We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Obzor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Riu Helios Bay for a week in September. We arrived at 3.30 in the morning and were quickly checked in by the pleasant receptionist. We were greeted with a cold drink and the option of some cakes and biscuits. We were also given a bottle of water which you get more of at any time just by asking at reception.


Our room was on the 6th Floor and we were amazed at the size of it. We had a great sea view and pool view. The room was spotless and had plenty of storage space and a large bathroom area with large walk in shower. Room was cleaned everyday and towels changed daily too. The beds were very comfortable.

We cannot understand how people on here can complain about the food, they must eat fillet steak at home every day!! The choice of food was exceptional.
Breakfast was served from 7.30 till 10. There was a great choice of cooked food. Bacon to die for, sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, boiled eggs, omelettes, french bread, pancakes, salad and cold meats, cereals and fresh bread, freshly squeezed orange and apple juice. If you fancied a lie in you could have the continental option in
the downstairs resturaunt until 12 or even if you were laying by the pool a mid morning croissant and coffee.
Snacks were also served in here from 12 till 3, Pizzas, Burgers, Hot Dogs, Pasta dishes, salads and fresh bread, tea ,coffee, beer, wine and soft drinks all on tap. Lunch was also available in the main restaurant but we never availed of this option.
There was ample choice again for the evening meal with plenty of variety, lots of starters and mains and deserts. We had trouble sometimes knowing what to take so just tried a bit of everything. Help yourself to Beer and Wine on tap.

Bars

Pool Bar.Lobby Bar and Entertainment Bar. Plenty of different drinks available, vodkas, rum, whisky etc. Lovely cocktails and the bar staff who were excellent had no problem giving you extra vodka or rum in them. Shots, haven't a clue what half them were but they'd blow the head off you, very good. Lovely coffee served in the lobby bar where we would relax after dinner with a coffee and a brandy.

Great location on the beach , was lovely to walk on for miles. Sometimes we'd stop at a we bar and have a beer to cool down. Beer very cheap to buy out about 70p. Obzor is a lovely quiet little town that you can walk about at your leisure without getting hassled by anyone, the locals are real friendly. We went to the House some nights, a bar/restaurant in the square, bar staff very friendly and accommodated us by getting English football to watch.

We went in 2nd week of September and the town was starting to close down for the season so maybe better going at end off August. Overall we had a brilliant holiday and would have no hesitation in going back here again.

Room Tip: 6th floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Robbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 774 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

yet another great holiday 7th year in a row now, great food ,great staff from the manager ( valeri) to the chambermaids.
there is so much choice on the food front from breakfast to dinner there is something for everyone kids never go wanting there's chips,pasta,sausages,burger, pizzas, ice cream, thats the kids taken care of.
full english every day with fresh fried eggs, omelettes, boiled, frittata, bacon,sausages, fresh fried toms,etc,etc.
lunch, a full salad bar and plenty of choice with hot food, same again in the evening, if you are on the late sitting just ask ivo ( head waiter ) to go on the early one esp if you have kids.
the pool is fantastic with the pool bar at your servive 10 till 6pm also a restaurant other side of the pool thats open from 11 till 5pm serving food all day & ice cream pizzas till then plus afternoon snacks.
Go up the town where there are some great bars and restaurants which are cheap and the beers are cheap at about 50 - 60p a pint try the ZAKORKA OR KAMANITZA its a great drink, the town is very safe indeed thet love the english esp the kids.
The beach is great with plenty of water sports to try, with beachbars a plenty.
There is a doctor always on site hopefully you won't need one, there is a shop on site were you get most things you may need, also a hairdressers & nail shop, internet room ( small though about 4 screens).
Any problems & reception will sort them out BILLIE &the team will always sort them out.
Tthe entertainment is poor for the adults its done by the resident tui & riu animation team , but they are good with the kids and younger teenagers,theres a mini disco 6 days a week, bar staff are fantastic.
On arrival at borgas aiport you are greeted by a rep who will direct you to your waiting coach,it takes about 45mins transfer with no stops on the way, you are driven up through the hills which is a bit bendy at times but the drivers know evey inch of the way with great care.we went late august to the first week in september and the weather was fantastic,cold first thing but by 9am it starts to get hot.
hope you have a great time.
mick, linda, sarah,james.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mshergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me and my family really enjoyed this holiday with lovely staff brilliant staff;when we arrived we got drinks and sweets but halfway through this we became ill with sickness and found out that others had been through it too and we were not sure what caused this? but apart from that a lovely time !

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the pool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank keeley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There were 10 of my family on this holiday, we went on the 17th september until 29th september first few day were cool but when it did pick up it was scorching.we had rooms overlooking the pool and the sea,and they gave us three rooms side by side so that was a bonus with the children.The staff were fantastic couldnt do enough for you George and victor did a good job keeping us entertained during the day and the evening and with the other animators put on some very good shows.The food was very good always something to choose from and plenty of it, the service was great especially our waiter called Bobby who made us feel very welcome with his smiley face.My only negative point is as somebody mentioned was that you had to pay extra to keep a room on as our flight didnt go out until 3am and we had to vacate the rooms at 12 noon this cost an extra 90 lev .But a fantastic holiday, fantastic food, fantastic Hotel an all round amazing holiday and we certainly will be returning in the future .

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and the sea are a must we were on the third floor great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lorraine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We came here in July, was so impressed we came back again at the end of September. We were extremely lucky with the weather it turns out, as the week before we arrived it was not so good. Another fantastic holiday Email in advance and we were delighted to get the room right next door to the one we had in July. Room fantastic dont think I have ever been in a hotel with a room this size, again amazing sea and pool views. Food very good although have to say it was a bit better in July. Town was empty alot of the shops were closed, which suited us really, as i dont do shopping!!! I would definatley return to this hotel but i would probably come back end of Aug beginning of Sept. The pool this time was freezing, although i did go in, kinda took your breath away but it was okay after a couple of minutes!! Staff again wonderful, some even remembered us from the last time. Room cleaned every morning to a very, very high standard. Loved the towel art. Oh well here is to next year.

Room Tip: We asked for top floor room, amazing sea/pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Och-I-The-Noo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My friend and I spent a week in the Riu Helios from 17th September. Unfortunately for us the weather was awful for 4.5 of our 7 days. This unfortunately spoiled our holiday as we had looked forward to a lazy poolside week. Our view of the 'football stadium' was a bit grey and bleak but we enjoyed our Sunday live match :-)

I was unimpressed by Obzor. Perhaps because of the weather and the fact that it was the end of the season we didn't see the town at it's best but I found it to be run down with very little to see or do. On a more positive note I have to say that the Riu Helios made the week tolerable. We had a really nice room which surprised me. I had read reviews that said the rooms were a bit dated and needed a refurb. Ours was lovely with a beautiful shower room. It was also spotlessly clean.
Eating was an experience. I wasn't particularly keen on the way the dining room was arranged. 4 tables of two pushed together which meant sharing with other holiday makers. Fortunately we shared with some lovely people. The food was reasonably good. Not as much to choose from as some other 4* hotels but we always found something we liked. Top marks for the Paella, it was fab. The staff in the hotel are lovely, very helpful and friendly and the entertainment crew do a great job. Full credit to them for keeping everyone entertained when it was cold and windy outside. This hotel might not be as 'posh' as some 4* hotels but it's not as expensive either. If you are after a good quaity, value for money hotel with good family fun entertainment try it. PS take your wet suit for the pool.....I have never in my life experienced temperatures that cold outside the freezer and that was when the sun was out!! Nice big pool though and a lovely little one for the kids :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoniaR2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel was fabulous, the food was very good, the drink was lovely, and the staff were outstanding! All the bar staff, and entertainment staff were wonderful and couldn't be any nicer! Definately returning. We went on the 10th of September 2012 and the weather was wonderful but a few shops and bars were closing because the season was ending. Will go a little early next year but there is still plenty to do!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obzor
0.6 mi away
Obzor Beach Resort
Obzor Beach Resort
#5 of 18 in Obzor
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Miramar
Club Hotel Miramar
#4 of 18 in Obzor
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Coral
Hotel Coral
#10 of 18 in Obzor
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paraiso Beach Hotel
Paraiso Beach Hotel
#14 of 18 in Obzor
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Luna Bay
Sol Luna Bay
#2 of 18 in Obzor
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios Bay

Address: Tchernomorska 50 | Obzor - Bulgaria, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Obzor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Obzor
#1 Best Value Hotel in Obzor
#2 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range: $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Helios Bay enjoys a seafront location at the northpart of the beautiful city of Obzor. 5 km-long public beach of fine sand which slopes gently into the sea. Aproximate distances: - 62 km from Burgas airport - 35 km from Sunny Beach Centre. - 1 km from public transport (bus stop) Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Bay Hotel
Riu Helios Bay Obzor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing