We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, silence, food”
Review of Bor Spa-Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bor Spa-Club
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Velingrad
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, silence, food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My first visit to this hotel was right after it was found in autumn 2007. Since then we (my family and me and also friends) have been there 5 or 6 times more. The last one - December 2012, 2 adults with 4 kids :))
There is great success in the quality of the food, offered in the restaurant, and the maids are still so nice to us and always where they are needed.
Great massages in the spa and splendid view from the large swimming pool windows.

The main reason I love this place: it feels cosy there and all that nature that surrounds it is inspirational.
A sunny and warm place with good food.

Room Tip: If you are not a late party person, then do as us - choose a remote room/apartment from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarnela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Bor Spa-Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sarnela,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel!

Thank you for your opinion and good words. Our staff will be delighted to hear this.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed there for a few days. The location is very good as it is on the top of the city right next to the forest, which helps for the relaxation. The SPA center is just perfect with hot mineral water and everything one would need to relax.
It was a bit pricy, but in our case we booked just a day before that and it was for New Years Eve, so that might be the reason.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peshovuchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Bor Spa-Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear peshovuchev,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel!

Thank you for your opinion and good words. Yes, we recommend to book early if possible, to get best deals.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 days, incl. New Year's Eve. Everything was just fine. Great location, delicious food, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice spa treatments, etc. Perfect place for a weekend break or a longer holiday. Not a single remark or objection whatsoever. Such a pity places like this are so hard to find in my own home country.

Room Tip: get a room on the 2nd floor and you won't need to use the lift, just climb the few stairs from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Bor Spa-Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear MilenP,

Thank you for spending your time to review our hotel. Indeed, the second floor is a smart choice and convenient for guests who like to be near everything.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent a weekend with my fiance, it's very relaxing, they have a very good spa and the great food. If you want to relax, you don't need to leave the hotel - they have bars, pools, restaurants (very good food), but even if you do, it's just 5 minutes away from the center.

My only remark was with the service, because they seem to be low on staff, but if you wake up early enough to throw a towel on the sunbed, you are fine :)

After only two days, our skin is better and we feel great.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfachev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Bor Spa-Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear vfachev,

Thank you for spending your time to review our hotel. Our staff is doing their best for our guests' satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We spend this weekend in the hotel. It was goods surprised the perfect organization from reception to Spa center. The rooms are big enough, the food in the restaurant was delicious, the spa center is small but well organized and clean, the massage was done with professionalism. In one word - we enjoy on one relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera_Yoveva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Bor Spa-Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Vera_Yoveva,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. Actually, our SPA center with the pool area is on 2000 sq. m. I hope you have seen all of it, or maybe next time.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had been staying at the hotel for almost 2 weeks. The occupancy of the hotel during that time was extremely low, however we were very happy with that because we were looking for full relaxation.
The hotel is conviniently located just 3 minutes walk off the centre on the hill providing for panoramic views of the town. The hotel itself is good but requires renovation, at least some timely cosmetic renewal. I did not understand the system of heating, seemed it was turned on only for the night time. Thanks to the attentive staff for the portable heather.
The food was fine, at least breakfast. We went outside for lunches. I strongly recommend the restaurant Chinarite (Чинарите), in my opinion it is the best in the city. The Omar tavern was also good. The restaurant in the hotel is nice but it was always empty, as well as Panorama bar on the top of the building. The Panorama bar is just wonderfull, pity we could not go there during the day time to enjoy the panoramic views of the town (it opens at 6 p.m. when it already gets dark).
There are two swimming pools in the hotels. The outdoor pool was closed. The indoor pool with mineral water was very good but it is not suitable for children as it is quite deep.
And finally, but not because of importance, I would like to note about the medical centre and the SPA-centre in the hotel. It provides for a variery of the medical and SPA treatments. The staff is very professional and attentive. I would like to say special thanks to Dafinka and Dymitr for their magic hands and also to the ladies who prepared baths for me. I was ready to spend the whole days there. It is great value for money in comparison to the other european resorts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Bor Spa-Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Diana S,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

Indeed, in the winter season our outside pools - the main and the children's are not operational. We have attended to the other remarks from you since the time of your stay. Dafinka and Dymitr thank you for your words and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The advantage of this hotel is its location and good standard of accomodation for Velingrad. It is located on the top of a hill giving more privacy, good panorama and tranquility but still 10 minute walk from the city centre. The restaurant has a good chef with predictable but delicious dishes. Prices of the restaurant are higher than those in the city but still quite acceptable (for foreigners at least). There is also great hiking trails starting from there to go for a walk in the forest. Sauna and steam room are built to a good standard. The staff is helpful and polite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Gl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Bor Spa-Club, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Miss_Gl0betr0tter,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
I am pleased to read your review, which reflects the efforts we recently made to improve our services. We continue our work and always try to find new ways to please our guests.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Velingrad hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Velingrad
Grand Hotel Velingrad
#2 of 26 in Velingrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spa Hotel Rich
Spa Hotel Rich
#1 of 26 in Velingrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#7 of 26 in Velingrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Spa Hotel Dvoretsa
Spa Hotel Dvoretsa
#4 of 26 in Velingrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maxi Park Hotel & Spa
Maxi Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 26 in Velingrad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Balneo Complex Saint Spas
Balneo Complex Saint Spas
#16 of 26 in Velingrad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bor Spa-Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bor Spa-Club

Property: Bor Spa-Club
Address: Nikolay Hrelkov St 9, Velingrad 4600, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Pazardzhik Province > Velingrad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Velingrad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bor Spa-Club 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest four-star balneocomplex in Velingrad, fully supplied with mineral water/ composition of mineral water. It is located in a pine-three park in the center of the town. Built in a unique architectural style on ancient Roman therms, SPA Club Bor offers traditional methods and the newest health-care achievements. There are 140 luxurious rooms, studios and apartments. There are six different catering places at your disposal, which are suitable for any mood and hour of the day. The hotel part has 48 double rooms and 88 apartments – attractive as design and color decision. All rooms and apartments in the hotel are equipped with plasma TVs, mini-bars, Internet, satellite, telephones in the bathroom and the room. Outdoor car parking for 80 cars. The following zones have been differentiated in the complex: Entertainment facilities with main Restaurant for 200 people, Summer garden restaurant with BBQ for 80 people, Tavern for 80 people, Panorama bar restaurant for 80 people, Lobby-bar for 30 people, Summer garden cafe for 40 people, Gambling room, Computer room, Kids corner, Tourist agency. Business zone with Business center, big conference hall for 100 people and small conference hall for 20 people. The halls are equipped with flip charts, white boards and multi players; Wellness zone with indoor swimming pool, outdoor swimming pool (in the summer), kids outdoor swimming pool (in the summer), indoor Jacuzzi, Fresh bar for 20 people. SPA zone with two rooms for cosmetic treatments, 5 massage rooms and 4 rooms with bath-tubes, Egypt bath, Ayurveda room, Turkish bath, steam bath, sauna, relax room, solarium; Medical zone with rooms for Physiotherapy, Neurology, Cardiology and Internal medicine, Surgery, Gynecology, Gastroenterology, Urology and Dermatology, manipulation room, hall for Kinesitherapy, rooms for lye treatments, light therapy, ultrasound, inhalations, water therapy; Entertainments. Sports tournaments in bridge, chess and backgammon, table tennis, water polo can be organized in the complex. You can visit the sports schools and courses in swimming – individual and group classes, Bulgarian national dances, callanetics, underwater gymnastics in groups; Experienced professionals who work in different animation programs will carry out for your children. For your tourism and recreation outside the complex you may receive more information in the tourist agency of "Sirona Tour". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bor Spa-Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing