We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stay right in the cloud forest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay right in the cloud forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A peaceful retreat in beautiful grounds just outside Santa Helena, and a great base from which to explore the cloud forest. Rooms simple but spacious and very comfortable. Wilberth the General Manager leads a great team and went out of his way to make us welcome. The only downside is that the restaurant can on occasions feel a bit gloomy (although the service and the food are great), but the 20 minute walk back into town is also an option. The guided night walk with Eric was a very memorable experience, and the zip-wire ("Original Canopy Tour," within the grounds of the hotel itself) was awesome.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    129
    59
    15
    8
See reviews for
77
176
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great resort with friendly and helpful Staff. I highly recommend a stay here for anyone wanting to experience the cloud forest .
Santa Elena just a short drive away with plenty of things to do. You can book walks, zip lining and many other activities. Staff is at the ready to suggest and help. Congratulations You do a great job

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nednedned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were hoping for a higher class stay having paid much more than other lodges in the area but we were a bit let down by the restaurant quality food. It was more of a school dinners approach to cooking which meant we only ate 2 meals there before deciding to check out the local restaurants. The room was clean but pretty basic with a scratchy bed cover. The bar staff and waiters were very friendly and helpful so this was good. We did the night tour and this was very good, out guide was very good at spotting animals in the dark! Overall an average stay with pros and cons but we would probably choose a cheaper alternative in town if we were to return to the area. The lodge is at the top of a very very steep hill and it is not possibly to get home in the dark after a meal without a taxi, unless you are fond of indigestion!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carebear333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Maries, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Staff were really great. We loved staying in our little "eco-lodge". There wasn't much in the room, but it was safe and warm, and had a big spacious bathroom. The restaurant wasn't too expensive, and it had a beautiful view. oh! And The breakfasts! They were absolutely amazing! You have the choice between a continental breakfast, a typical Costa Rican breakfast, and an american breakfast. They were all included in the room price. By the end of our stay, the waiters knew exactly what my husband and I wanted to drink for breakfast without even asking us. When you are on the move so often, even that little touch makes you feel at home. They were all super nice. It was only 5 minutes from town, which was really nice. And we absolutely LOVED the town, Santa Elena!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee42435595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Only 5 minutes to centre of town. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast simple but everything you need. We stayed 3 nights and did the zip wire tour with our children. Felt very safe and had great fun. Restaurant was expensive for dinner but easy to drive into town with lots of choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesfamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Weare NH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

to make it up one of the many muddy hillsides, but it was well worth it. The food at the hotel is excellent. Front desk and wait staff were accommodating, welcoming, and happy to help us with our fledgling Spanish. We were sad to say goodbye.
Access to the reserve is easy. The lodge is as close to the canopy as possible and the grounds are fun to explore. The town, a short walk away, is also fun to walk around. Be sure to take the evening tour to check out the creepy crawlies, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lm26Weare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is extremely beautiful and secluded, nestled in the mountains of the Cloud Forest. But it is only a few minutes over a typically awful Costa Rican road to get into town. The cabins are a nice size, sparsely furnished but comfortable. They were very clean and there was plenty of hot water. Loved sitting on the porch - bugs were not really a problem at this time of year (due to the cold and wet weather in late June). I did bring a mosquito net that I draped over my bed which allowed me to sleep comfortably with the windows open as I did not have to worry about being bitten while I was asleep. The food was very very very good. Breakfast was included and it was substantial. Best part was the homemade jam - I wish they sold it. I would have taken a case home. Dinners were also very nice and filling. Pleasant bar as well. Staff - a joy! Everyone was just so nice and friendly. Immediately felt very comfortable there. I would give it a five star rating in many categories but it is very rustic and plain so I can't quite get it to that level. However, by Costa Rican standards it is a very very nice place and I would strongly recommend it for a two night trip to the Cloud Forest. Only complaint was a lack of recommendations by the staff for other options outside of their property. I suspect it is because they offer a zip line tour and a forest tour but I would have appreciated easier access to information about the area. Easy to find things in town, and our Fodors took care of the rest. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for one of the upper rooms. Slightly better view and not in the jungle. The lowest tier of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reichen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing