We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveler rating
420
231
54
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
420
231
54
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aqua park shuttle bus animation team cuban bar main restaurant for making our holiday self service small water park indoor pool great fun chocolate fountain shallow end water slides lobby bar large hotel sea view family friendly hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 741 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Went in the last week of May in half term, which is the very beginning of the season in this resort, with wife & kids aged 14 & 12. Weather was perfect after a dreadful week of weather before we arrived. Being at the very beginning of the season, many local hotels and shops in Obzor were closed. Let's deal with the good and the not so good:
The good -
Our room was massive and kept scrupulously clean throughout.
The hotel was right on the beach, which is beautiful and sandy, with a sea that you can go really far out before it gets deep.
There are so many sunbeds on the beach and by the pool, so no need to reserve.
The drinks are quite good quality including the wine, which is rare for all inclusive. The queues are not bad.
There are numerous activities throughout the day and good facilities.
The water park was virtually empty and despite only being a few rides, was fun and well supervised.
The staff were very friendly, even if only a few spoke good English.
The not-so-good:
There's nowhere to walk to; no local bars, no local shops, just other hotels. Obzor is a good 20 minutes walk away.
If you're English, you're in a minority of around 5%, so don't expect to socialise much.
The reception is frequently understaffed and can be very slow.
The food is poor. Little choice, poor quality meat. This includes the Italian and Bulgarian resturants.
Bulgaria is good value for money, so your cash goes quite far.

All in all, quite good for the price.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Regulartripper1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear valued guest “Regulartripper1966”,

Many thanks for having written this online review and for having chosen our hotel for your stay as well. We are little bit disappointed to know that not all our products and services met your expectations. Our aim is to have guests who are 100 % satisfied with their stay and will come back and back for more. Therefore, I would like to assure you that we are working hard on improving our product and service and are confident that your next visit to Sol Luna Bay Resort will turn into a fantastic and unforgettable holiday in all aspects.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

This was our second time to Sol Luna Bay. We first visited about 4 years ago.

This visit didn't disappoint.

We booked our flights and the hotel separately rather than using a travel agent. The hotel were very helpful in organising a taxi transfer for us. The hotel is spotlessly clean, inside and house. There are an army of cleaners day and night.

The food was amazing, plenty of choice and really fresh. The salads and puddings especially are incredible!

Although a big hotel, when there it doesn't feel this way because of the personal service the staff provide. Every one, saying hello or smiling. We spent most of our days at the pool which was a little chilly, but once you get moving, it was fine. Our children were very fond of the LifeGuard at the bigger pool who was very friendly and joked around with them. He was very conscientious in looking after both the outdoor and indoor pools.

Our room was immaculate and a daily maid service helped this stay like it during our week.

We had a day out to Obzor the local town which is lovely. We caught the hotel shuttle bus there, but walked along the beach back (which is about a mile).

We really do love this hotel and area and can't wait to book our third visit!

Room tip: Sea view nice, but garden view also good and you get to see the sunsets that side.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mr5G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear valued guests “Mr5G”,

It was a big pleasure for us being your hosts for the second time and we would like to say big fat “thank you” for trusting us and for the nice words about us as well. We can’t wait to welcome you very soon for the third time for another fantastic and unforgettable holiday at Sol Luna Bay Resort.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

As this was a one-week mid-exam chill holiday during school half term, we could only do Saturday to Saturday which limited our flight options somewhat, meaning that we arrived 3.30am on the Saturday - way before the official 2pm check-in time. Although there was no room available as expected, we were allowed the use of the facilities at the hotel. So after a couple of bumpy hours on the sofas in reception, we were able to get morning breakfast and get drinks until our room was available, which was about 10am. A really flexible approach I thought. From there things got better and better!! The room was a very nice large family room facing the sea including a separate bedroom for the children, and it was kept clean throughout our stay. Food was great with lots of options. Drinks were strong and you were able to pour your own beer, wine, juices at the bars which reduced queuing. Loads of sunbeds - you can't reserve anyway but the beach was close so plenty of room. The Animation team was fantastic, particularly Pavel & Mitko - our kids and us were kept entertained throughout the day. The hotel itself was kept clean and the staff did a great job keeping it that way. My only disappointment was having to come home after a week. First time to Bulgaria but we'll definitely be back.

Room tip: Our room was on the top floor (6th) and it was really quiet.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear valued guest “Hallgle”,

We were very delighted to know that you have enjoyed your first visit in our country and that we have succeeded to even exceed your expectations. Thank you so much for the lovely words about us and our product. We would be very happy to welcome you very soon again for another brilliant holiday.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

We visited sol luna bay resort obzor as a quick cheap 1 week holiday it's about an hour from Burgas taxi driver was a nice guy when we checked in we had to wait 45 minutes because our room wasn't ready but when we got in it it was nice massive hotel really nice pool and big point for such a big place the food was excellent I think the only negative we found was there isn't much evening entertainment unless you like a caberet show involving a woman trying to squeeze herself into a very small box very surreal well we took two trips first one to sunny beach which is not as great as people say it's basically loads of tatty shops like Blackpool great if your 20 and want to get drunk or a stag party or hen party and our second trip was to nessebar the UNESCO heritage site which is a few ruins full of tatty shops and our whole experience has been littered with miserable arrogant Bulgarians who simply don't smile overall the hotel is fantastic but bulgaria is not overly welcoming

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank simon12345B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello simon12345B,

thank you very much for being here and recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your life to the full during the summer holiday in our hotel. This is essencial to be able to go home relaxed and satisfied with the hotel`s facilities. At the same time feel sorry for the bad experience with a few bulgarians, who, luckily, do not represent the people as a whole. The arrogance and intolerance aren`t a sign of natioanality but of individual. Anytime you are welcome to be our special guests and if you have any wishes next time please let us know. I wish you till then health and all the best.

Kind regards on behalf of our whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

I will start with the only 2 negative points, the worst was the two electric sockets which were loose in the wall (room 2606), not dangerously so, but something you would expect a top hotel to rectify. Secondly, the info you are given with regard to meal times etc states certain times you can change the beach towels, but it is not clear that these times also apply to picking up a towel for the first time. Previous reviews have mentioned that the food is not always hot, which I suppose is true, however it is very well cooked and very tasty, to my mind (and I am rarely wrong) this is indicative of this type of mass catering, to try to keep the food piping hot would continue to cook the food and spoil it, if you can't deal with warm food go self catering.
We went to this hotel in early May, and the weather was a bit hit and miss, but thanks in no small way to the animation team (special mention to Pavel and Mitko) we still had a very enjoyable holiday. Apart from the aforementioned wall sockets, the hotel is very well maintained and spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and helpfull and the facilities are first class.
My wife and I (put my posh head on for these things) like to go on walks on holiday to counteract all the eating and drinking, the plan was to go into Obzor and Byala, Obzor was not a problem as there are paths that take you all the way and you can walk back along the beach if you dont mind getting wet up to the knees as the beach is breached by a stream which you have to cross, however to get to Byala on foot you have to walk most of the way along the main road which has no paths, we got about halfway before the level of traffic forced us to turn back. With regard to the evening entertainment, there were only 2 shows on our 7 nights (possibly because it was early season) the other nights consisted of a disco, 2 bingo nights, a quiz and thank heaven a karaoke night. The entertainment not laid on by the hotel was provided by dozens of House Martins (originally thought they were Swifts and have see reviews refer to them as Swallows, but on checking they are definitely House Martins) with their virtually non stop aerial acrobatics. We would recommend this hotel, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Room tip: Park view rooms at the back get the sun on the balcony in the evening
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank geordieboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear guest “Geordieboy_9”,

Thank you very much for having been our guests and for rating us almost 5 stars. We were delighted to hear that you have spent an enjoyable vacation with us and can’t wait to see you soon back.
As for the above-mentioned small defects, be sure that we have taken immediate actions to solve the problems.

Have a good summer days and till next time at Sol Luna Bay Resort

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews