We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice at Baska Voda”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Horizont

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Horizont
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Baska Voda
Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best choice at Baska Voda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed with my wife at Baska Voda 8 nights, in hotel Horizont, with HB. Becauce we visited really a great part of Croatian Adriatic hotels, we can note that Hotel Horizont is one of the best. Especially restaurant with excellent chefcook is a dominant attraction of hotel. In summer months has restaurant problems with profesional waiter, but dishes from Master Cook were very delicious and on festive evening with croatiam music also very valuable. The accomodation part of hotel has very solid 3*** standard of German hotels, 4th * is probably for nice water world with 2 swimming pools indoor and outdoor. Other problems: parking - special area for prominent ?, details in bathroom and very expensive transfer to airport, when is not managed by travel agency. Hotel Horizont is very clean and is a good alternative for your stay at Adriatic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlovakiaJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    66
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
70
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mosow Russia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

The hotel Horizont is located in one of the most picturesque places of Croatia - Makarska Riviera (the town of Baska Voda). The beaches there are considered to be one of the best in Croatia. The town is small, safe, good for holidays with small children, but the beaches are crowded and the seafloor is made of stones and pieces of rock, so it is not very easy to get in and out of the sea.
The hotel itself is quite comfortable, with good SPA, the indoor pool and jakuzzi. The rooms are well-eqiupped but rather small. The food is of reasonable quality, nothing outstanding about it, but I do wish they would offer a wider choice of fruit at the height of the season. The stuff are polite, but when we asked for the permission to stay a few hours longer for extra payment they turned us down, saying they are fully booked. Taking into account the fact that we had to wait for 6 hours at the airport for our flight to take off, we would have preferred to spend three more hours in the hotel room rather than in the lobby. So it doesn't seem to be a very guest-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SvetlanaMosowRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

The Horizint Baska Voda is an excellent Hotel 4**** by Eastern Europe standards,staff efficient if a little brusque,maybe due to the need to comminicate in English,Greman and Russian.Rooms are of good size try for room on 5th Floor facing sea stunning View. Make sure you get room with seperate Shower as the first room we were offered had a fixed shower screen over bath making access very difficult for even the most agile.Pool go and extensive "wellness centre" for those who need such things. Close to Beach,white pebbles all Meals good ,dinner suitable for veggies @ a push.Quests in low season (Oct) mostly german/sweedish/russian coach parties.good if you want pool to yourself in day. Overall excellent late holiday venue provided you don`t mind the quiet and lack of english speaking residents

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRLTULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glos. England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

Surprised to see all the negative comments. Booked superior sea view room . Great location on third floor overlooking the beach. Nice room - aircon worked well. almost silent at night so could be left on.
Food. as described in other comments. Buffet for breakfast - good choice. Dinner - wide range of of hot and cold starters. main courses were fine. Whole Grilled bass etc., No issues with the food.
Agree about lack of information and assistance at check in. were given key and told where lift was - no other information about the hotel at all.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villeurbanne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

I was there with my wife and my daughter (3 years old). The hotel is well placed, 5 min to the center, 100 m from the public beach in a very calm spot.
The equipments are quite new, 1 outside pool, 1 inside + sauna + 4 smaller pools in + Fittness center (quite new equipement).
Rooms are in clean but they are some spot with dusts and rust in the bathroom.
the breakfast is alway the same, no changes but suffisant for anybody.
the dinner, entry and dessert are at will and in self service. For the main dish you have to choose between 4 plates. In general it is correct but not in line with 4 stars.

Obvious their russian investments it looks like and old and socialist hotel. And the services is awfull ... At our arrival no proposal to take our luggage, we have a children and no proposal and no installation of her special chair, no explanation about the use of the wellness center ... Moreover the waitress are not grinning but are alway in a bad mood.

The public is shared by russian, slovak, bosnian people, some english people and one days some belgian motorcycling guys.

To sum up : If you are using the accomodation please take it but not consider or attempt a service ....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

After reading several reviews on Makarska Riviera, we decided to visit a quiter than others but highly recommended as nice mall resort of Baska Voda. We stopped our choice on Hotel Horizont as were afraid to take anything below 4 stars in Croatia being with a small baby on hands.
Well, to start with, you are much better of in Makarska where there is at least some diverse life going on than in Baska Voda, definitely a small place but not with the resort atmosphere but with one-two streets full of bored tourists from Eastern Europe and... that`s it... all these pretty cafes you will read about are simply rather outdated busy places, no charm at all, and terribly overpriced. Really, it feels there is no competition allowed, all prices are higher than in Split and similar. You would want to run away to lovely nearby Makarska but 10km taxi ride is about 15 pounds one way and buses are too infrequent. Overall, this village is only worth staying not more than 2 nights, if at all and you should rather get a sea-line apartment instead of paying 3 times the price for a hotel.
Hotel Horizont with 140 euros rate for a double standard room in high season was a great disappointment. The only really nice bit there is the SPA, all the rest is very commumist looking, filled with package era oriented tourists. You would hardly see a Western person there. Staff is helpful but not too much, not cheerful at all and has a huge lack of training how to serve people. You can wait for the receptionist or barmen to show up... Standard room we had was with a sea-view and it´s breathtaking but the room itself is tiny (12 sq m or so maximum inluding a tiny bathroom). There were several accidents of money thieft in the hotel during our 1 week stay with police involvement. The half-board we have cancelled on the 3rd night as the dinner was boringly similar and cooked long ago before being served plus the atmosphere at the dinner was like in a cheap canteen with waiters running in chaos... Those out of 70s dark red and gold heavy curtains and lack of windows in the restaurant completed the picture.
The beach at the hotel is not private, you have to fight every morning to get those complimentary towels as the men in charge of them wants you to rent the deckchairs from him, otherwise you do not get the towels... the beach is very narrow and apcked and the cafe at the beach is really outdated... there are really much better places around on the Riviera, i.e. Makarska...
Thus, we would consider this week waisted as it was far away from enjoyable... the only joy, in fact, was to rent a car and get out of this place.
So, we believe it

  • Liked — SPA
  • Disliked — hotel rooms and resort itself
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank stasy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

Baska Voda: Horizont: "You won't have any regrets"
Date: August 29, 2008
Reviewer: A Young Tourist from Bosnia

I spent a lovely week at the Hotel Horizont. The position is just excellent, the surrounding park gives it just about enough of the shade during the hottest hours of the day. Rooms are very clean and well equipped, but don't expect home cleanliness. Food is just excellent, with lots of fresh fish on the menu. The staff are very nice, but here's one tip: Be always direct and clear in your requests, they will appreciate it the most.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baska Voda
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Bacchus
Hotel Villa Bacchus
#2 of 12 in Baska Voda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Croatia
Hotel Croatia
#1 of 12 in Baska Voda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Slavia
Grand Hotel Slavia
#3 of 12 in Baska Voda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Marina
Bluesun Hotel Marina
#2 of 10 in Brela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Soline
Bluesun Hotel Soline
#1 of 10 in Brela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Milenij
Aparthotel Milenij
#6 of 12 in Baska Voda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horizont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horizont

Property: Hotel Horizont
Address: Baska Voda 21320, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Baska Voda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baska Voda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Horizont 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Horizont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizont Hotel Baška Voda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing