We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$103
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
487
73
9
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
73
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownercloud forestcosta ricahis wifein townwhite faced monkeyscoffee makerthe perfect place to staysmall kitchenettean incredible viewsurrounded by naturean amazing hostrustic charmmonteverde reservelarge windowsgreat recommendationsrecommend this place
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 573 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Upon arriving at the Rainbow Lodge, we were a bit dismayed by the construction on the building in which Rolf lives, but the cabin over the hillside was rustic and wonderful. Nice touches with tree trunk table and tree in the living room. (blue family cabin) Lots of space. Rolf was kind and helpful. Monkeys and coatis on the porch. Nearby town has lots of restuarants. We liked the Mariposa. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

What a place! Rolf is the perfect, congenial host. Inobstrusive but happy to do just about anything and a great sense of humour. He made lots of candid recommendations about local places to walk, eat, etc. Gorgeous cat in need of attention!
Rooms have the most stunning view, really recommend the upper room. Could have spent ages on the balcony just watching sunrises or storms.
And as for value - incredible!
Only a 10 minute walk into town or a very cheap taxi. Very quiet, only 3 rooms and I don't think he has any plans to expand for guests.
If only more places (and owners) were like this!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carefactornil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed two nights in the upper room. It is a nice room with a fantastic view. It has a good bed, decent bathroom and a very nice "glass balcony" with a small kitchen. A great stay with a great host. Thanks Rolf!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nielski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We just completed our 3rd stay at Rainbow Valley Lodge. There are many reasons this is our 3rd visit!

1) Owner Rolf Hanson!! [--] This guy will go so far out of his way to make sure you have a great stay! He will either give you the personal space you need to feel at ease, or take you to town in his own vehicle, or like us, join us for a nice dinner at Johnnies! He seems to be able to sense whether you want to interact with him, or if you prefer to have a private vacation experience. Rolf is the best, most gracious and hospitable host! Don’t pay for any activities before you arrive, because Rolf has discounts to everything!

2) Location, location, location!!! RVL is right off the main street leading to Monteverde, but it might as well be miles from anywhere! There is a feeling of solitude, peaceful retreat from the masses! However, it is a short 35 foot drive up the driveway and then, within 5 minutes, you are in town.! Everything you could want is available in town!

3) The WILDLIFE!!! We have seen so much wildlife off the patio of the cabin! Coatis begging for hand feeding…Mama Fox coming in with her pup for a hand out (and photo op!) Monkeys searching for the bananas, which I hand fed them and the butterflies and humming birds that the new plantings are attracting. There were many indigenous birds, and an army of leaf cutter ants trying to prevent the forest from overtaking the cabins!

4) The accommodations are unbelievable! The use of local woods and material is inspiring and Rolfs design and architecture is amazing! The landscaping is really nice, you can tell that Rolf and his helpers are spending a lot of time keeping the grounds up!

5) The last thing is the value! I don’t think that I have found a better value for the rooms and service anywhere in Costa Rica! Trust me just check it out, you will not have any regrets! I mean we paid $50! for a whole cabin which can sleep 5 or 6!! Kitchen, refrigerator, 2 bathrooms TV, separates bedroom, just great! Also there is a nice patio out back, with chairs, sit there and wait to see the local wildlife

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dstarok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This was our last stop before heading to san jose and back home... and it was the highlight of our trip. The cabin was cozy and located in such a beautiful spot, but still so close to everything. Rolf was very helpful in finding things to keep us busy and setting up drivers etc. The monkeys looking in our windows and playing all over the trees outside of our cabin, was so cool. We loved it. I definitely hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews