We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location to explore Nature Park "Hoge Kempen" & visit open air museum Bokrijk & cities like Hasselt, Aachen, etc...”
Review of Hotel Mardaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mardaga
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in As
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best location to explore Nature Park "Hoge Kempen" & visit open air museum Bokrijk & cities like Hasselt, Aachen, etc...”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed for a week in this hotel and started from here different walks in the National nature park "Hoge Kempen", which was really a treasure we discovered in Belgium, Flanders. With good footpath indications and wonderful nature !
Also good base to visit the cities of Hasselt, Aachen, Sittard, Maaseik and of course the wonderful open air museum of Bokrijk.
The Hotel is very nice and staff is very helpful and friendly. The public places in the hotel have a special but tasteful design. The room was OK but a little bit in contrast with the rest of the hotel decorated (no design).
Breakfast is extended with a lot of choices like cheese, salmon, bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit juices (not fresh made), bread, ... and always a bottle of "bubbles" (Proseco) present.
The beds were very, very comfortable ! the room clean, nothing to remark.
One negative point is the rather expensive consumption prices for dinner and drinks. But there are good alternatives in the neighbourhood (ask information at the tourist information across the street).
Positive is that we could stall our bikes in a locked garage on-site and last but not least we have to mention the wonderful ample garden around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luc_demunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mardaga, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay in our hotel.
We really appreciate it. With Different regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    39
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
74
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

First let me say the staff were helpful and polite. The room(4) was a good size and very clean but the bathroom was bigger, never had such a large bathroom.This room over looks the road and can be noisy. There were no tea and coffee facilities in my room and Breakfast cost an additional 19 euro's P.P(no wonder they call you in the morning to see if you want it) which i thought was expensive but not as expensive as having a drink 7.5 euro for a draft beer. All in all not a bad place to stay but a bit too far out of Genk .

Room Tip: if you want a quiet nights sleep ask for rooms on top floor away from road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Something of a hidden gem - you'd never stumble across it. An 18-room hotel set against a main road but with extensive gardens and a "destination" restaurant. Friendly staff (family-run style - but very professional). Very good buffet breakfast. Attentive cleaners. Would come again, and stay longer!

Room Tip: Back of the building - roadside is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed only one night in this nice hotel.It has a very good location,situated perfectly for a good walk or bicycle ride.Beautiful garden and very helpfull reception staff.

The food they serve in the restaurant is sublime.Drinks are a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boneyardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near As
4.4 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel ECU - Different Hotels
5.4 mi away
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
3.2 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#4 of 11 in Genk
268 reviews
5.0 mi away
M Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mardaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mardaga

Property: Hotel Mardaga
Address: Stationsstraat 121, As 3665, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > As
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in As
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mardaga 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mardaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing