We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed for two nights during our honeymoon, and definitely found a little gem of a lodge. Very unique and personal, three separate dwellings - we had the cabin for $60 per night, and was well worth more. Full kitchen equipment, two bathrooms, spacious rooms and veranda with amazing views into the forest. Perfect manager, more than helpful and went out of his way in every aspect.
My only disappointment was no bath, which the website states it has. Would most definitely return and recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittykitchnvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 520 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Rainbow Valley lodge for 5 nights last month and felt as though we had found the best deal in Costa Rica. Our room had a B&B type feel, with a microwave, coffee maker and free Monteverde coffee, and mini fridge. The shower had great pressure and was hot. The room was very cozy, clean and cute, and the bed comfortable. The views of Rainbow Valley were gorgeous, and the area was extremely quiet as there are only two other units. The managers of the hotel were so kind, accomodating, helpful and welcoming. We felt safe, comfortable and as though we were in a very special place. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from town but we enjoyed the exercise. Stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JaneGrunenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We just got back from 3 AMAZING days in Monteverde. We stayed in the upstairs room at Rainbow Valley Lodge. The view from the enclosed balcony is INCREDIBLE! The view alone is worth staying here all by itself. The enclosed balcony has a kitchenette with a small fridge,coffee maker,microwave,and electric frying pan so you can prepare your own meals. We had coffee and breakfast while enjoying the beautiful view each morning. Rainbow Valley Lodge is very peaceful, nothing but the sounds of nature. The walk in and out of town is fairly easy, we did it several times. The manager Chris and his wife Hazel are wonderful people. It was Sheila’s birthday while we were there and they surprised her with a card and a bottle of wine in our room. Chris was very helpful in offering advice on places to eat and he helped us set up our daily excursions which included ziplining at Selvatura, and the Don Juan night coffee tour which both included to n from transportation. Chris is also an outstanding guide for the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. I highly recommend a guide if you want to see birds and animals. Without a guide you will walk right by birds and animals without seeing them because the jungle is so dense. The guides know exactly where to look. We saw 3 pairs of Quetzals during our visit to the reserve! Chris also set up our transfer to Quepos at a discounted rate. We loved Monteverde and the Rainbow Valley Lodge. We will definitely be coming back and we will definitely stay at Rainbow Lodge again. Thank you very much Chris n Hazel for a wonderful experience! Mike and Sheila

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhulkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Rainbow Valley lodge is a small place, with only one lower room, one upper room, and a kind of cabin. We stayed at the lower room, the cheapest one, for 2 nights. It had a good bed, a neat bathroom, ample space to unpack your luggage, a coffee maker with locally grown El Trapiche coffee, and a terrace. In other words, it contained a lot of features for a relatively low nightly rate. The upper room is larger, and according to the web site, it also has a small kitchen.

As a bonus, also the owners of the place are very friendly. In fact, Christian gaves us a warm welcome with a nice introduction, and helped with all bookings we made and were planning to make during our stay at Santa Elena. In short, we highly enjoyed this stay, and would gladly recommend it to others.

As a small downside, though, the place is a bit remote from the centre of Santa Elena, approximately 2km. Almost all tours in town, however, often pick-up and drop-off, making this only a minor detail.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for first 3 nights of my 2 week stay in Costa Rica. I had originally booked another hotel that screwed up my reservation but to be honest with you I'm glad they did as I loved this place. 3 rooms total. We had the upper room with the beautiful sunroom/balcony. Amazing views from here. Christian and his wife are absolute darlings. Rolf the owner is very helpful and will answer any question you have. They do not take your credit card info prior booking, as they work on the trust system. Please don't screw them up. Such great people.

Very reasonable price - in fact quite cheap for what you get. Great service and a more than comfortable stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Reasonably priced, this "lodge" is a collection of three cabinas, The upstairs room I stayed in has a great sunroom with kitchenette which looks out over the promised rainbow in the afternoon. Christian and his wife were very helpful in arranging guides and suggesting tours and hikes. I was spending a week of photography in the nearby preserve areas, so the Rainbow Valley Lodge made a great base. Lots of nearby preserves, and I enjoyed walking into town for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful trip to Monteverde and the Rainbow Valley Lodge was a piece of that. The cabins were exactly as advertised: quaint, comfortable, and welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights and took the advise of Christian, Hazel, and Nicholas to guide our excursions. Thank you vary much for your help! We can't recommend this place more.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank williabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $55 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing