We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Obzor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

stayed at this hotel june for 10 days. Restful and enjoyable stay
Rooms and check in were fab, our bathroom needed new tiles but hey not in it for that long each day. Television stations are not English except CNN and one other which was slightly odd.
Pool and bar area was lovely and is right on the beach and we had no trouble getting a bed each day although maybe at the height of the season i could see there may be an issue but they do have areas to put more beds.
Food was fine but catering more for the other Nationalities staying there, we were told that two years ago they catered for all nationalities which seemed to have changed, but we always managed to find something nice to eat. This was a reasonably priced holiday and thats what we got...I would pay more if they upgraded the bars etc.
Now to the animation team, well they were useless we were there 7 days before one of them ackowledged we were actually staying at the hotel.LOL No interaction with the guests that didn't take part in the games. They need more training in entertainment LOL
Overall the holiday was great and we would go back for a restful and beach holiday.
We walked to the town which for some reason the reception staff seemed to think was not good but we had a great evening looking in the shops and partaking in a couple of Baily's & ice at the bars.
Rip off prices to keep your room on happily would have paid the normal, room on till 7pm and to have a safe was £100 for the 10 days and was so small we could get the ipad or camera in it so had to carry with us most of the time.
The shop at the resort was very reasonable not like some hotels we have stayed at.
Gets a bit chilly in the evening so take a cardigan or little jacket..still lovely though

Room Tip: high floor has the best view and lifts are good. 6111 was a nice room but balcony railing did move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for a week in May with hubby and friends, wasn't sure about Bulgaria as none of us had been before. Had a great time lovely hotel, very clean good food staff very friendly and helpful, nice pool area and straight down to the beach which was lovely. Would highly recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing holiday by the beach.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with some friends for one week at the beginning of June 2013. I really cannot fault this hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious. The pool and surrounding areas were lovely and very well kept, cleaners were visible around the hotel all day long. The food was amazing. Lots of choice available with different meat & fish options everyday. The breakfast had so many choices from full English, continental, cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit & pancakes. I really was spoilt for choice.

The entertainment team were excellent with lots of activities taking place throughout the day from water polo, air rifle shooting, darts, beach volleyball (special mention to George from the entertainment team). We took part in two aqua fit classes. The evening entertainment was a bit more hit and miss with some days better than others but the team tried their best and worked extremely hard.

The bar staff were also fab and after a few days knew exactly what we were going to order. Special mention to Vlado behind the bar and thanks for the extra shots of rum in our Strawberry Daiquiri's

Overall we had a fab week at this hotel and I would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday! If you are looking for a big resort with lots of shops and clubs go to Sunny beach but Obzor was perfect for us. There is a small town a short walk up the road with some souvenir shops, bars and restaurants and a square. We would definitely return to this hotel and resort.

On a final note, the hotel provides pool towels but they are small so I would recommend taking your own. You have to pay for WiFi, 20 levs for your stay and its only available in the lobby area. The wine is rough too, beer is ok ( so I am told) and the cocktails very good!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks here and can echo a lot of previous reviews. Staff were excellent and food was good. Rooms cleaned to high standards. Biggest problem for us was bird crap everywhere. We had a nest on our balcony and everyday the furniture was covered in it. I would move the chairs to 1 side to try and keep them clean but the next day the cleaner would put it back over to let it get covered again. We never used the balcony after 3/4 days. If you sit on the veranda for your meals check the walls above the table and avoid the ones with nests unless you like birds flying in and out and crapping. The first week was ok although the pool and sea were very cold, by the second week both had warmed up and were very enjoyable but the 'mood' in the hotel changed. Lots of children turned up and with it we heard lots of rows around the pool between families falling out over them. One woman in particular managed to have a row with at least 3 other families because of her little 'cherubs'. We decided to go to the beach every day after, which was quieter. The dining room went from being orderly and polite to a free for all which was more akin to a Macdonalds outside a football ground. We were so pleased the first week and so disappointed the second. Will not go back to this hotel or Bulgaria. We rated the cleanliness down because of the birds but otherwise it is excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea but to get 1 without a birds nest is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1danmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was brilliant, staff were really nice and plesant, you couldnt ask for a better hotel.
I am glad we went in June, as it was hot enough.

The location is very nice right on the beach and only a couple of minutes walk into the centre. It is a very relaxed enviroment, which is brilliant for when your on holiday. if you like the party atmosphere then this is not the place for you, if you are after somewhere to unwind and relax this is the place. The only down side is the pool was freezing, but you did get used to this after a couple of days.
We would go back in a couple of years once we have travelled abit more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah186230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well what can I say.this hotel is fantastic from the gastronomy to the cleanliness to the rooms we stayed here from 20th may for 7 days we could not find one thing to complain about. We made some great friends here and we are still all in contact with each other Valeri the manager deserves an award for all his hard work and effort in making the hotel a success. We were so impressed to see valeri walking around the complex and interacting with holidaymakers not hidden in his office like other hotel managers Staff are great especially Alex the bar man ( you remember our group we invited you to come and stay in uk with us) Vlado and georgana and the lovely lady on the front desk ( sorry I forget your name) food was fantastic and drinks were passable well we passed enough lol. My little one loved the kids club and was made up when he played the part of the frog in the evening entertainment show. Lovely beach which we all enjoyed. Finally barney the rep nice guy who always was ready to help.there is only one problem with this hotel ONE TRIP IS NOT ENOUGH! Ps if you venture into the village beware of the flint stones bar as the guy there has a fondness for short changing you

Room Tip: Whatever room you get will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Came here 3rd / 11 June 2013 with my friend, we was a little apprehensive when we booked this holiday as nobody had heard of Obzor,

If you want a slow pace/relaxing holiday. this is the place, if its clubbing etc, best off going Sunny Beach.

Would highly recommend this hotel, all staff were very friendly and gave that extra personal touch, rooms spacious and cleaned every day. Bar staff very pleasant and hard working, sensed they enjoyed their work

Food was lovely, fresh and piping hot. Prepared and cooked (meat/fish)in front of you. Different variation of fish/meats/salads/pasta/chips/roast/vegetables/cakes/fruit served at lunch and dinner.

Entertainments team work long hours, day and night, all very friendly, however, evening entertainment was 'ok/poor', could of done with more 'traditional / paid' entertainment.This is my personal view, lots of others enjoyed the evenings, so don't let this put you off.

Tips what they don't tell you.........Approx 60 mins from airport, second part of journey, long winding, steep hills. Safe= 40 lv = £20. Towels supplied for pool and beach, beach loungers free in-front of Hotel. 1.5 litres water handed out at reception.

Would recommend you take some antibacterial wipes, birds nest on buildings in Bulgaria, i stopped counting after 60 nests. All loungers and pool side get a scrubbing each morning.

Obzor town is a lovely Bulgarian town, with a mixture of locals and holiday makers, day by day more bars / shops were opening, would like to see this small town in 5 years time.
Lots of different Nationalities in the hotel, UK and German being the main two.

Have read all the reviews, don't be put off with the negative reviews, Building work is taking place at the front of the hotel, this does not affect the hotel in any way. The sea / rooms / pool are all back facing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 888highway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obzor
0.6 mi away
Obzor Beach Resort
Obzor Beach Resort
#5 of 18 in Obzor
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Miramar
Club Hotel Miramar
#4 of 18 in Obzor
322 reviews
11.4 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 222 in Sunny Beach
561 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Helios
Hotel Riu Helios
#4 of 222 in Sunny Beach
941 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Luna Bay
Sol Luna Bay
#2 of 18 in Obzor
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios Bay

Address: Tchernomorska 50 | Obzor - Bulgaria, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Obzor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Obzor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#2 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range: $91 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Helios Bay enjoys a seafront location at the northpart of the beautiful city of Obzor. 5 km-long public beach of fine sand which slopes gently into the sea. Aproximate distances: - 62 km from Burgas airport - 35 km from Sunny Beach Centre. - 1 km from public transport (bus stop) Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Bay Hotel
Riu Helios Bay Obzor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing