We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
21
15
18
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
21
15
18
12
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 72 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is nothing more than a POOR 4 star hotel. Do not go there if you expect anything more than that.
When we arrived there was no bell boy to meet us. We had to ask for someone to help us with the luggage and we had to wait. The receptionist did not even lift his head when we approached the reception desk, even though the hotel was obviously empty at this time. We were not greeted by him and we were left standing more than 20 seconds, before finally my husband enquired that we are checking in.
The standard double room is smaller than it looks like on the website. Its furniture is VERY BASIC. There is no coffee machine. There is instant coffee and tea, but no creamer or milk portions. We were told that coffee and tea is not being replenished during the stay!!!No complimentary bottled water. No choice of pillows, there are only 3 very soft pillows in the room. When I asked for a hard pillow I was told by the housekeeper that they only have 10 hard pillows per floor and they are all in the other rooms so there are none for our room left! No mattress cover or top mattress, the sheets are spread directly on the mattress. I asked for a mattress cover and they did not even know what that is. I have not seen this even in cheaper hotels. On the small balcony no chair to sit. There are dangerous electrical plugs in the room, there are walls with cracks, just to mention a few...
The cleanliness is not up to the standards, as well. There was no turn down service???
Great disappointment is the fact that there is NO WI-FI in the rooms. When we asked about it we were told there is only cable internet in the rooms and wi-fi in the lobby only.
The pool itself is clean, but the first day the water was 34 degrees and we found this too hot. The pool area is not maintained well, pool chairs are dirty and not well organised. The pool attendant was lying on one pool chair.
SPA is nicely designed, but again masseurs sitting on the coaches doing nothing: does not look so good...
Only thing we liked was the restaurant. It is nice and cozy, buffet arrangement was ok, and waiters were friendly. Food for dinner was surprisingly good, breakfast was basic, but fine.
We are checking out of this hotel tomorrow and we would definitely not come back to St. Spas.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Balneo Complex Saint Spas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear doinsl,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel!

I am glad to see a profound opinion in various aspects of the hotel service.
I believe you will agree that the complimentary services are the hotel's choice and matter of price for the service paid. Even more the price is a function of the extra services we are able to offer, such as choice of pillows and extra mattress cover (the latter not even being popular or obligatory product in Bulgaria yet), turn-down service, etc. The present economical situation in Bulgaria limits our ability to sell at high prices as we try to follow the buying abilities of the market.
As the hotel has a medical centre, we originally did not want to offer WiFi in the rooms. We wanted to avoid any extra emitters and we provide FREE WiFi only in the general areas. However, as more and more of our guests ask for this, I am happy to inform you in advance, that FREE WiFi service is coming to the hotel rooms with term before the end of 2013.
Thank you again for your remarks which we will certainly consider to improve our work and the service of our staff.

Sincerely,
Boyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We bought a voucher through a Bulgarian version of Groupon (Rio.bg). Two nights bed breakfast and dinner plus use of spa 250lev for 2 nights the equivalent of £115(approx). On the whole the hotel is very nice reception/lobby bar are stunning. The pool area is very nice only criticism of this area is. For a 5* hotel there is no visible drinking water (I suspect so you buy water etc from the counter). Also there are tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom but no milk portions or whitener. Apart from that the hotel is very nice staff are friendly and if you have dinner try the figs in champagne & congac with yoghurt for they are to die for!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkeyjaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Balneo Complex Saint Spas, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Funkeyjaybee,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel!

We offer mineral water on our buffet table without surcharge. You can order inroom delivery for anything that you need in your room through our 24-h room-service. We will consider your opinion for further improvement of our services. I am glad you liked our cuisine!

Sincerely, Boyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I took a trip to Velingrad with my family and friends. Great value for money with two great pools and great welcoming staff. The massages were amazing with fantastic passion fruit oils and all the fruit was fresh. Great for all people whatever age!

Room tip: they all have balconies and even the cheapest rooms were clean and spacious
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthjq25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Balneo Complex Saint Spas, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Ruth Q,

Thank you for your review for our hotel! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and liked the place and our SPA centre.

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the place if you want to rest. Secluded between the Rhodopes, by the river, without any significant noise around, except for the train - the only narrow-line train in Bulgaria. I was even happy to lose my mobile signal occasionally!
Guys, check your indoor pool, I am not much of a design specialist but the roof is heavily rotten. there must be something you could do for all this moist. This spoils the impression for the otherwise impeccable SPA centre.

Room tip: Pick a river view room. It keeps you off the occasional trains. However this is East, so if you sleep late, the sun will find you, then get on the other side.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Balneo Complex Saint Spas, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Dimitar G,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! It seems you really know the place well, including the only narrow-line train in Bulgaria, which is a bit of our pride.
We are fully aware about the condition at the pool area, it is on our immediate plans for repairs, thank you.

SIncerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is a fairly new hotel, large and modern, has an off street parking, large restaurant and offers good recreational facilities.Rooms have a great view of the mountains. Restaurant offers good food at reasonable price. children's pool water is too hot and little ones cant stay in for more than 5 min. Staff were nice and helpful. It is 5 min drive from Velingrad town centre and the piano bar of Grand Hotel Velingrad

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyan A, Director of Sales at Balneo Complex Saint Spas, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Vladimir T,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel!

I am glad to see you were happy with your stay. Indeed, the temperature of the water in the pools is one of our "hottest" topics, as some guests like it colder, some like it hotter. The kids' pool is a bit warmer than the big one, in order to be sure that the little ones will not get colds, etc.

We hope to see you again in Bulgaria and Velingrad!

Sincerely,
Boyan Alexandrov
Marketing and Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews