We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
372
208
45
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
208
45
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantaqua parkshuttle busanimation teammain restaurantcuban barself serviceindoor poolthree childrenthe main lobby barfor making our holidaysea viewmini bar in the roomlarge hotelcleaning staffgreat funice cream
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 654 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We arrived late at night and there was a buffet that we could help ourselves too which was a nice touch. Our rooms were spacious with a great sea view and always very clean. It was my partners birthday whilst we were there and they left wine and chocolates in the room. The hotel has so much to offer from food to entertainment to shops to watersports. You could never be bored!

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear Madeline F,

we very much appreciate your comment and on behalf of the whole team at Sol Luna Bay Resort i`m saying to you thank you for your stay here. I am very happy for your that you could enjoy all the services and the amenities at the spot. I hope that you will visit us again and would like to share some time and thoughts with you. Stay happy and enjoy your life

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017

I have just returned from this hotel with my hubby and 14 year old son. We arrived on 29th May and they still seemed to be opening everything up. The Cuban bar and waterpark opened on 1st June. The weather was mixed with sun, clouds, thunderstorms and a bit of rain. Ive never been to Bulgaria before so I don't know if thats normal. We had temperatures from 22 degrees to 28 degrees - when its hot its hot!!!

The hotel is on the outskirts of Obzor and is down a track on its own. Its an hour transfer from the airport. Its a big 4 star hotel. Its very well kept and is constantly being cleaned by a large group of staff. All the staff work extremely hard.

The hotel is beachfront and has a large pool leading directly onto the beach where there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The pool gets the sun in the morning as it comes up over the sea but during the day the sun moves over the hotel and it leaves the pool in the shade which makes it feel cold (in June!) There is also a childrens pool and a fab kids play area on the beach. There is also an indoor pool behind the outdoor pool. My son said it was lovely and warm. This pool was very well used on the cloudy days by the young kids. There is a spa and a gym but we didn't use either so I can't comment.

There are snack bars and self serve drinks stations at various places in the grounds. These are open until 5pm. The pool bar stays open until 11pm after 1st June and after 5pm turns into a Cuban bar, playing music and serving fabulous cocktails. This bar got very busy as the lounge bar in the hotel leaves the lights on full at night and plays 'coffee shop' music or no music at all. Not really our cup of tea!

The rooms are big and spacious. We had a sea and pool view and was fab. The only thing I would mention is that the balcony doesn't get any sun as it is built into the hotel and doesn't stick out like usual balconies. I normally sit on the balcony in the morning and evening but as it was shaded this wasn't possible as it made it quite cool. Beds are comfy and you can ask at reception for extra pillows and mattress toppers. The sofa turns into a double sofa bed which my 6ft 2in 14 year old son said it wasn't the most comfy thing he'd ever slept on! The bathroom is large and has a bath and over shower, large sink, toilet and hairdryer. We had constant hot water all week. The safe costs 25 lev for a week which is about £14.

The restaurant is a large bright room. We found the food very mixed and even though it is lovely food most of the items being served didn't really go together. But we still managed to make meals up! Our son loved the hand made pizza! They serve lots of different foods so you should find something to suit unless you are a fussy eater. The puddings are lovely and they serve loads of fresh fruit too.

The waterpark opened while we were there. We only went once. Its been built to the side of the hotel and doesn't have any room for sun loungers, although they have put benches round for you to sit on. It is very well manned by lifeguards. My son went only went on 2 slides as he said the joins on them haven't been smoothed off and he scraped his back on them when he went down. There doesn't seem to be much water flowing down the slides either so I don't know if that made a difference too. It is a nice waterpark but when the hotel is at full capacity it will be heaving!

The beach is very well kept by the staff who go round with rubbish bags picking everything up. Its lovely sand too and you can walk along the seafront into Obzor past all the other hotels. The beach is manned by lifeguards until 6pm and they do their job very well. They blew their whistle on a small boy who was about to go into the sea on his own as they couldn't see his parents. They were only on the beach on a lounger but the lifeguards didn't know that, so I was impressed. The sea is really clear and you can swim in it. There is an area for watersports too which didn't seem to be badly priced. They don't work on Sundays (in June!)

There is a river running at the side of the hotel and there is a floating bridge over it. It is full of wildlife and we loved going here every day 2 or 3 times. We took bread and fed the fish. We also saw frogs, toads, ducks, birds, turtles and even small snakes swimming in the river. Its fab.

Around the hotels are hundreds of housemartins who have built nests on the hotel. They make a fascinating thing to watch as when we were there they were busy building their nests.

There are a few shops in the hotel. Everything is very reasonably priced. There's a general store selling food, snacks drinks and essentials, a toy shop, a jewellery shop, a swimwear shop, a clothes shop and a couple of others.

There's also a pool table and a couple of games machines.

I'm not sure what it will be like in summer but we found the majority of people seemed to be couples with young families under 8 or older people. Our 14 year old son seemed to be in a minority! It is an excellent hotel for young children but not so much for the older ones as there's not enough for them to do.

The animation team are fantastic and work tremendously hard. The evening entertainment is held in the upstairs conference room. There is a self serve bar in there. The best show if the week is the Broadway show which the reps put on. I watched their first performance of it and it is well worth watching. Alot of hard work has gone into it. The disco night seemed to go down well too. The other shows were a bit hit and miss. There is an outdoor stage so I think in the heat of the summer these shows may move outside.

The hotel run a minibus service for 2 lev each way which works out to 90p each. It only goes into Obzor but it gets you out of the hotel and there are some shops and pubs and restaurants.

Wifi seemed to work everywhere around the hotel. Best place was in reception but we could use it in our room too! And its free and you don't need a code to get on.

All in all we had a lovely relaxing week. The weather could have been better (we had 2 fully cloudy days) but we didn't let it ruin our holiday. I wouldn't go back to Obzor as its too quiet for me but if quiet and out of the way is what you want then its for you. The hotel is great and the beach is fantastic.

Room Tip: sea view room high floor - we had floor 5 (theres 6)
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank parkhousetotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Good day dear parkhousetotty,

WOW what else could I amend :) the comment above is one of the most complete description of a guest. On behalf of the whole team i feel obligated to thank you so much for choosing our place for your holiday. I am happy to read that you spent nice and lovely time despite the lack of entertainment in Obzor town. At the same time i am very sorry to hear that your son felt a little bit bored. The animation team offers every day diffrent sport attractions, but may be this is not his kind of amusement or there were not so many guest at the same age as he is. At this time all the shows are playing on the opened stage. Regarding the slides we are very sorry for this inconvinience. The Aqua park is very busy every day and there aren`t other complaints about this. However we gonna check the slides to make sure that it is not a permanent matter but once in a time.
At the end I would like to invite you to Bulgaria to come again and visit us, in case that you change your mind we would be happy to serve you again. Stay happy and in a good health

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We stayed for 11 nights. Hotel is 1hr 20 from bourgos airport quite remote location so if your looking for places to walk too only place is obzor 25 minute walk lovely place but small. Shuttle bus from hotel is 2 less each way. The hotel is a nice place to relax so if it's beach and relax then this is the place. Food was really nice but please note a lot of the hotel restaurants snack bars and water slides don't open till 1st June. Rooms are off a good size. The one we had bath with shower above and a hairdryer. Mini bar in the room chargeable. Main bar ok when hotel quiet but queues at night once busy. Hotel is ideal for family's . Must admit there wasn't many English at the hotel. Mainly German, Dutch . The bar closes at 11 pm on the dot and staff disappear first time I've known this but to be fair was enough. Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Catherinemcd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Catherine M,

I`m glad to read that you are satisfied with your stay at our Hotel Sol Luna Bay Resort and I say thank you very much for giving your feedback thus we are very happy to serve you again. The hotel is indeed very customer friendly especially for families with children from all over the world because of the good location (far from the city and traffic) and the animation team. Regarding the opening of our Aquapark is from 1st June till 15th September due to the weather conditions. Only the both thematic restaurants open by and by in May which is announced in the travel agency catalogs. I really hope that this matter didn`t bother your holiday. I wish you all the best and hope to see you again at our sunny spot at Black Sea coast

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017

This is very much a family holiday.It has a water park for the kids, 2 pools and is on the beach. You will have to fight for a sunbed though and they are side by side both by the pool and on the beach. By about 4pm the pool was in the shade though so you had to go to the beach for sun.
Room was nice. Food good, plenty of choice. Entertainment every night.
There are a few shops in the hotel but town is a walkable distance along the beach or a short bus ride (really cheap) from the hotel door. Loads to do in town. Lots of souvenir shops and restaurants and bars. There is a fun fair on the beach there too.
If you don't mind the 'sardine' sunbeds and the shade in the afternoon it is a great family holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kerryleigh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Kerryleigh1965,

at first I say thank you very much on behalf of our big team for spending your holiday at Sol Luna Bay Resort and writing positive comment at tripadvisor. Seems like you still haven`t forgotten the holiday here and maybe at this moment you wish to be here :) Be welcome at our spot at any time you want. Indeed if the guests want the best place on the pool or at the beach they have to come earlier in the morning and stay there, because reservations are not allowed. Otherwise we can`t assure first line. Regarding the nice comparison with sardine :) this is because the families with more than 2 members are pulling sunbeds spending the time together under one parasol. However we hope to see you soon again and to offer you qualitative facilities

Best regards from the sunny Black Sea coast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile

What more could I possibly say except how lovely this 1 week holiday was..it came up to every expectation and I have got to say I couldn't fault it..
The hotel is spotless..the staff are so friendly..entertainment team was the best yet.we had so much fun with them..
The food and drink was as good as it gets ..the area hasn't got a lot around it but this is the norm on all inc holiday resorts..The walk along the beach was beatifull and we got to nice villages on both sides..don't get caught out with the tide if you go left to the fishing harbour as there is a narrow section to go along..We would certainly return at the drop of an hat..

WELL DONE GUYS AND THANK FOR HEAVEN. ONWARDS AND UPWARDS.
STUART AND ANDREA..

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dennisa1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonia R, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Luna Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

Hallo Dennisa1342,

thank you very much for leaving good comments for us. It is very delightful to hear that you had such a relaxed holiday and enjoyed the facilities and the stay here. The very special thing on our spot is that we are quiet away from the croud in the city which make us calm and relaxed. I am very happy that you discovered the beautiful nature spots on the cost and hope that we shall meet you here again. We are gonna try to keep same level and to deliver special moments to our guests. Stay cool and healthy and please give us 1 like on facebook

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews