We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Cloud Forest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location in the Cloud Forest!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My family stayed in this lodge for a couple nights. We had two rooms I think it was 9 and 10. We loved the rustic feel of the place. We did not miss the TV or room phone as we were here to enjoy nature and the wonderful views. Each cabin has a nice porch with chairs to sit in. I loved just sitting there and listenting to the sounds of the forest and watch the zip liners zooming overhead.
The main building is the restaurant and bar with a great terrace to enjoy the greate sunset with a beverage of your choice. The food was really good, my kids loved the pesto pasta and the staff was super friendly and accommodating. What a great place! I saw a lot of other hotels in the area but I was extremely happy to stay at the Coud Forest Lodge. This is not a five star hotel and they don't pretend to be. This is a very comfortable and cozy place in the midst of nature. The unique location away from the road and town adds to the charm. We walked to town (downhill) and usually took a taxi back to the lodge. Every time I stepped out of our cabin, listen and looked around I could not help myself but felt like I was part in a "Lost" episode. We enjoyed exploring the local trails around the lodge.
Overall this was my favorite stay while in Costa Rica, the unique location combined with great food and cozy cabins has me wanting to come back. HIghly reccommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    157
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
94
241
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

In the beautiful cloud forest of Monteverde. Rooms are spartan but clean and spacious. A good mountain cottage feeling. You don't come here if you don't appreciate living near the nature. Service at the tables is friendly and slow, like in most part of this beautiful country. There are ok restaurants in the village, so go there if you are looking for good dinner. Enjoy the drinks in the bar, very good, with or without alcohol.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peder h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndorf, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this lodge ('hotel' would be a little bit too optimistic) one week ago for two nights when going from Liberia to San Jose. The road to St. Elena from Las Juntas is really a challenge not only for the driver and the car but also the passengers in the car...

the road in St. Elena is partly paved but not up to the lodge..

Well, i read some reviews of this lodge before so we knew what to expect. and this is what we got. The first impression was a dead scorpion on the parking lot which nobody cleaned during the two days we were there. Wondering if it's still there..?

We came to the reception for check in and we were a little bit baffled when we found out there will be NO A/C nor heating in the room (in the morning we had 17 degrees celcius in the room...), NO minibar to cool even our own drinks and NO safe deposit box! for all our belongings like tablet PC, mobile phones, tickets, money etc we either had to carry it with us ( no so funny when hiking the whole day) or leave it in an envelope, sign the envelope and leave it at the reception. Pretty stressful doing this each day in the morning and in the evening again....

The room (half - house) was sparely furnished - a double bed and one single bed, table, two chairs, NO TV (no need for that?). The door of the room cannot really be locked safely from outside.

As I read other reviews with experiences about scorpions and other little animals in the room we had a flashlight next to our bed to make sure the way to the toilet in the night will be clear..

Towncenter (and restaurant) are away a partly pretty steep 30 -45 minutes hike away (take a flashlight when going in the night!) We went to town both nights since the restaurant at the lodge was not really meeting out taste and we wanted to be a little bit on places where people are..

Breakfast at the lodge was not really what we expected it to be. we had the choice between three different choices. But one day the 'american' breakfast included almost nothing and the other day I was also given eggs. NO ham or bacon or some meat of any kind available for regular breakfast (only jam and butter) - for all extra wishes like omlette you had to pay.

hotel bar was not really open in the evening (well there were not a lot of guests..) but the drinks were good;)

all in all it was ok - do not know the standard of other hotels in st. elena - next time I would try out one that offers a little more amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Every room is in its own little tin roof shack. All of them have a front porch with a bench you can sit on for relaxing. Our room did not have a/c only ceiling fan and window opening with no screens to keep the bugs out. So if you are scared of bugs this is not the right hotel for you. We had to kick out a total of 5 praying mantis, they must have gotten in by the window slats.
There are jungle walking trails around the property, and a zip line that starts from there as well.
The restaurant isn't really good for dinner but the breakfasts are good.
The staff is nice, though when the check in people leave for the night you are left with non english speaking security guards.
This hotel is ok only.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bug net or with ac. Book the $15 night tour that is given right on premise. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viviane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A peaceful retreat in beautiful grounds just outside Santa Helena, and a great base from which to explore the cloud forest. Rooms simple but spacious and very comfortable. Wilberth the General Manager leads a great team and went out of his way to make us welcome. The only downside is that the restaurant can on occasions feel a bit gloomy (although the service and the food are great), but the 20 minute walk back into town is also an option. The guided night walk with Eric was a very memorable experience, and the zip-wire ("Original Canopy Tour," within the grounds of the hotel itself) was awesome.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great resort with friendly and helpful Staff. I highly recommend a stay here for anyone wanting to experience the cloud forest .
Santa Elena just a short drive away with plenty of things to do. You can book walks, zip lining and many other activities. Staff is at the ready to suggest and help. Congratulations You do a great job

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nednedned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were hoping for a higher class stay having paid much more than other lodges in the area but we were a bit let down by the restaurant quality food. It was more of a school dinners approach to cooking which meant we only ate 2 meals there before deciding to check out the local restaurants. The room was clean but pretty basic with a scratchy bed cover. The bar staff and waiters were very friendly and helpful so this was good. We did the night tour and this was very good, out guide was very good at spotting animals in the dark! Overall an average stay with pros and cons but we would probably choose a cheaper alternative in town if we were to return to the area. The lodge is at the top of a very very steep hill and it is not possibly to get home in the dark after a meal without a taxi, unless you are fond of indigestion!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carebear333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,079 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing