We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move along, nothing to see here”
Review of Quetzal Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quetzal Inn
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Upon checking into the Quetzal Inn, my 13yr old son commented about the smell of mold and urine in the bathroom. My wife requested a room change and it was granted.
Within minutes in the new room my son (not normally a super spy) found sand under his pillow. I guess I'll sleep in that bed as I can deal with that. My daughter went to take a shower and the hot water was non existent. I went to check it out and noticed one of the wires that heats the showerhead dangling above her head and not a single towel in the room anywhere. That's 4 issues. We're outta here. While leaving the front desk girl handed a cell phone to my wife. I assume it was the owner. Instead of apologizing she got into a heated argument with my wife, and threatened to call the police as now she has to make the beds. (for real!!!!!) So here's my summary: If you are vacationing with you're family "MOVE ALONG, NOTHING TO SEE HERE". If you're with a few biker buddies who've had too much too drink need a cold shower and don't care about sleeping in dirt you'll be right at home. Except for the missing towels!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnMMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

The strongest points of Quetzal Inn are its location, in the heart of Santa Elena, and, at the same time, at a very quiety and secluded place; and the friendliness and care of its staff. Good for families.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica_2012_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is all about location. Slap bang in the middle of Santa Elena yet set back from the road, it's a perfect Monteverde base if you're looking for somewhere a short walk from an array of restaurants. The people who work there are lovely and very obliging. We booked a Santa Maria jungle night tour through them and were very happy with it. The breakfast is great. The rooms are not. Tiny dark, cold, wooden boxes where you can hear your neighbors breathing. When my neighbors awoke at 4:30 I was obliged to do so too. And the wind came right into the room during the night and made me shiver in my bed. I'd stay here again - it wasn't awful or anything. But the rooms definitely weren't luxurious!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Quetzal Inn 2 nights in october 2013. Ricardo is and incredible host: welcoming, helpful. We felt like home! There is a common kitchen, wich is very practical. The common areas are really welcoming and are a good opportunity to meet people from all over the world. My boyfriend and I even got engaged a the Quetzal, so it will be in our best memories for a long time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cblier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is a small hotel in the center of Santa Elena.
I found staff very helpful and the atmosphere very friendly. But I must confirm other reports: you will hear your neighbours. This because the rooms are all wood what makes them cosy but the wooden panels between rooms offer zero isolation,
I found the breakfast room rather impersonal, and did not use the communal kitchen.This is a good choice if you want to be close to everything, but don’t expect any fancy.
Fairly priced.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights here while hiking in the area and it was an excellent place for us. The room was simple and clean and remarkably quiet even though the hotel is right in the center of town. The breakfasts were delicious and quickly served by friendly people. For us, the availability of a kitchen was a huge asset. It allowed us to make our own lunches so we didn't have to come off the trail in the middle of the day, and we could make ourselves simple, healthy, delicious dinners at a fraction of the restaurant cost (we're vegetarians with a little lacto and gluten intolerance thrown in, so finding food that works for us can be a challenge). It was a 5 minute walk to the bus to either of the reserves and that was a great resource.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are quieter and we loved having a porch for hanging out and hanging thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanJaneMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I and our two young children stayed here just before Christmas. Rick, the manager, was very helpful and always there with any questions we had. We originally had planned to stay in another hotel as the reviews weren't great for this one in our Lonely Planet, but on looking at the hotel first hand, we decided to stay here. I am very happy we made that decision as Rick was instrumental in making our stay in the cloud forest unforgettable with perfect recommendations of night tours and zip wires. He was also very kind to our two boys, which helped us all feel very much at home. Thanks Rick for the great time in Santa Elena, am sure it wouldn't have been nearly as cool without your guidance. The rooms by the way were very clean and comfortable. Full marks, matthew from London by way of missouri

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
130 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel El Sueno
Hotel El Sueno
#6 of 7 in Santa Elena
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing