We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base Camp for Monteverde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Ames, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Base Camp for Monteverde”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our party (my wife and I and our college-aged daughter) were delighted with our stay at this property. We drove into the area and, having selected the hotel from a listing in the Lonely Planet guide and programming it into our GPS (a godsend in Costa Rica), we arrived after an exhausting and challenging drive to find this gem. We'd planned on a one night stay and extended to two after we settled in. The room we stayed had a high ceiling, rustic cabin feel, and was basic, but clean and well appointed. The property is isolated from town by the aforementioned rough roads, so we ate most of our meals in the dining area / restaurant and found the food of sufficient variety and flavorful enough to sustain us. The hotel distinguishes itself in helpful and friendly English speaking staff, and we were assisted with and accommodated in all requests in what seemed to be a genuine service-oriented culture. We took the night walk through the grounds and found that interesting. Trips to the canopy walk and the eXtremo sports park picked up and delivered us. My wife arranged for, and was pleased with, and in-room massage. I recommend the property without hesitation and am appreciative of the kindness shown our group during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    162
    72
    15
    9
See reviews for
102
246
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The rooms were basic but perfect for what we required. We stayed for two nights which gave us a full day to explore the cloud forest. The best part of stay we're the staff in the restaurant. Went above and beyond and remembered precise details of our orders for the next day. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carys E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The effects of global warming, El Nino or other external factors meant that the Cloud Forest had very little cloud and no rain while we there. That apart the air is crisp and clean, the views are great and the place has a lot of very noisy but spectacular birdlife. There are some marked walks in the hotel grounds but there are many other walking areas nearby.
The individual rooms (probably more correctly called lodges) are comfortable without being spectacular. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Overall a nice place to visit.
If you have a crazy streak there is also a zip line attraction nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I knew nothing about this facility when our travel agent booked us a package that included this lodge. We were able to book better flight prices if we took the package that included one night stay at the Cloud Forest Lodge. It was our choice to either use the night or stay in our condo. We chose to make the 3.5 hour drive to Monteverde from Playas del Coco. What an interesting experience! The roads in this area are not for the faint of heart. We took our time and made the trip in a rented 4x4 without any issues. We absolutely loved the cloud forest area and this lodge. As discussed in other reviews, this place is rustic but clean. Beautiful location. We took the night tour of the grounds and saw many kinds of wildlife. (Our only complaint was that the guide was too soft spoken and hard to hear) We enjoyed both of our meals while staying at the lodge. Gustavo, our waiter at both meals was superb. I hope management realizes he is such an asset. Gustavo was extremely friendly and willing to attend to all of our needs. We plan on returning and will stay more than one evening because there is much we want to do in the area.
If you are looking for a woodsy, rustic couple of nights in a very beautiful area; this is a great place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidsaregone65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Cloud Forest Lodge is rustic and the rooms are basic, but really, you don't go to this area of Costa Rica to sit around in your room! They were clean and were sufficient for our needs (a place to sleep). The food in the restaurant was good (we enjoyed the ice cream for dessert especially), and the views were excellent. You truly are up in the cloud forest! We recommend the evening hike. You have to pay a bit extra for it, but we saw all kinds of cool creepy crawlies (a trap door spider, wolf spider, tarantula, etc etc). It is possible to walk to and from the town of Santa Elena, but I wouldn't recommend walking back unless you're in good shape! That uphill is killer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank metzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here with friends.
Truly fantastic place. Wonderful and helpful staff.
Great restaurant in house, and they had a great talented guitarist playing
Great location, away from rif raf in town.
Nice and quiet
Delightful
WIll return one day

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaLBalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

As others have said, the drive up the mountain was rugged and bumpy (not sure why we didn't expect that after reading Trip Advisor for months). We stayed at the Cloud Forest Lodge for two nights at the beginning of a week-long trip. It was cool and windy, so long pants and long sleeved shirts/light jacket were needed. We were out of the room all during the day so we weren't able to explore the grounds as we might have with more time. While the room is a bit "rustic" without many amenities, it was clean and provided all we needed. Our room had one king size bed and a twin that we used for a resting place for our luggage. There is also a small open closet with a few shelves, and a table. We got a kick out of the room key which is attached to a very large wooden thing that looks like a pepper mill. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom (I had not seen this in any of the information). The WIFI did not work in our room, but did work in the restaurant. We ate breakfast and dinner there and the food was OK...not the greatest but fine if you don't feel like tackling the mountain again after a long day.

The thing I have to RAVE about, though, is that I left a fairly expensive item in the room when we checked out. I didn't even realize it until the staff called Anywhere Costa Rica, through whom we made all of our trip arrangements. Anywhere CR then arranged to have the item picked up and delivered to our next stop. THANK YOU Cloud Forest and ACR.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4CR314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing