We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the best value for money for any backpacker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is the best value for money for any backpacker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

This spot doesn't look great from the outside but appearances can be deceiving. It is excellent value for money- $20 for a double room including breakfast! It's spotless. The owner is enthusiastic and unrelenting in his help. There are hot showers and 2 computers with free high speed internet access. The (free) breakfast was granola and milk, fresh fruit and toast, eggs and coffee! Hard to beat for a backpacker

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkcam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    86
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
92
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The owner and his wife are so friendly and very honest- we booked a tour through them but they don't make any money on it and all their advice on what to not waste money on was very helpful. Our room was amazingly clean, and the breakfast each morning was great- coffee, toast, eggs, fresh fruit & granola!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Sleepers is a high-value option in Monteverde. We stayed for 3 nights in a private double room with bathroom. Ronnie, the owner, was extremely helpful over email in the months leading up to our trip, and the woman at the desk helped us plan out our jam-packed time in town. There is also free Internet, which was helpful.

The location is a good jumping-off point for all the activities in Santa Elena/Monteverde. Rooms are simple (we had an amazing view--and a Tweety Bird comforter), and the breakfast is nice (coffee, cereal, fruit). This place isn't fancy, and it isn't the best hostel we've ever stayed in, but it seemed like the best of those we saw in town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

I usually don't write reviews, but deemed it necessary to write about my experience at Sleepers Sleep Cheaper. I traveled with a group of 6 women. The owner and his wife were OUTSTANDING. I had to fax information to the U.S. and they made sure that since I couldn't fax, I was able to scan it and resolve my issue. They were nothing but helpful with giving recommendations and suggestions for travel in Monteverde and Costa Rica in general. The hostel was comfortable enough for the money you pay. It helps to keep in mind that you get what you pay for so it's definitely not a luxury place, if that's what you're looking for. Our bedroom view was spectacular. The location was walking distance from the center of town so we could walk to dining areas or even buy groceries to cook in hostel. The little kids are adorable and will play with you if you lend a friendly hand. If you don't like children, don't worry they won't be a bother either. I loved my stay at Sleepers and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is great for backpackers and travelers who are looking for someplace cheap to stay in Monteverde. It isn't as much a hotel as a hostel and has a fully functional kitchen with breakfast, clean rooms and baths and computer and internet access for free. The price is the best I have seen in Monteverde (at about $7 per person per night in the dorm rooms). I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed in a private double room with private bathroom.
Good points:
- Very good value for money
- Ronnie the owner has excellent knowledge of all the tours, tourist attractions and travel around the area. He will generally ask what information you would like when you check-in.
- Bedroom and bathroom were clean
- Hot water in shower permanently, towels provided
- Breakfast included (it is left out in the kitchen and they bring you tea or coffee)
- Shared kitchen
- Laundry service
Bad points
- While internet is free its incredibly slow to the point of being unusable
- Foam mattress on the bed was uncomfortable - when two people are in a double bed you tend to roll towards the middle
- No fan in the room and it can be humid at times here
- There is a TV room but it seems like you have to share it with the family (wife and kids) and when they're watching their Latin American soaps it doesn't really appeal!

Take note that this is a BASIC hostel but this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LardSardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Well, if you like hearing babies scream and doors slamming, this is the place for you. Some of the rooms have views out towards the forest, other rooms are dark and windowless. Usually could connect to internet on one of the 2 computers, but not all the time, not sure what the problem was.

Be sure to grab the single bed in room, pretty comfortable. The doubles all sag in the middle, not comfortable at all.

Really good hot water with decent pressure. Bathrooms kept pretty clean.

The owner Ronnie seemed moody at times, not many smiles, That was a bit of a turnoff, and the main reason I give this place an 'average' rating instead of 'very good'

He treated my friend much better however, not sure if I said something to tick him off. Seeing as I found/ booked this hotel, he could have been a bit kinder to me. Oh well, can't win them all.

However he was able to offer good advice and get pretty good prices on tours. Breakfast was good enough, sweet fruit, good coffee, milk for granola could have been warmer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpaPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Property: Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Address: Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if it`s the real Monteverde experience you`re looking for, Come to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel and start living it! We offer you cheap hostel beds, private rooms with shared or private bath & you`ll find a diverse mixture of international travelers that will guarantee you a fantastic stay in Monteverde. For when you`re not out exploring, we have sparkling clean toilets, linen, unlimited hot water, a fully-equipped guest kitchen & internet access. We also offer laundry service. So what are you waiting for? End your search now & stay with us- We can`t wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hotel Santa Elena
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing