We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights only whilst on a family holiday in CR. Great for birdwatching and walking. Clean rooms and good restaurant. We, the grandparents, hired a very good birding guide and the young grandchildren went on a horseback trek. The hotel had its own trails and humming bird feeders. The restaurant was of a good standard with reasonable prices given the location.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in cabins and looked equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wykeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    162
    71
    15
    9
See reviews for
102
245
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is in a stunning location. The rooms are single storey and in rows. They were clean but there was no TV nor fridge. There is free ice in a store near reception.
On arrival we were given a map of the local walks and went on all of them. They are easy treks through woodland and, although we didn't see much wildlife, a couple did see a quetzal bird on a trail we had walked a day earlier.
This is a remote location, the nearest town, Santa Elena, is about 2 miles (3.5 km) away and the walk is only for fit people as it is very steep on the way back.
There is an abundance of birds in the grounds and there are two well-frequented humming bird feeders just outside the restaurant. It was refreshing to have a 4 course breakfast served to us as opposed to the all too common buffets. The evening meals were nicely cooked and tasty and the bar prices were reasonable, given the location.
Reception closes at 9 p.m. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially with tips about where to see the best wildlife and the identity of what you have photographed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We arrived at Cloud Forest Lodge and were very happy. Michael at the front desk was great. Our room was very roomy and nice. The grounds are very nice with lots of birds and walking paths. Felt at home. Sat on the deck of the main building and watched the sun go down while enjoying a drink. Had dinner in their restaurant. Wonderful staff and very good food. Very quite and peaceful great nights sleep. This was our favorite place on the entire trip. Actually one of my favorite places on any trip.

Room Tip: Our room faced the forest which was nice and private. The rooms beyond the small green above us loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and, as previous reviewers have said, the rooms are basic but very environmentally friendly. Maybe even a bit too much! We only had 1 bedside light and my husband resorted to using his headtorch to read in bed. Energy efficient lightbulbs throughout.

Breakfast was served and not a buffet, which was a pleasant change, and dinner was very good. There are bird feeders hung up by the restaurant and it was delightful to be eating breakfast and watching the humming birds feed at the same time.

There are several trails round the lodge too which we enjoyed, and the highlight was seeing the coatis in the gardens. Numerous birds in the gardens too, easily viewed from our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice basic room--no frills, but everything that you need. Good food--but again, we didn't try anything fancy--but not cheap. Lovely grounds and a fantastic night hike in the jungle with Eric. My kids will never forget seeing tarantulas come out of their holes and seeing puma scat, as well as bright yellow tree frogs. Wonderful staff--Thanks Gustavo and karen!! It is a little far to walk into town, so be prepared to take taxis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Room was pretty basic but clean and warm (it was a bit chilly up here as right up a mountain) Drive up was spectacular - can see for miles around & lovely landscape. Food in the restaurant was 1st class - had the specials both nights I was here & wasn't dissapointed. (steak in mushroom sauce one night and chicken in red wine the next) Got to see loads of birds here, and there were some lovely walks through the hotels grounds so you didn't realy have to go anywhere. I thought that all the local activities were too pricey - $25 to look round a butterfly garden for example. & about the same again just to get ionto the national park. It was just nice to sit in the bar & look out at the fantastic views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Remember this is in the Monteverde Cloud Forest and therefore the lack of certain everyday appliances might not be to everyones's taste. Namely, WiFi is patchy, even in reception; no tv's in the rooms and no heating.

However the views are fantastic, the forest and associated wildlife are located right outside your door, sometimes even inside. But that is the beauty of this place - a location at home with nature.

The qualty and choice of food in the restaurant was excellent and service by all the staff was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing