We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality, lovely rooms ,great value, relaxing atmosphere”
Review of Quetzal Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quetzal Inn
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Dorian and his wife (and son) were amazing hosts. Super hospitable and accomodating.They are more than happy to help with anything from organising tours, to late checkouts. The cabins are nice and comfortable, and although its a very central location it has a very relaxing atmosphere. Has a great communal kitchen and a homely dining area with TV and fireplace. Great place to relax and unwind. The best value hostel Ive found in Costa Rica so far, Thank you for having us!

Dorian y su esposa (y su hijo) fueron los anfitriones increíbles. Super hospitalaria y accomodating.They están más que feliz de ayudar con cualquier cosa, desde la organización de Tours, a desprotecciones finales. Las cabañas son bonitas, comodas y tranquilo, y aunque es un lugar muy céntrico, tiene un ambiente muy tranquilo. Tiene una gran cocina y un comedor acogedor con TV y chimenea. Un gran lugar para relajarse y descansar. El mejor hostal, Ive se encuentra en Costa Rica, gracias por invitarnos!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anabananagitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Quetzal Inn. The ecolodge was very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and they could help you out with all your questions. We arrived around 4 pm and we did the night tour with Sergio, a terrific guide who works there. We had the opportunity to go to the Cloud Forest with him too. You can use the kitchen to prepare your own dinner and if you are in for a snack there is a nice taco bar around the corner. You can sit outside accompanied by the 'house' dog and two kwek kweks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lieselot E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here on a World Challenge Expedition with 16 teenagers at the end of our three week trip to Costa Rica. Ric could not have been more accommodating and helpful. The kids were on a tight budget and he allowed them to use the hotel kitchen to prepare meals, as well as bringing fruit for them to try and giving them tons of advice on local attractions (and making 'phone calls on their behalf to organise various details). The room my colleague and I shared was large and clean with a balcony and huge picture windows on two sides which were filled with green views. Wifi worked fairly well and Ric was happy to let us use the computer in reception if necessary. Breakfast was good and the resident dog is friendly but not overly so (if you're not a dog lover, don't worry!). I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floopert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent two nights in the Quetzal Inn and were very impressed. The rooms are a good size and very clean, and a little away from the main road so there is no noise (except for nature!). The best part of the hotel was the customer service - the staff were always willing to help and were very knowledgable of the area. The manager was so helpful in organising various tours, including the Canopy tour and horse riding. We would also like to thank Sergio for the amazing night walk in the forest, it was an unforgettable experience! We would definitely recommend this hotel, it made the perfect end to our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed with some friends and we were treated as friends. The owner let me used the front desk computer to transfer camera photos while he was dancing with his wife in front of me, and handled me an Imperial (Costa Rican beer) while I was waiting for slow camera to download, Oh yes! very clean and cozy rooms too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Israel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We feel so fortunate that Ricardo, hotel manager saw us looking for lodging and suggested we come take a look. This small lodge offers a unique, quiet setting with clean rooms. Our room was in back and looked like a little bunk house which backed up to the forest. When we looked out the window there was a Blue Crowned Motmot perched in the tree. The sound of the rainforest was very pleasant. Mostly, we felt very welcomed and taken care of by Ricardo. He had a lot of great ideas and suggestions for us.If you are looking for a quiet place to rest, a delicious breakfast included at this great price, this is the place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhaywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Quetzal Inn and would absolutely recommend it. The staff was personable and very helpful. Rooms are cozy, clean and priced fairly...plus there's fresh breakfast! Overall a very good option for a stay in Santa Elena/Monteverde.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 33 in Santa Elena
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 33 in Santa Elena
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Backpackers
Monteverde Backpackers
#9 of 33 in Santa Elena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 33 in Santa Elena
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#6 of 33 in Santa Elena
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing