We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but average”
Review of Hotel Croatia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Croatia
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Baska Voda
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but average”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After reading a lot of good reviews On tripadviser me and My partner decided to stay there over one night inbetween drivning from Dubrovnik and split. The hotel is located right by the front - a prime location! Even though you cannot see the the signs to the hotel which made us drive by it 4 Times.. The hotel service was great , the hotel itself small, neat and very charmig. The breakfast was included in the price and rather like most hotels in Dubrovnik. Overall We liked it but was not over impressed. The beds was hard as rock (if you have back problems)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear jasmine, when we read your review, we were a bit surprised; prime location, great service, neat and charming hotel and yet you describes us as an average hotel which is not something bed, just a bit surprising considering nice things written by you; exept for beds which we wouldn't describe hard as a rock since we did not receive prior complaints about quality of our beds otherwise we would change them immidiatelly and signs to the hotel which we are still trying to get permission and location from the municipality, we really do our best to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible and therefor all the good reviews which you read prior your arrival came from, and we are more then thankfull to all our wonderfull guests who stayed with us and reviewed our hotel. Maybe next time you can stay a bit more than 1 night so that you can experience all the nice things our hotel and staff offer to the clients who stay with us.
Thank you and have a nice summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This a nice and friendly hotel in Baska Voda. Very friendly personnel was always helpfull and made our stay in Baska Voda really very special. Hotal is located near to Brela beaches which we found the best in this area. Also beached towards to Promajna (appr 2 km) were nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaiviEspoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Paivi, thank you so much for such nice things you said about our staff and hotel. Indeed, location of our hotel is great for walking toward Brela or Promajna, the promenade is along the sea so everyone can enjoy the scenery. We are sending our best regards and hope you will be coming back to Baska Voda in the years to follow. All the best from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Friendly, caring staff and excellent service. They have made our stay very pleasant and enjoyable. Thanks to the team. Although the hotel is located in the heart of Baska Voda, close to a lot of restaurant and the beach, it has been quiet in our room. The lovely harbour is just next door. Room was nice and clean and air condition is very good. We arrived by car and booked a parking lot just a few minutes away from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vroni_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Vroni, thank you for being our guest this summer. We are glad to see that you wrote that it was quite in your room, since we always try to explain to our guest that even do hotel is located in the center of tourist destination and therefor it cannot be as quiet and peacefull as some people expect it to be, especially in July and August, when closing the windows you should be able to sleep without any disturbance. All in all, we are glad to see that you had a nice time staying with us and that is the most important thing for us since we do our best to make our guests stays as pleasant as possible.
Thank you and we hope to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Room was excellent, and the hotel was spotless throughout. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast terrace, and superb location. Be careful if parking nearby to get a ticket even if arriving late at night. Difficult to leave Baska Voda, but all the villages along the Makarska Riviera are worth exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the nice things you wrote about out hotel and our staff. Glad you liked your room. Parking is a bit of a problem, not with finding a place but with getting a ticket in case you don't pay immidiatelly. This is one thing that we definately would like to have, but our location does not allow us to build a parking.
We hope to see you again in our hotel in the future. All the best and have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great location rooms spacious and cool. Friendly staff and good breakfast served al fresco overlooking the yachts in the harbour. all in all well recommended and would definitely come back if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mr.Gary, thank you for your review. It is very nice to have breakfast in front of the sea and overlooking the harbour, so we are very lucky that we are located in such a wonderful location along the sea. Thank you for all your kind words and we are looking forward having you as our guest when ever you decide to come back to this area. All the best to you and have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just got home from one month travelling, mostly within Croatia. Baska Voda, Hotel Croatia is my favorite hotel for many reasons. Lovely small village, beautiful beach, clean, stylishly updated rooms, excellent service (Mili was fantastic, all staff were very accomodating and friendly) we stayed for three nights and had nothing but the best of experiences. Great location, excellent restaurants/pubs just around the corner with good food and good prices; very pleasant breakfast within the hotel. We could bicycle to Brela and Makarska with stunning views. May is a very good time to travel with few tourists, we almost had the whole beach to ourselves. It was a quiet and relaxing stay. Not that much to do in Baska Voda but sunbath, walk/browse the beachfront shops, bicycle, eat and drink the great regional wine! Perfection!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mrs Maryann, thank you for your wonderfull review. First of all, Mili sends his regards and he as well as all of us are very greatfull to have such wonderfull guests who write such nice things about our work as we try to do our best to acommodate everyone and to make all your vacations as pleasant as possible. May is a wonderful month to be in Croatia, not to hot but stil nice to go to the beach, you probably enjoyed cycling towards Brela and Makarska and seeing all our lovely 2 towns can offer. We hope the weather is nice in Canada and that you got home safely. Enjoy the rest of the summer and hopfully we will see you again in our hotel. All the best to you and your friends who stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Baska Voda is a small but lovely town, with a nice beach and harbour and a stunning backdrop of mountains. Hotel Croatia is situated perfectly in the middle of the town and just a stones throw away from the beach. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and very helpful in recommending trips and places to eat etc. I had a lovely five days there and would not hesitate in recommending it to others, and indeed, I would love to return there myself someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcroatia, Manager at Hotel Croatia, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mr.Brian, thank you for your review. We also hope that you will return to Baska Voda one day since we value the most our repeting customers, it is a good sign that we are doing a good job and since there are so many hotels all around the world it is a great honour to have guests returning to our small hotel. We wish you a wonderfull summer and thank you for being our guest this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baska Voda
0.4 mi away
Hotel Horizont
Hotel Horizont
#4 of 12 in Baska Voda
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Slavia
Grand Hotel Slavia
#3 of 12 in Baska Voda
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Bacchus
Hotel Villa Bacchus
#1 of 12 in Baska Voda
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Soline
Bluesun Hotel Soline
#1 of 10 in Brela
319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Marina
Bluesun Hotel Marina
#2 of 10 in Brela
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Milenij
Aparthotel Milenij
#6 of 12 in Baska Voda
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia

Property: Hotel Croatia
Address: Iza Palaca 1, Baska Voda 21320, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Baska Voda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Baska Voda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Croatia 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Baska Voda, Hotel Croatia is right on the waterfront, close to restaurants, coffee bars, beach cafes and shops. The beautiful pebble beaches for which the Makarska Riviera is famous are close by, and the closest is only 100 m from this charming hotel.Hotel Croatia was fully renovated in 2008 and, in homage to past times, its facade bearing the characteristics of original Dalmatian architecture was preserved, while the interior was fitted out with fascinating stone staircases and an indoor garden. This charming four-star hotel combines traditional architecture and intimacy, with 18 rooms on the ground floor and two upper floors. Unfortunatelly hotel Croatia doesn't have private parking, so if you are coming with a car public parking is available in front of the hotel along the promenade or just 150m from the hotel in the marina and fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Croatia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing