We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel in Monteverde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

To be honest it doesn't even feel like a hostel, it is more like a hotel. The decoration of the room was cabin like, full of real wood, comfortable and spotless clean.
Would recommend to everyone looking for a great experience in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 275 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at this Hostel run by Ronny and his brother, they have just moved into a new building and are still in the throes of setting up the kitchen......the hostel is 2 floors and a private room on the roof.......we can't say enough about the hospitality of Ronny who went overboard to make sure our stay was an enjoyable experience......his hostel is clean with hot water and the rooms a good size.....no soap is provided which I thought was a little odd.
Breakfast is included which consists of plate of fruit, cereal and toast, orange juice and coffee.....the hostel is centrally located ( which can't be said of all the hostels around the Santa Elena Monteverde area.
One morning we missed the bus to Monteverde cloud forest and when Ronny saw us starting to walk he offered to drive us to the park, which he did!.
That evening when we returned he pointed out a Sloth in a tree across the road from his hostel.
He is opening aTipico restaurant at the hostel in a few weeks time.
It was very windy when we stayed but did not detract from our overall experience.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms at the back as the hostel does front a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The staff was courteous and helpful. The place was clean. The breakfast was decent. However, we were given a room on the top (3rd) floor, and the roof (which seemed to be made of metal sheets) was not very sturdy. It was quite windy when we visited, and the wind moved the sheets on the roof all night long. The wind also seeped in through the cracks in the bathroom and bedroom windows, constantly rattling the closed doors. I couldn't sleep a wink both nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbettada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very reasonably priced hostel with friendly owners and employees in Santa Elena, Costa Rica. Breakfast is included with rate. Room booked was a single with bathroom. No frills, but clean and comfortable. Hot water was very good. The room was cleaned daily. Breakfast was fruit plate, cereal, toast, orange juice, and coffee. Road noise could be heard from the main road in front of the Hostel. Noisy motorbikes drive by at all hours.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed with Ronny and family at Sleepers in January 2011. Clean, comfortable, quiet private room with private bath (with hot water!) Great location. Very safe and secure. Freshly cooked breakfasts and fruits were delicious! Ronny was very friendly and very helpful with arranging transportations (taxis, shuttles, etc.) I enjoyed Sleepers so much that I extended my stay. An incredible bargain! I am looking forward to staying with Ronny at Sleepers again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicman107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Originally booked for 1 night but ended up staying two. Excellent central location and connections to various tour groups, awesome price for the room, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful an there was free breakfast!! Definitely recommended when staying in beautiful monteverde

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmurray725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked this hostel with some trepidation, but when Ronny greeted me by name as I got off the shuttle bus, I felt at home. He and his brother go out of their way to make your experience a wonderful one. Clear dorm rooms with comfortable beds and large, clean bathrooms. Close to everything you need in town. Want to take an excursion, the brothers will make the calls for you. A simple breakfast is included and was a nice added bonus. A must stay for any backpacker. One drawback: they have some tables and stools made out of tree trunks (you'll know what I mean when you arrive). Be careful when you sit on them because sometimes they are not perfectly sturdy. Be especially careful when enjoying drinks on said stools!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 33 in Santa Elena
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#11 of 33 in Santa Elena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel

Address: Main Street | 150 Meters From the Public Bus Stop, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $20 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if it`s the real Monteverde experience you`re looking for, Come to Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel and start living it! We offer you cheap hostel beds, private rooms with shared or private bath & you`ll find a diverse mixture of international travelers that will guarantee you a fantastic stay in Monteverde. For when you`re not out exploring, we have sparkling clean toilets, linen, unlimited hot water, a fully-equipped guest kitchen & internet access. We also offer laundry service. So what are you waiting for? End your search now & stay with us- We can`t wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hotel Santa Elena
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing