We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better marketing than performance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had high expectations based on the website as well as other travelers' feedback, but we were not entirely satisfied.
On the positive side, we were happy with the staff' friendliness and there services. Also the restaurant is great: dinner is good with a fixed menu per evening, but 2 or 3 options for starter and main course. They also have a nice wine selection with a variety of Austrian and international wines at reasonable prices. breakfast buffet is good, although not everything was refilled (we missed some fresh fruit). In the afternoon they serve various cakes: excellent!
The wellness facilities are also great: sauna, swimming pool, massage, relax room, and a small gym, all well fitted out.
But we were mixed about the rooms and were not happy with the street noise. The hotel is located along the main road into the Stubai glacier and there is continuous traffic from early morning to late night. Although all streetside rooms do have a splendid view on the mountains and the Stubai glacier, they also are noisy, especially when you sleep with open window. And that is the only option to have some fresh air, as there is no airco nor ventilation system, not even in the bathroom.

Some rooms are really up to renovation, especially the bathrooms. We booked a double room DeLuxe, but were upgraded to a family suite on the first floor, right above the entrance. The room was spacy, with a separate bedroom, living room and kitchen, but we would not use all of that. More importantly, the living room and kitchen were very dark and old fashioned and the bathroom was outdated as well, in need for some repair. We tried to get another room, but that was only possible after our first night. We were moved to a double on the 3rd floor, which was renovated and as such much better. Nevertheless, showering was requiring some acrobatic skills when over 1.70 meter! The bath tub was located under the sloping roof with the roof beam in the middle of the bath at 1.70 meter high. So if you are longer, you cannot shower unless bent down.

We spent some 4 fantastic days in the Stubai valley, thanks to the great weather and stunning scenery. We will return, but prefer the Jagdhof hotel, despite its higher costs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Der Stubaierhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 225 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

After spending numerous ski holidays in the Stubai valley over a 25-year period, we chose to spend two weeks at Easter 2012 at the Hotel Stubaierhof in Neustift. The friendly professionalism of the hotel staff was immediately apparent in a fast and beautifully presented quote in response to our initial e-mail enquiry. This was followed up by a birthday gift token for hotel treatments. Attention to detail and a genuine interest in guest satisfaction continued to be shown throughout our stay in everything from the airport pickup by hotel minibus, a lovely welcome (including a cocktail on the sunny terrace!), the immaculately clean rooms, right through to helpful advice on the right wine to accompany the first-class dinner menu.

We paid a supplement for two of us to occupy a four-person Fuxhof apartment. The five-minute walk from the Fuxhof to the hotel (along a quiet back road) is worthwhile for those who like plenty of space and a kitchen for an early morning cup of tea or chilled après-ski beer on the balcony. A large local supermarket is a two-minute walk away, stocking a full range of toiletries as well as a good selection of drinks and food (including a fresh bakery section). Our accommodation consisted of a large lounge/dining area, fully-equipped kitchen (cooker, microwave and dishwasher), a spacious bathroom and separate bedroom – all of which were cleaned on a daily basis to a very high standard, with constant fresh towels and bed linen. There was a large amount of wardrobe, cupboard and other storage space. There was no washing machine in the apartment, but the hotel provided a very fast and inexpensive laundry service (beautifully ironed shirts and ski socks).

The hotel half-board included on the price was real value for money. The breakfast buffet included fresh raspberries, strawberries and other fruit every day, as well as the usual excellent muesli, cold meats and cheeses, cakes and pastries, hot eggs and bacon. As soon as we appeared each morning, the friendly waitresses rushed to serve us with a large pot of good coffee and hot milk. A free afternoon cake buffet is provided (the best apple strudel have eaten in many years and luscious chocolate cake). The four-course dinner (plus a salad buffet to start and cheese to finish) was a real highlight of each day. Fish and a vegetarian option were offered as main course choices each evening and all the courses were beautifully presented and served. On a number of evenings during our stay we enjoyed either a starter or dessert buffet, a main course “Farmers’ Buffet” (perfectly cooked roast lamb and other tender meats in sauces), and a Gala Dinner with a cocktail reception featuring a harpist from Innsbruck.

We made full use of the spa facilities at the hotel (a bag containing towelling gowns, slippers and spa towels was provided in our room), which lead out to a sun terrace in the pretty garden. The spa appears very new and features a beautiful indoor pool, and both beauty and massage services (the full body massage was good value). The peaceful relaxation room contains not only the usual loungers, but also a row of wooden beds (complete with pillows and cosy blankets) which look as though they have just been vacated by the three bears!

The Elfer lift station and the ski bus stops to Schlick 2000 and the Stubai Glacier are a short, level walk from the accommodation (this proves we did actually ski, in addition to all that eating and lounging in the spa!). The hotel will arrange for your passes in advance (a Super Ski Pass covers all three local ski arenas).

On leaving at the end of our stay, we were delighted to be presented with the gift of a jar containing hay from the family wild flower meadow to enable us to continue the revitalisation experience.

The decision to immediately book the Stubaierhof for Easter 2013 was clearly the right one, as two weeks after our return we received a parcel from the hotel. This contained a book which we had left behind in the apartment - customer service at its very best!

Room Tip: Choose a room with glacier views for a sunny balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IGETAROUND42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I went to Stubai for two days adjacent to a meeting in Innsbruck. Most lodging in Stubai was more costly than we could afford, and so I chose Hotel Berghof based on price. It was so amazing - dinner and breakfast were included, as was a magnificent spa experience. The room was very large by even American standards. Our view of the mountains was magnificent! We will definitely be back to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of the generous and cheerful staff!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a fine, 4 star family run hotel, in the typical Austrian style. We stayed (2 adults and 2 small children) for a week over the Christmas and New Year's holiday, and were pleased by the both the hospitality and amenities. In our view, the hotel earned its 4 stars, and based on our comparison to other hotels in Neustift, certainly ranks in the top 2 or 3 establishments in town.

The Hotel: Charming common areas, very clean, updated, NOT smoky or tattered. The Spa is nicely appointed and fitness facilities more than adequate for a long holiday stay.

The Room: We had a large, properly appointed 2BR suite that was quiet, had lovely views of the mountains, and plenty of living space. Housekeeping was a little spotty, but nothing that detracted from the efforts to keep the room in top condition.

The Dining: Food was very good, and consistently so. Service was attentive, and delivered with a nice blend of Tyrolean professionalism and charm.

Management: Always visible, always willing to engage the guests. While the hotel caters predominantly to the German market, If anyone is concerned that there is an indifference to English speaking guests, they should not be. They were genuine in their hospitality and i their efforts to make sure that our stay was a great one.

Location: 30 meters from the ski bus stop. It is also a 4 minute walk into town and the shops, skating rink, grocery store (Waitrose type), etc. It is also across the street from, and a 3 minute walk to, the Elfer ski lift. The drive from Innsbruck airport to the hotel (courtesy of the hotel, by the way for a small fee that was less expensive than a taxi), was only 20-25 minutes.

Overall: NO hesitation to recommend the Hotel Stubaierhof for a pleasant and quality stay in Neustift. For the cost of the trip, I think we received very good value. In winter, the skiing is abundant, notwithstanding the inconvenience of taking the ski bus to the Glacier or the Schlick, (no fault of the hotel, of course, as there really is no ski in/ski out in Neustit). I also imagine in summer that this is probably a terrific place to be given the plethora of hiking and mountain biking trails. (The cross country skiers were clearly enjoying the miles and miles of trails)! If you are looking for a family friendly blend of charm and luxury in Neustift, then the Stubaierhof is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RW-GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Me and my wife spent a lovely WE in this escellent hotel, beautiful SPA and a excellent dinner.
The owner ( faminly) is kindly and the rate is very good! We will be back as soon as possible and we strongly recomend this hotel to couple and family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hotel is very well kept, staff is extremely friendly and ready to help you with any requests you might need. 1 week before my stay I received an email asking if I would have any specific wish, if I did they would be glad to take care of it.... How nice is that?
I asked for a couple skipasses which were waiting for me on my arrival. If you are skiing, the ski bus stops 20m from the hotel entrance, so it is better than going uphill with your car... And the good thing is, it's free.
Pool and sauna are really nice, perfect for relaxation after skiing the whole day. The only thing I would complain are pillows, which follow the weird pattern of 80x80 common in germany and austria. I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_cps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Excellent service, friendly staff and a welcome you only wish other hotels would offer! Ok, it's not a cheap holiday but the facilities are first class.
From the Wellness Centre, with swimming pool, sauna, hot & cold therapy pools and a massage area, to the hotel rooms, these are the best bits. The centre is only a few years old and is kept to an immaculate standard. It looks and feels inviting and allows one the opportunity of unwinding the body after skiing all day at either one of the local ski areas (Schlick 2000 or on the Stubai glacier). It can get a little busy at peak times but adults can find quieter areas to relax in.
The rooms are, in my experience, well appointed and spacious. They are cleaned daily and always to an acceptable standard. The bed linen and towels are always fresh and feel clean and are replaced upon request.
Food at the hotel is a strong point for me. There is a good choice on the menu, with options for smaller children. To be honest, I think that the staff will try to cater for the kids, not matter what they ask for - provided it's within reason!
As for location, Neustift sits about 10mins away from the small ski resort of Schlick 2000 (or Fulpmes) or about 20 mins away from the snow guaranteed Stubai glacier. Both are good ski regions for beginners and intermediate skiers. Advanced or more adventurous skiers may need to rely on good snow conditions and explore off-piste to make the most of their holiday, however, this didn't stop me and my 9yr old having a great time at both locations. You will need to get on the local buses to reach either destination, which can be a pain, but time it right, and with the bus stops just outside the hotel, I didn't find it a real problem. Also, the hotel seemed really popular with langluf skiers, walkers and other sports enthusiasts, so I'm guessing it is a good base for general mountain activities.
Finally, there will inevitably be something that niggles. But, I can honestly say that the only annoying thing I found was the emptying of bins, which commenced at 06:00, or the draymen delivering fresh beer kegs at about the same time. So, if that's all I can grumble about, then I am pretty impressed!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizBon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neustift im Stubaital hotels
0.1 mi away
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
#4 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpeiner-Nature Resort Tirol
Alpeiner-Nature Resort Tirol
#7 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Kindl
Alpenhotel Kindl
#10 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jagdhof
Hotel Jagdhof
#3 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
#6 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forster's Naturresort
Forster's Naturresort
#1 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Stubaierhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Stubaierhof

Address: Stubaitalstrasse 64, Neustift im Stubaital 6167, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Neustift im Stubaital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#4 Romantic Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#4 Spa Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#5 Luxury Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#7 Family Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
Price Range: $181 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Der Stubaierhof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wait for that much-needed break is finally over!At least you can recharge your batteries and submerge yourself in the wonderful mountain world of the Stubai valley. The Hotel Stubaierhof Neustift offers the perfect mix of down-to-earth originality, Tyrolean tradition and modern practicality.Numerous additions and modernisations have been put in place to guarantee you unforgettable holidays here at the Stubaierhof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Der Stubaierhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stubaierhof Neustift Im Stubaital
Hotel Der Stubaierhof Austria/Neustift Im Stubaital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing