We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Might be ok for backpacking but not for a "rustic romantic getaway"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Might be ok for backpacking but not for a "rustic romantic getaway"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

I'm not sure where to start. My new husband and I spent 3 nights here. We were on our honeymoon and fully expected this to be rustic and with less frills than the other places on our itinerary. However, the room was a glorified tent with walls. They are all separate little "duplex" cabins. We could hear every word our neighbors spoke... not very romantic. We had lizards crawling into our bathroom at night. There was no AC and no TV (TV wasn't really a big deal to us). It was hard to fall asleep because you're in the Cloud Forrest with the windows open (no AC, though it got cold at night sometimes) and you cna hear every animal in the forest. There was also no alarm clock but the front desk would send someone to wake you up if you requested it. There is no pool on site.

There were hiking trails on site and those were ok but we walked them all in a few hours one day. We went there to zip line, which we did than thoroughly enjoyed (we did not do the zip lining on site, we went through a 3rd party company). Most of our time at the lodge was spent in the small restaurant, out on the large deck overlooking the forest. It was a pretty view and they had a lot of hummingbird feaders so you could see many types of hummingbirds within a close vicinity.

The small town was a bit far away. We spent a couple of hours there one day and walked through the entire place. We got bored with nothing else to do so we went on a coffee tour and actually loved it.

I think this would be a fun place to stay on a backpacking tip with friends but I wouldn't stay more than a night or two. If you're looking for romance or luxury this is NOT it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingNomad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    152
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
230
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

The only thing the Cloud Forest Lodge had going for it was it's location. It is quite out of the way, but it sits in an absolutely beautiful location. There are trails around the grounds, which are quite nice.

The rooms were poorly constructed. There was a wood block used to hold the shower head in place in the bathroom, the metal drain cover was bent halfway up and the sink barely rested on the cabinet on which it sat. The trim in the room looked awful, and was a sure sign of poor craftsmanship.

The front desk staff was very friendly, but the restaurant staff was cold and unfriendly, seemingly annoyed to be dealing with a solo traveler.

Spartan rooms; basically a bed, shower, and desk. Nothing else.
There was plenty to do outside of the hotel, though. Great wildlife viewing!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

The place is cute - but located far from the little town. You would have to take a taxi into the small town if you wanted to. Rooms were large and clean and comfortable. We ate at the hotel for dinner and it was NOT good -- i recommend eating elsewhere. Breakfast in the morning was good tho and included in our stay. FYI - Staff wasn't overly friendly but we only stayed one night so we didn't care.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

This lodge was quite a way from Santa Elena up a big hill. We went (as always) with a tour group who drove us down to Santa Elena the first night for the frog pond and dinner so we didnt need to walk or book a taxi.
We had meal the second night at the lodge which was really nice, good value and huge portions. The breakfast was not buffet style (as most of the hotels were on our trip) but it was very nice and set us up for the day visiting the cloud forest.
Watching the hummingbirds on the feeders were amazing.
Only negative thing was when it rained (which it did a lot - rainforest clue in the name!) the roof of the lodge was metal and omg it sounded soooooooo loud! but that added to the fun of where we were!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katenother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a single night, while the rooms itself was nice and it had a nice trail around the place, it was just too far away from everything. And it had the barest of facilities with no internet which was bad since our tour finished early and we had nothing else to do to spend time. On the plus side, we got a great opportunity to share our Costa Rica experience with other hotel guests and got some useful travel tips. We would recommend Monteverde only to those people who were truly interested in biodiversity since the last 25km of the road to Monteverde (last 25km) was simply awful and we spent too much time getting there. I understand that they keep the road that way on purpose so that visitors are forced to stay overnight, which I think is a poor practise and so unbecoming of what was otherwise a great vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This hotel is definitely worth the painful trek up some of the worst roads of the world (be sure to have a 4x4). The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the restaurant is excellent, and the view (when it doesn't rain or gets out of the fog, in other words not that often) is great. But best of all, they have a network of hiking trails through the cloud forest that is easily as interesting as the ones in the National Preserve itself, and they're for free! When we were there in June 2010, a flock of the beautiful Montezuma Oro Pendula (tropical bird with a long yellow tail and the most surprising, water-dripping-sounding call ever heard) were building nests in the nearby trees.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

As part of a package, we stayed at the lodge and on the whole enjoyed the lodge. The room was large and made comfortable for a family (there are bunk beds as well as a King). The view is marvelous and the birdwatching from the front porch is as good as anywhere we stayed. You have to get used to the rain in the summer, but they have an on location canopy zip line package where you don't have to go somewhere else for the thrill. We opted to just walk one of the trails there.

The restaurant there at the lodge was very good with some native as well as non native dishes, all sensibly priced for the amount of food you received. Some might find the only place for a television is a community area, but it was fun watching soccer with the others. Also, there is no pool, but was not expected. The laundry service was a very nice plus - reasonably priced and the clothes smelled so nice.

Now the negatives...the bed was incredibly hard and noisy. If you turned over, the rest of the people in the room would know about it. With no insulation and no fan or a/c in the room, it was ultra quiet and the bed creaks were amplified. Also, we had a small trail of black ants that visited the sink every night. Not a big deal considering where we were, but the only place we did have this problem. The Internet was spotty but again, you are mile up in the rainforest. If you are there for the Internet, you aren't on vacation.

All in all, I liked the place. The town nearby was nice, the food was good, the rain was expected, but the room furnishings could use some help.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXAGnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing