We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price.”
Review of House Tina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
House Tina
Ranked #1 of 14 Grabovac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok for the price.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The reviews for this property set my expectations fairly high, and, while there were some decent parts, I don't think I'd stay here again.

To start with the good parts: The property was attractive, clean, and had a scenic backdrop. The family that runs it was pleasant to interact with, although they didn't particularly go out of their way to be very helpful (actually gave us a little misinformation when we asked about the park). The breakfast was adequate, but claims that it's a "good" breakfast seem like a stretch (bread and cereal with omelets on request... a piece of fruit would have be nice?). Wifi was functional and fast. It was - at most - a 10 minute drive to the park. It's set up well for guests to interact and get to know each other in the evenings. Affordable pricing.

For the not so good parts: The rooms and bathrooms were the smallest we had in Croatia. Our room lacked A/C. The linens and towels were rough. It was noisy in the evening (while I appreciate the social interaction, I didn't appreciate it being right outside my - open due to lack of A/C - window). Unable to accept credit cards.

I think it was a fairly decent stay for the money, but if I'm in the area again, I'd rather spend more and hopefully get a bit more.

Room Tip: I'd spring for the suites/cabins that were bigger, offered A/C, and were further away from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anokh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    93
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
95
137
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Maybe its beacause after reading all the reviews our expectations were a bit too high, but i wouldnt rate this accomodation as excellent or very good. It was clean, thats for sure, on the other hand, the last day of our stay they didnt bother cleaning our room any more and we had to go ask for toiletpaper for that last day and night.
The cabins have airco, but friends of us stayed in a room in the main house and they didnt and it was very very warm.
They offer drinks you can take out of the big fridge thats outside and at the end of your stay you can pay for those, they do charge restaurant prices though so it would be much better if they just put a mini fridge in the rooms/cabins. Thet dont mind it if you bring your own drinks if you have dinner at the house, but...we found the prices they charged for the twon times we had dinner and what we got for it too much. Especially if you compare them to what you pay at restaurants in croatie. Overal our stay was great,mostly because of the location close to the Plitvice Lakes.

Room Tip: if you go in summer, go for a cabin, those have airco
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petravv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this guest house.
It was very easy to find from the main road and has ample parking for cars.
The owners are very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. They provided us with dinner on both nights at a small extra charge (choice of goulash, BBQ meat or BBQ fish) Breakfast was included and was very good.
Our room had everything we needed but did not feature a balcony as expected and the fan was not quite an equal alternative to A/C.
All in all, it was excellent value for money and we would highly recommend this lovely yellow guest house to anyone planning on staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

What I liked about the house is its surroundings. Beautiful nature, Very nice house . Our penthouse was very comfortable and big. They also had a swing and a seesaw which helps when you have kids, Breakfast is great, ham, cheese, eggs, cereals, fruits, tea , coffee, many jams.
The only thing I did not like too much is that you feel like you live with the owners, as when you want to go to your room, you enter through the main door and it opens up into their living room ect. Other than that we had a great time, it is a very good base for visiting the Lakes National Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dido2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

After a long drive from Slovenia we were exhausted and when we pulled in to House Tina the first of our senses to be tickled was the sense of something delicious being cooked! Yikes! We were hungry and hadn't changed to local currency yet....so imagine hearing the host say..."we are cooking a traditional goulash for our guests, would you like to join us?" Yikes! Are you kidding me? This was like total manna from heaven.....we had a delicious home-cooked dinner for a very reasonable fee....the topper was when the hosts brought out some whomping banana splits for dessert....but enough about food. (Wait-Wait---the breakfast is amazing!) The area is beautiful....the property is gorgeous...it's in the country and wonderfully maintained. The rooms, and the entire house, is spotless and everything is only a couple of years old and in pristine condition. I am a shower freak and this shower did not disappoint. The host, as was all the staff, was so helpful and accommodating. We only stayed one night but had we known how great this place was we would have stayed longer. Bonus.....House Tina is just a short drive from Plitvice NP which was our next stop.....so the location, in addition to being lovely, is super! Views from our balcony were spectacular and there were even a couple of horses romping around. Ran out of positive adjectives! Stay there! Great value!

Room Tip: They have a variety of room styles.....also the USA type KOA Kamping Kabins, which looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keddie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked this place in June but on arrival was told that they were overbooked so the owners took us over to their sister's place just next door which had no name. This place we stayed in seemed brand new, was very clean and comfortable and they provided us with 2 rooms (both had their own balconies and bathrooms) instead of the one cabin we had booked at House Tina that had four bunk beds. So in the end it worked out very well for us. The next morning we had breakfast at House Tina (excellent breakfast) and headed out to Plitvice Lakes.
There are quite a few of these little villas/inns that are close to Plitvice (a 10 minute drive and in a little area just off the crossroad/main roads) in a semi-suburban setting and very close to the restaurants on the main thoroughfare. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lackrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great place to stay, a short drive outside the Plitvice Lakes. Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast and close to some local restaurants. Highly recommended for good value mid-range accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteMumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grabovac
0.2 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
289 reviews
6.4 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
533 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
124 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ethno House Plitvice
Ethno House Plitvice
#10 of 101 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
207 reviews
7.1 mi away
Villa Lika
Villa Lika
#3 of 101 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Tina

Property: House Tina
Address: Grabovac 175 | Plitvice Lakes, Grabovac, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park > Grabovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Grabovac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — House Tina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House Tina is situated in a small village Grabovac, near Plitvice Lakes National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. House Tina is newly decorated and has 8 rooms categorized 3 stars. The location is a quiet one, the house has a spacious garden all around, with tables and benches for about thirty people. There is also enough space to park ten cars. To make your stay with us interesting from this year we offer horseback riding on a nearby farm. Book accommodation and horse-back riding and experience an unbelievable sense of freedom in intact nature!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your House Tina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Tina Hotel Grabovac
House Tina Grabovac, Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing