We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

This was my first stay at a hostel and I wasn't sure what to expect. We arrived earlier than expected, but the owner was more than accomodating. The room was comfortable, shower was hot and even though it was a hostel, we were not overcrowded or bothered by other guests. The family is super nice and they can help with local tours at a good rate. This was an excellent bargain, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanwave247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    85
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
90
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

good cheap place to stay if your backpacking or budgeting

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

If you're looking for a spot to sleep, eat breakfast, store your belongings during the day, and use as an overall home-base while you are in Monteverde, look no further.
We stayed here for four nights in April (3 nights is also enough to get a good value out of your Monteverde stay) and were quite happy with our choice of hostel. And do note - it is a hostel - meaning rooms are very basic, bed (and in a couple rooms a bathroom) and a door that locks. This is not a hotel so don't expect a place where you can spend part of your day relaxing (unless a mid-day nap is your speed). However - if you're looking for a very clean, friendly, and convienent spot in Monteverde, you can't do better. Ronnie, who runs the hostel, is more than happy to suggest and book any and all trips in the Monteverde area, from zip lines, to night hikes (do a night hike!), and trips into the cloud forrest reserves. He can even help book your transportation to and from Monteverde. The breakfasts here are also amazing (and plentiful), with fresh fruit, oatmeal, eggs, toast, and coffee. In summary - this place is super clean, super cheap, and super perfect for all your Monteverde needs. Book it now.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

Very cheap nightly rates. Our group of 8 stayed in 3 of the rooms. The owner and his family were very friendly; they booked us tours of the cloud forest and area.

The owners were fixing a water problem while we were there, so 1 day the water was spotty, but we all got hot showers later when the water was fixed.

The hot breakfast with coffee and friendly conversation was great. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hostel, since we mostly wanted to tour, so it was great for us.

It helped to book this hostel in advance because we were 8 people.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sevans152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

I find it amazing that this hostel has only 4 and 5 star reviews. It was so disgusting when we walked up to it and looked in the kitchen, which was DIRTY and there were bugs in there, that we were already hesitant to stay. Then my friend used the bathroom and came out and said "don't even go in there, I don't think we'll be showering much at this place". She said the bathroom was disgusting, the shower was horrible and the sink looked like it was duct-taped on. Fortunately for us, the extremely unhelpful staff informed us that they had no record of our reservation (which I had the confirmation printed for) and they didn't have room for us to stay. They didn't even offer to help us make some calls to find something else, they just said sorry and walked away. I was so happy to walk away from that place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

At $7.50 pp a night for a double with a private bath you can't beat this. The rooms were clean, the showers were hot, and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful. A hot breakfast was included. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The cleanliness and very helpful staff.
  • Disliked — The beds.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kileym15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

After reading the great reviews, and being budget travellers who wanted to spend our money on activities and not on accommodation in Monteverde, we booked into Sleepers. It certainly lived up to our expectations! Clean rooms and bathrooms, comfy beds, fantastic breakfast of fresh fruit, granola and eggs (included in the price!), free internet for which there was never a long wait if at all, and the great help that Ronnie offers in choosing what to do and where to go. Booking through Ronnie is easy and he makes sure all is punctual and correct, but he isn't pushing anything on you either. Since doing it yourself costs exactly the same, we say do it thru Ronnie: avoid the hassle and help him make his commission bucks! Better in his pocket than in the big businesses'! After all, with such low room prices, it must certainly the bookings that keep him afloat. The view from the back of the hostel is also great, although we found our double room at the top a bit noisy at night due to the gale-force winds! If you have trouble with wind sounds, ask for a room downstairs and indoors. You lose the view, and being woken up by the glorious sunshine, however...

  • Liked — great brekkie, great service, cheap but good
  • Disliked — wind sounds at night - can't be helped!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#9 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Property: Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Address: Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if it`s the real Monteverde experience you`re looking for, Come to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel and start living it! We offer you cheap hostel beds, private rooms with shared or private bath & you`ll find a diverse mixture of international travelers that will guarantee you a fantastic stay in Monteverde. For when you`re not out exploring, we have sparkling clean toilets, linen, unlimited hot water, a fully-equipped guest kitchen & internet access. We also offer laundry service. So what are you waiting for? End your search now & stay with us- We can`t wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hotel Santa Elena
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing