We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpenhotel Fernau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhotel Fernau
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We spent the second week of our 2-centre Austrian holiday here in Neustift. Expecting the usual excellent standard of 4* Austrian hotels, we were disappointed to find ourselves in a small, cramped, dingy room with a 'minimalist' (size, that is!) bathroom/shower. The overwhelming impression was of dark brown and muddy yellow - and that included the bathroom, where fluorescent strip lighting was used. (Other guests felt the same way and several intended to make a formal complaint to their travel company). We did have a decent-sized balcony and the food was very good - plentiful with good choice and of a good standard. The hotel's bar, lounge and dining room were OK, but tired-looking. May be other rooms, perhaps facing the garden at the back, would have been very different but all in all, choose another hotel for your stay in Neustift.

Room Tip: Try a room facing over the garden at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pennyamraoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    24
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Not as great as some of the reviews here. Reasonable food, limited wine list. Typical Austrian hotel: far too many courses, anything left over one night will be used the next. Rooms on road side are noisy, bathrooms old fashioned (shower went hot and cold, very difficult to adjust, bath plug leaked so no long hot baths).

Good facilities - tennis courts absolutely wonderful - best views ever. Outdoor chess a nice touch. But lack of indoor swimming pool a definite negative - outdoors one cold and only usable on warm days.

Barman has a great gift for walking straight past you when you are desperate for a drink. (Though there is a plus side to this - our bar bill for two weeks was only 200 Euros compared to 400 in the Hotel Post in St Anton last year, where the barman was wonderfully professional and attentive).)

Very good walk organised by hotel each week with delightful guide.

Neustift itself is lively and the Stubai Valley itself is wonderful for walking - our third visit there and still discovering new treasures. If only you could take the Hotel Post and plonk it in Neustift... Far better food, fabulous wine list, more attentive staff, and modern rooms with enormous bathrooms

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aletheia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were here for 1 night. After looking at a couple of hotels, we think this is one of the better ones in Neustift. The Fernau is ~10mins walk from the village centre, which is good as it is quieter. We got a room facing the pool with great views of the Stubaier Alps. There is a fully functioning spa facility downstairs (sauna, steam, turkish bath, whirlpool). We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both were excellent. The breakfast buffet was particularly scrumptious with a great selection of continental and cooked breakfast. There were a few letdowns which we typically would not expect of a 4* hotel -- no tea / coffee making facility in the room, no room service and no lunch service at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ucelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed for one week, experiencing heavy rain, new snow at higher levels on midsummer's day, and warm sunshine; true variety of weather, but consistently friendly, impeccable service from all hotel staff. Our room was on a corner, with a wrap around balcony, deep enough to be sheltered from rain etc, and relaxing chairs provided for contemplating the stunning view up the valley to the Stubai Glacier. Crisp bedding, comfy mattresses, settee, immaculate ensuite with good shower; we loved our room. We learned to follow our comprehensive breakfast, which included hot choices, with assembling a packed lunch using the wrappings provided. The evening meals were plentiful, (I sometimes asked for half portions), very varied, and of the highest standard. The barbecue was pure celebration, with a stunning variety of foods.
The walk along the river into Neustift is easy and scenic, but the buses, in each direction stop near the hotel. The hotel has charming grounds, with an immaculately kept pool and loungers. Each afternoon there is a cake bar to tempt you. We felt looked after, but not fussed over, and will definitely be returning for the peace, scenery, comfort and wonderful food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking up to the Stubai glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

Marvelous location in the Suibital 15 min walk from neustift town centre which has banks, super markets, chemist etc and the elf lift that takes you up to a stunning circular walk to karimalm. The hotel is unbelievably charming and the food exceptionally good including the free afternoon cakes. If you stay here another exceptional walk is via the punctual local bus service to the stop before the glacier and walk up to the blue lake. If you are actively walking the 5 day stubai card is good value,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mostly_b9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the end of June. What a fabulous hotel. Our friends room wasn't what they wanted and the lady on reception went out of her way to find a room suitable for them! The food was fantastic, the staff couldn't do enough to please you! The views from the hotel are amazing! It was the first time that we'd stayed at this hotel and will certainly be back next year! As for the walking, that's also brilliant, the Stubai valley is a beautiful part of Austria!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkiegirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was our second trip to Fernau and we were not disappointed. On the contrary, it was even better than we remembered. The wild deer was still grazing in the alpine meadow across the road from the hotel, the birds were still in full song and the welcoming family atmosphere in the hotel still pervades every ounce of the stay. All of this despite a rather shaky start with the weather (snow in June!) but what better place to be on a bitterly cold day than snuggled up in the alpine chalet style rooms! As the week progressed and the weather got better the full glory of the views became evident once again. Sitting on the balcony in the evening watching the sun set over the Stubai glaciar or strolling by the river that is but a one minute walk from the hotel felt perfectly heavenly. It felt all the better of course because of being completely sated by the five course gourmet meal that awaited us every evening! After only two visits Fernau and Neustift feels like a home away from home. We hope we'll be lucky enough to be able to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrainneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neustift im Stubaital hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
#5 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
#7 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenhotel Kindl
Alpenhotel Kindl
#11 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
#8 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Bergjuwel
B&B Hotel Bergjuwel
#24 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jagdhof
Hotel Jagdhof
#3 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Fernau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Fernau

Property: Alpenhotel Fernau
Address: Scheibe 66, Neustift im Stubaital 6167, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Neustift im Stubaital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#15 Luxury Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#16 Romantic Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenhotel Fernau 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenhotel Fernau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Fernau Hotel Neustift Im Stubaital
Alpenhotel Fernau Austria/Neustift Im Stubaital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing