We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I was there now ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Obzor
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wish I was there now ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our first RIU experience. The hotel is immaculate, the staff efficient and the sunbeds plentiful.
As previous reviews state, there is plenty of food of all types.Some nights menus were better than others but this added interest. Breakfast was great - especially the freshly made tiny pancakes.
I cannot imagine any room is not good. All have sea views and both of ours, sleeping 2 and 3, were spacious.
As Tracey B said,some nationalities were less used to polite behaviour than others, but this led to us Brits, Germans, Dutch, French and Swedes (no Italians at hotel) uniting in setting an example- particularly in children's behaviour!
Obzor is rather 'unclassy'. 3ish nightclubs and lots of stalls selling tat. That said, street food is super cheap, the wine is drinkable and the measures are generous. The Town Square is lively in the evenings and there are two stages where free dancing etc. happens every night.The beach is fine as well.
The hotel is covered in birds nests, I think they are House Martins? These are so entertaining and keep the bugs down.
The Animation Team work their socks off.
We did have a most terrifying mini-bus trip back to the airport and the driver looked astonished when no one tipped him. Shame, because all the other drivers had been great- and got a tip.
Do visit Nessebarr(?). Great lunch overlooking the bay with wine made in the restaurants own vineyard.
Best til last. Barney!!! Great rep, always available. Has a huge library of books and his free 'ramble' tells you all the best places to visit.He hosts the Khans Tent excursion, which is breathtaking.If his snoring (see earlier reviewer) is as cute as his giggles, I wish I had heard it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaJMStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    190
    72
    29
    14
See reviews for
248
264
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from an 11 day AI package at the Helios Bay. Travelled with husband (both 60 ) and 14 year old grandson who has a disability. A multi- national hotel
From the moment we arrived the hotel took care of us - ensuring the room they had allocated would be suitable for my grandson ( we had not asked for a wheelchair room as he can walk with aid of frame )Allocated us second sitting but they were eager to change when we asked for first. The tables are only reserved for the evening meal and we had a very specific request - outside on terrace near to food with somewhere to park wheelchair. They obliged and the Maitre D' came along to check it was Ok.He asked if we would like it reserving for all 3 meals and we said please. Always a reserve sticker on the table and on the one occasion someone did sit there - my husband who had gone to breakfast alone sat somewhere else quite happily but observed the staff requesting that the reserve sticker be honored.
Sunbeds around pool plentiful - if you want front row you need to reserve about 8 am but always some available all day . They are sturdy sunbeds not flimsy ( comforting for larger people)Thoroughly cleaned twice a day , Also on the beach - same all included in the price.
The Animation team were great and even though we had no one on the Kids club we looked forward to the "Trolleywood " song and even danced it to my grandsons' disgust !!! This was the way they announced the kids club was open and collected the kids.Some good stuff for all ages throughout the day but for us who like it a bit quieter it was very unobtrusive and did not detract from our Holiday one bit.Met loads of really nice people both staff and customers. Thought it was great that the bar staff remember your drink preferences after first couple of days and almost had them lined up as you were approaching. Drinks- quite a good variety and measures very good. Water available in2L bottles from reception free to take to room every day
Everywhere is spotless throughout the hotel - yes we saw a plug socket hanging off the wall but if you are worried about young children health and safety --WATCH THEM !! It isn't Britain with our H and S laws. But I never saw anyone go near it that wasn't taking advantage of the socket to recharge their laptops phones and other devices. ( Never bothered anyone then !!!)
Food great - yes it can be a bit samey cos they put on such a large spread each day!!!! there is only so much you can do with fish(fresh and Battered fingers etc) chicken beef turkey lamb pasta , children section and a full range of veg and potatoes to accompany /a large salad bar and sweets -e,g, gateaux fresh fruit,fruit in juice yoghurts blancmanges i 4 flavours of ice cream plus toppings . mousse creme caramel, cakes. Cheese board and some I probably missed But there again there was always the snack bar.!! Must be very fussy eaters if you found that boring and repeatative as it was all available everyday .Cannot say much about the evening entertainment as went for free AI drinks instead/ Played cards and Uno and scrabble and spent time talking and drinking. Barney the rep was lovely but then again so were all the staff . Obzor is growing and so does have something to offer Restaurants bars and shops close by and also a fun fair lots of Donner kebab shops and places to snack and even a few Disco's .
Went to Khans Tent a bit expensive= meal OK drinks Ok Entertainment First Class - worth the money !!!!
Bourgas Airport on the way back - Horrible - can only say be patient - Tiny check in 9 desks and some 10 flights out had to wait for one to go before they opened our check in - mad rush and then had to queue outside as gap left at back of queue for getting to other check ins. With usually thing everyone jostling for the queue and blaming everyone else for pushng in . Felt quite sorry for the rep who tried to get us through cos of the wheelchairs and ended up getting in trouble off other people in queue. If you are that worried about sitting together do what I do and pay for your seats together.
As usual the Rui hotel came up to standard. I now look for these when booking as the group is well managed and staff friendly and efficient. Obzor a much better resort than Sunny Beach which is now too big and too busy ( well for me- at a young at heart 60 +)

Room Tip: We were in 3159 overlooking pool and side sea view Very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVID4351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'm loathe to recommend this Hotel because I might not be able to book a holiday here again! ( selfish I know) This Hotel is spotless ! The staff delightful! Rooms spacious and clean ! literally on the beach. Lots of entertainment for kids! Adults? Not so good , but who cares ? The bar staff will entertain you . Thank you Vlado ,Nicki,Veronika, Martin, Ani etc.etc.Thank you Barney ( Thompson Rep. ) Sunny Beach is far away from YOU .Relax, you're needed there. Thank you ALL so much for a wonderfully relaxed holiday.Hope to meet you all again soon . P.S Thank you Christine (Reception) P. P.S. Thank you Christos for the Pictures(artist)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travelled on 8th july and stayed for a week.The flight timings are not ideal but nothing we could do about that.Very easy Transfer into resort, Barney the rep was stood outside the arrivals terminal and directed us to the correct bus,we did have a bit of a delay leaving the airport as a guest had lost their luggage.Finally got to the hotel about 2.30am drinks and snacks available if we wanted them.Lovely staff on reception very easy checkin.
The roomwas spacious and very clean but we were travelling with our 15year old son and his bed was a very small campbed at the end of our bed!!! Not ideal by any means ....he is quite slight in build so he slept ok but a bigger lad would have been uncomfortable and of course no privicy for either us or him.When booking with thompson before we had family rooms but had no choice when booking this holiday for some reason.
That was the only downside otherwise the hotel was fab Food great plenty of choice at all times and freshly cooked,The themed restaurant was great too.We chose to have the later sitting 8.30pm_10pm but in hindsight it was a little too late.
The hotel manager was always around checking the different areas of his hotel even greeting guests at dinner time he does a great job.
Barney the rep was great if you get the chance to go on his resort Ramble go... it was really interesting to find out so much about the town of Obzor.you also stop for a break with free pizza & drink.
The evening entertainment wasnt great but the animation team work really hard and there was plenty of daytime entertainment around the pool.they have to deal with so many nationalities so trying to please everyone is no mean feat.

There were certain nationalities there that were very rude!! Pushing & shoving ,not queing up the usual sort of thing that wind us Brits up!! We were the minority when we travelled so be aware and try to keep your temper!!

The trip to the waterpark was good value under £75.00 for the 3 of us all day,lockers are a must but cheap at only 5 levs for the day. All food and drink even bottled water are not allowed in the park they will check your bags as you go in so dont bother taking any with you,but there are plenty of places to grab a bite to eat and drink at reasonable prices too.

I have read some of these reviews on here and cannot understand the bad ones the hotel does not deserve them we had a great time and although i was a bit dubious of trying bulgaria i would definatly go back to Obzor...oh and as for the bird issue... we never saw any bird droppings on any sunbeds or balconys and the birds didnt come anywhere near the dining areas.if fact they were fasinating to watch flying into their nests.

Room Tip: Take your own beach towels as the pool towels are quite small. We stayed on floor 6 lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of july. Four adults a 9year old and 6 year old. We travelled with thomson platinum, which states that we would be first or second drop off. Not so!! We were 5th or 6th drop off. It took us 2 hours instead of 50 minutes to get to the hotel!!! Im sure the angels were singing when the hotel came into sight. This was the only downside to the holiday. The hotel is fantastic. All staff are very friendly and work so hard. The pool was so cold the first few days, but soon became a blessing as the sun got hotter. There are a lot of nesting birds (which caught me twice!!), but the cleaners work constantly to clear up the mess. Food was lovely..and plentiful. The animation team are great, and work hard. Evening entertainment wasnt so good, but the staff are so nice, I cant knock them. Overall, one of the best hotels ive stayed in. Fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1970lynnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is a nightmare, bad food ,could not go in the pool had slime on the bottom, ended up in bed for 4 days ill, lost weight, complained to the rep who didn't want to know. The staff were shouting at a kid for playing with a tip plate someone had left ( Child was only about 3 - 4 ). If we could have got a flight home we would have but was to ill to travel. I was not the only one ill there. We have been travelling for over 25 years and never come across a hotel this bad before. We paid £1400 for a week of nightmares.stayed in Riu hotels loads of times and never seen one so bad. The transfer from the airport to the hotel was hell, the bus driver was going round blind bends in the dark on the wrong side of the road and nearly crashed. The rep actually got us another transfer back as everyone on the coach said they would not go back with him. As soon as we got into the reception it stunk, the restaurant seating area outside was full on wasps / flys. This is the first time ever we have wrote a bad review of a hotel but just felt we needed to warn people.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calandulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Hotel in Obzor Bulgaria is excellent. Large room & bathroom. Room has sea view.
This is an all inclusive hotel. The Food Is good with plenty of choice. The wine & lager are only OK, after the first few you feel no pain. The pool & beach have lots of sun beds but the hotel has plenty of guests. Not too many guests putting out the towels before breakfast. During our stay there were approx. 12 different nationalities.
We went with our Daughter & her children. Not a lot to do for teenagers. The animation (entertainment) team had lots for kids up to twelve. Adults were well catered for, 5 a side footy, water polo, beach volley ball, air gun shooting, etc. One of the organisers allowed my 15 year old to join in the 5 a side footy but explained he was stretching the rules. I am sure this is all to do with insurance liability. The only options really were sunbathing or going for a walk. I did have a word at reception but I am not sure this will be taken on board.
The above is my only moan if we had been just a couple there would have been no problem at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obzor
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Miramar
Club Hotel Miramar
#3 of 17 in Obzor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Obzor Beach Resort
Obzor Beach Resort
#5 of 17 in Obzor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
11.4 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#9 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Luna Bay
Sol Luna Bay
#1 of 17 in Obzor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Helios
Hotel Riu Helios
#4 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Address: Tchernomorska 50 | Obzor - Bulgaria, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Obzor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Obzor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Obzor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea. 5-Storey building. Situated on the beachfront. 300 M from the centre of Sunny Beach. 25 Km from Burgas airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Bay Hotel
Riu Helios Bay Obzor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing