We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$110
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$56
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconia Hotel(Monteverde)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
235
196
75
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
196
75
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird feedershiking trailscloud forestzip wireoriginal canopyrestaurant windowscosta ricahomemade granolalocal townnight walkthree choicesnature loversguided nightamerican breakfasttin roofrestaurant staffcanopy walk
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 531 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The effects of global warming, El Nino or other external factors meant that the Cloud Forest had very little cloud and no rain while we there. That apart the air is crisp and clean, the views are great and the place has a lot of very noisy but spectacular birdlife. There are some marked walks in the hotel grounds but there are many other walking areas nearby.
The individual rooms (probably more correctly called lodges) are comfortable without being spectacular. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Overall a nice place to visit.
If you have a crazy streak there is also a zip line attraction nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I knew nothing about this facility when our travel agent booked us a package that included this lodge. We were able to book better flight prices if we took the package that included one night stay at the Cloud Forest Lodge. It was our choice to either use the night or stay in our condo. We chose to make the 3.5 hour drive to Monteverde from Playas del Coco. What an interesting experience! The roads in this area are not for the faint of heart. We took our time and made the trip in a rented 4x4 without any issues. We absolutely loved the cloud forest area and this lodge. As discussed in other reviews, this place is rustic but clean. Beautiful location. We took the night tour of the grounds and saw many kinds of wildlife. (Our only complaint was that the guide was too soft spoken and hard to hear) We enjoyed both of our meals while staying at the lodge. Gustavo, our waiter at both meals was superb. I hope management realizes he is such an asset. Gustavo was extremely friendly and willing to attend to all of our needs. We plan on returning and will stay more than one evening because there is much we want to do in the area.
If you are looking for a woodsy, rustic couple of nights in a very beautiful area; this is a great place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidsaregone65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Cloud Forest Lodge is rustic and the rooms are basic, but really, you don't go to this area of Costa Rica to sit around in your room! They were clean and were sufficient for our needs (a place to sleep). The food in the restaurant was good (we enjoyed the ice cream for dessert especially), and the views were excellent. You truly are up in the cloud forest! We recommend the evening hike. You have to pay a bit extra for it, but we saw all kinds of cool creepy crawlies (a trap door spider, wolf spider, tarantula, etc etc). It is possible to walk to and from the town of Santa Elena, but I wouldn't recommend walking back unless you're in good shape! That uphill is killer!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank metzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here with friends.
Truly fantastic place. Wonderful and helpful staff.
Great restaurant in house, and they had a great talented guitarist playing
Great location, away from rif raf in town.
Nice and quiet
Delightful
WIll return one day

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaLBalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

As others have said, the drive up the mountain was rugged and bumpy (not sure why we didn't expect that after reading Trip Advisor for months). We stayed at the Cloud Forest Lodge for two nights at the beginning of a week-long trip. It was cool and windy, so long pants and long sleeved shirts/light jacket were needed. We were out of the room all during the day so we weren't able to explore the grounds as we might have with more time. While the room is a bit "rustic" without many amenities, it was clean and provided all we needed. Our room had one king size bed and a twin that we used for a resting place for our luggage. There is also a small open closet with a few shelves, and a table. We got a kick out of the room key which is attached to a very large wooden thing that looks like a pepper mill. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom (I had not seen this in any of the information). The WIFI did not work in our room, but did work in the restaurant. We ate breakfast and dinner there and the food was OK...not the greatest but fine if you don't feel like tackling the mountain again after a long day.

The thing I have to RAVE about, though, is that I left a fairly expensive item in the room when we checked out. I didn't even realize it until the staff called Anywhere Costa Rica, through whom we made all of our trip arrangements. Anywhere CR then arranged to have the item picked up and delivered to our next stop. THANK YOU Cloud Forest and ACR.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4CR314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews