We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Luna Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Luna Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Obzor
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel between the 7th July - 14th July, 2011 with my family of four. First we went to another one (almost the same price and 4 stars too) but given the circumstances at that hotel we had to leave. After the many bad experiences we did not even dream about having such a lovely holiday at Sol Luna Bay Resort. Luckily we were wrong.
We had the feeling that every member of the staff is awaiting our questions and requests which they always perfectly fulfilled. Everybody speaks English there, even the cleaning ladies smile at you at the corridor. They have a perfectly clean private beach with lots of sunbeds and umbrellas just like at the outside pools. Sea view was excellent from the 6th floor and so were all the facilities. Food is not only various and delicious but they also make always sure that there is not even a drop of water at the food containers.
The only bad point is the location but I guess it is not very much possible to have a huge private beach and also be close to the city centre. So if you want to take a rest and you're not that curious about visiting cities this time, I highly recommend this hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GergelyLukacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    185
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
322
148
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Sol Luna Bay and were very impressed.

HOTEL: The hotel is a large hotel, rated 4 stars which has only been open for 2 years. The public areas were spacious, well decorated and immaculately clean. Most of the clientele were German, Polish, Russian and Romanian. As far as we can tell we were the only Brits which we didn't mind at all.

English is spoken by all the staff and all the signs are in English.

LOCATION:It is situated on the beach about a mile from Obzor. (It is so new it still doesn't appear on Google maps) The location does mean that to see anything other than the hotel you have to walk up the beach to Obzor (negotiating a river crossing) hiring a taxi (10 Leva) or waiting for the shuttle bus (2 Leva each)

There is a little to do in Obzor, with a few hotels, some cafe-bars and a night club. This is not a holiday for those seeking rowdy nightlife, which is good for those of us who want to chill. There is a bus station in Obzor with regular buses to Sunny Beach, Nessebar and Varna.

ROOMS: The room was spacious and well decorated with a large well appointed bathroom. All rooms have a balcony and most have a sea view.

FOOD: The quality of the food was excellent. The buffets were regularly replenished and plates cleared quickly. The choice of main courses, however, was pretty samey each night. A variation on a beef, pork or chicken dish, fish and a choice of potatoes. Nothing wrong with any of it, always well cooked and of course with a huge choice of salads etc. The desserts varied each night and were all very good.

Breakfasts were excellent with the usual local variations on bacon, eggs etc with a pancake and ommelette chef on hand. Lots of continental stuff too and one or two things that you wouldn't normally see, like pasta for breakfast. Lunches gave a choice of a hot dish, pizza, pasta and lots of salads.

The only real disappointment in the restaurant was the coffee which was from a Nescafe machine.

SERVICE: Five star service. Extremely helpful staff everywhere, especially Dmitar behind the bar and everyone at reception. Nothing was a problem and always with a smile. The rooms were cleaned fanatically and everywhere you went someone was brushing, polishing or cleaning.

All in all, a great place to relax by the beach, experience great, friendly service and enjoy good food.

One last tip, although there are signs saying the reservation of sun loungers is forbidden, you will need to get up early and put your towel down.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

fantastic hotel clean nice food weather great location close to shops but have a taxi no problems

Room Tip: all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank humphries18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

I went to Sol Luna Bay last June with my boyfriend. It was one of my favourite holidays ever. The staff were very helpful and friendly even when we got there at 2am! Everyone was polite and friendly. The maids were fantastic (they made our new towels in to swans)
The food was a buffet service and was of very high quality. There was plenty of choice and a good variety everyday. In the all inclusive deal we also had ice cream free from the pool bar which was much appreciated. Cocktails were not free but were extremely cheap (about (1.50) and were delicious but very strong!
The animation team were brilliant. They encouraged us to get involved with activities that I wouldn't normally do but I absolutely enjoyed. My boyfriend played water polo every day and football on the beach which was a great way to meet people. The night entertainment was very child-focused but we were more than happy sitting at the bar or walking on the beach during the night times. There is also a games room with a pool table and ping pong to keep you amused.
The beach is directly next to the hotel and is sectioned off strictly for hotel users which is great. There are water activities such as banana boating, wind surfing and pedalos at very reasonable prices. We never struggled to get a sunbed. Overall the Hotel was absolutely brilliant and I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kirstyboswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Just come back from 10 days at the Sol Luna Bay - Great hotel but its literally in the middle of nowhere and would strongly advise young English people to go to the Sunny Beach area if they like anything remotely English i.e. to get an English paper or to watch any english tv/sport. Their are tvs in rooms but only english channel is news in Russian. The Hotel is massively occupied by very loud Germans who sing in the hotel bar every night making it impossible to even hear yourself think. Food very good and the hotel its self is huge but with very little to do other than swim in the pool and lay out in the sun. There is no tennis/squash courts. Obzor itself was shutting down and is an old village again with little to do and see.... My partner and I did the hour treck most days to Sunny Beach for something to do.... I would recommend this hotel to people wanting to literally eat and sit by the pool or on the lovely beach (which was in immediate proximity) and thats all. To sumarise I read everything I could get my hands on and am now concidering writing my own noval!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jönköping
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

The hotel was great. Nice rooms with spectacular view over the Black sea. The food was great and there was always something for everyone. A lot of choices at every meal. Some of the sunchairs on the beach was for free but some of them cost money. We stayed at the poolarea and when we wanted to swim in the sea we walked the few meters to the sea. Every evening they had performances and we beleive that they were quite skilled but no professionals. It was nice to see. The poolareas were very clean and it was great that they had an indoor pool that was higher temperature in. The city of Obzor was worth one visit to buy some clothes. It was possible to make a deal but only 10% discount. It was possible to walk along the beach to Obzor without problem. (Perhaps you have to go through some water but that was not a problem). There is some small shops at the hotel for snacks and water if you dont want to fill your waterbottles in the bar (It was not allowed but its possible). Everything is very clean and the rooms are bigger than ordinary doublerooms and the personel is very professional. We recommend this hotel for everyone that wants a peaceful and quiet vacation. If you are searching for party in september you should choose another area for example Sunny Beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
5 Thank benarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Me and two friends stayed her for a week in September 2009. The hotel was the last stop on the airport transfer and was the last hotel along the beach. We were told that it was a brand new hotel and had only been opened for a few months.

The room was quite good and spacious with a large balcony. There are two pools, one is a kids pool. The only thing with the pool area is that the hotel blocked the sun towards the end of the day so from about 2 or 3 o'clock, everyone moves to one corner of the pool. You can literally spit from your balcony onto the beach, it's that close. So you can always lie on the beach for the day.

There is a wide variety of food available however the hotel cater largely for Germans (a lot of Germans go to this hotel) so it may not be to everyones taste. The deserts however are amazing and they always look so nice.

Obzor village is about a 20 minute walk along the beach however it is very quiet with little to do. The rep organised a taxi to take us to Sunny Beach for the night which cost 110 Lev (around £45). It took about an hour by taxi as the only road to get there is to go up the mountain and back down.

A good night out would be to go to Khan's Tent, which can be organised by the rep at the hotel.

The animation team were entertaining and tried their best to get people to join in however they sang and danced to the same song 3 times every day which became annoying.

The staff were friendly however they automatically speak to you in German, even when you speak to them in English first!

It's a good hotel however very quiet area. I would recommend this hotel however I would not go back to Obzor again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obzor
1.4 mi away
Club Hotel Miramar
Club Hotel Miramar
#3 of 17 in Obzor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Obzor Beach Resort
Obzor Beach Resort
#5 of 17 in Obzor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Coral
Hotel Coral
#10 of 17 in Obzor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sol Nessebar Bay
Sol Nessebar Bay
#3 of 35 in Nessebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Luna Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Luna Bay

Property: Sol Luna Bay
Address: Byala-Obzor Beach | postal address: Zona za otdih 9101 Byala, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Obzor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Obzor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Obzor
#3 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Luna Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Overlooking the Black Sea and boasting magnificent views, Sol Luna Bay Resort is located directly on the fine, sandy beach, amidst unspoiled natural beauty of both mountain and sea. This luxurious resort offers high quality accommodation for leisure guests in a unique vacation destination. The secluded holiday complex is very attractive for strolls along the picturesque coast and for water sports practicing. It is located 60 minutes away from Varna and Bourgaus airports and only 10 minutes away from the nearby towns Byala and Obzor. The accommodation units are situated in two buildings located 100 m away from each other. Both buildings are connected by a bridge floating over a small river. Each building is provided with a reception desk and a parking lot. Covered parking area is avilable only in one of the buildings. Rooms: Sol Luna Bay Resort offers 526 spacious and tastefully decorated rooms where you can experience full comfort and relaxation. There аrе two main types of accommodation units available: double rooms and family suites. Both hotel buildings offer this types of units and the bookings are allocated deppending on the requested type of view and hotel's avialability. Services and facilities: All resort's guests are using the facilities of the two hotel buildings without limits. Restaurants, pools and beach with free of charge sun beds and umbrellas are situated infront of one of the buildings. Bars serving snacks and beverages are available in both buildings. Free of charge services and facilities: • Outdoor and indoor swimming pools • Parasols and sun lounges by the pools and on the beach in front of one of the hotel's buildings (upon availability) • Wi-Fi Internet access in the hotel lobby and in the hotel rooms facing the sea • Fitness center • Sports activities (aerobics, table tennis, beach volleyball, beach tennis, darts, shooting area) • Daytime and evening entertainment programme • Free access to the Aquapark, from 01 June till 15 Sept., According hotel's time table, depending on weather conditions Services and facilities charged extra: • SPA Center - sauna, masssages and beauty treatments • Billiards and bicycles to rent • Water sports on the beach • Laundry service • Patrolled parking • Shuttle service to/from Obzor and Byala • Internet corner Other facilities: • Minimarket • Souvenirs and beach accessories shops • Exchange desk • Hairdresser, manicure, pedicure. The complex offers plenty of additional services designed especially for family needs to ensure comfortable and pleasant stay for each of your family members: • Separate children's pool and playground • Kids' entertainment center (4-12 years) with special program, mini disco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sol Luna Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Luna Bay Hotel Obzor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing