villas Plat Hotel is Hotel Orphee and vice versa. From what I gathered while there, the site is Plat Hotel & Villas which own hotel Orphee so if you are booking half board at Hotel & Villas Plat (or any of the other names) you will be staying in Hotel Orphee.
The hotel is a great cheap hotel. Not hiding behind anything, it is not a luxury hotel (although the pool could make you forget that) it is however a very clean, cheap, good all-round, bread & butter hotel.
The room was standard, average bed, small tv, fridge, air-con, bath/shower and balcony; nothing fancy but clean and cleaned every day too. We stayed in sea view and the view was fab.
The staff were very friendly and were happy to help with anything.
The food was reasonably vaired and was edible and in most part very tasty. You will always find something to eat as there was always chicken and chips available if the more Croatian dishes did not take your fancy.
The main gem in the Orphee crown is the pool, brilliant views watching the sunset from it.
The beach is a standard Croatian beach, pebbley but the water is fabulously warm and fantastically blue.
We did not hire a car due to age restrictions, however useful one would be, it is not a necessity (although if we could have one, we would). There is a reasonably regular bus service to and from old town run by the hotel costing 100Kn return or you can walk to the top of the hill where it is 60Kn return but it is a bit of a trek up a steep hill if it is very hot.
Overall, for the price a good hotel but there is no getting away from the fact it is basic.

Room Tip: Must get sea view! The view is fabulous. We stayed in D10 which had air-con (other people complained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

For what we paid I was very happy with what my wife and I received during our week's break in early June 2012. Don't expect anything flashy as this isn't that kind of place. Cheap & cheerful is how I would describe it. We went on a room only basis and asked for a quiet room on the top floor. We were given a room in Villa Diana which was very clean and comfortable. Like other reviewers I wholeheartedly concur as to the friendliness of the staff. We stayed away from the pool area as it was a bit too crowded and noisy for us so we went to one of the two pebble beaches on the few occasions we wanted a swim (don't forget some jelly shoes - a lifesaver!) We found that going for an early morning swim we had the beach to ourselves. We ate at the Plat Taverna on our last night and were pleasantly surprised, other than that we ate at places in Cavtat and Dobrovnik which were pretty average, and not really good value for money.

The only one complaint I would have re. the room at Villa Plat was that the aircon. which didn't work properly, if at all - and it got pretty hot some days! We tried telling staff that just because the unit was blowing out air and making a noise this didn't mean it was functioning properly - to no avail. We didn't let this spoil our holiday though. I wouldn't like to have the same problem later on in the summer though that's for sure!

As far as the hill at the premises was concerned this didn't cause a problem for us. If we wanted to go to Dobrovnik we usually went on the shuttlebus ( about £5.00 return per person I think it was) which picked up from reception. Other than that we hired a car for a couple of days so only had to walk up the hill the once, but hey - we benefited from the exercise! We found the local hire car rep on site very friendly and helpful (much more so than the person our tour rep suggested! ) Car hire for a class B small car was Euro 50.00. Cost of fuel is very similar to the UK.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Broadsword27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plat hotels
0 mi away
Villa Samba
Villa Samba
#1 of 6 in Plat
78 reviews
0 mi away
Villas Plat
Villas Plat
#2 of 6 in Plat
294 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Orphee
Hotel Orphee
#1 of 4 in Plat
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apartmani Ana
Apartmani Ana
#2 of 3 in Plat
23 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Dubravka
Villa Dubravka
#3 of 6 in Plat
6 reviews
0 mi away
Beach House Poseydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plat & Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plat & Orphee

Address: Plat, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Also Known As:
Plat & Orphee Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing