We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quetzal Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quetzal Inn
Save
You added Quetzal Inn to your Saves list
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent two nights in the Quetzal Inn and were very impressed. The rooms are a good size and very clean, and a little away from the main road so there is no noise (except for nature!). The best part of the hotel was the customer service - the staff were always willing to help and were very knowledgable of the area. The manager was so helpful in organising various tours, including the Canopy tour and horse riding. We would also like to thank Sergio for the amazing night walk in the forest, it was an unforgettable experience! We would definitely recommend this hotel, it made the perfect end to our trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    10
    4
    12
See reviews for
12
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed with some friends and we were treated as friends. The owner let me used the front desk computer to transfer camera photos while he was dancing with his wife in front of me, and handled me an Imperial (Costa Rican beer) while I was waiting for slow camera to download, Oh yes! very clean and cozy rooms too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Israel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We feel so fortunate that Ricardo, hotel manager saw us looking for lodging and suggested we come take a look. This small lodge offers a unique, quiet setting with clean rooms. Our room was in back and looked like a little bunk house which backed up to the forest. When we looked out the window there was a Blue Crowned Motmot perched in the tree. The sound of the rainforest was very pleasant. Mostly, we felt very welcomed and taken care of by Ricardo. He had a lot of great ideas and suggestions for us.If you are looking for a quiet place to rest, a delicious breakfast included at this great price, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhaywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Quetzal Inn and would absolutely recommend it. The staff was personable and very helpful. Rooms are cozy, clean and priced fairly...plus there's fresh breakfast! Overall a very good option for a stay in Santa Elena/Monteverde.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were due to stay in Sleepers Hostel, but it had overbooked by accident so they had organised us to stay here for the same price as the dorm we had booked in Sleepers.

Our room was a cabin, en suite with a double bed and a single bed.
Breakfast was included, it was a plate of fruit followed by eggs and toast, with juice and coffee.

The staff were very helpful at organising our day trips and giving us advice on travel

Sound carried throught the hotel though, we were lucky that our neighbours were in general very quiet, it meant that the sounds of the rainforrest could be heard at night it was very soothing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We came to this place because we got a personal recommendation for it. And we are really happy that we found this place. It is now called "Quetzal Ecolodge" and when I read the old comments, it seems that it changed a lot. The rooms are nice and clean. The owner family is really friendly and like to help you out. They even provide private "jungle tours" day or night-trips with their own excellent guide. During the day, there are sometimes monkeys showing up. And even a great and tasty breakfast was included (fresh seasonal fruits, coffee, toast, eggs, and always something special like beans and rice or "muesli"). Really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am torn about how to rate this hotel. My stay there was truly terrible, but not all of it was due to the hotel. I will do my best to factor out the good, the bad and the ugly.

I stayed in this place once a few years ago and had a better experience. The hotel is owned by a group of people who do not live in Santa Elena. On this visit there was another new manager with a genuine desire to make the place better. He claims it was total chaos when he took over and he is working on improvement.

The hotel is perfectly located near the center of Santa Elena, but backing up to forest. It should be quiet and convenient, but in fact is noisy as can be. A short walk takes you to a variety of lovely restaurants, shopping, etc. There is parking for a good number of vehicles. The WiFi does not work in the higher rooms. The breakfast service has been discontinued and, surprisingly, the early morning choices in town are few. The kiosk by the church is open early for traditional cuisine.

The hotel rooms remain rustic and comfortable. The climate is delightful for sleeping - blanket required. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

OK, the ugly side is the noise that now pervades all of Santa Elena, not just this hotel. There is a new super market across a small dip that is promoting itself with a bank of monster speakers (repetitive Latin pop) and they send sound trucks around town every 10 - 15 minutes blaring promotions and specials. This goes well into the evening and nobody knows when, or if, it will stop. In fact, this chain does this sort of promotion even for long-established stores.

Then there are the all-night-barking dogs, a very dedicated group. They surround the hotel bark intermittently all night long - 1,2,3, 4 AM. Combined with the supermarket speakers, I now consider Santa Elena the noisiest town in Cost Rica. The is not the fault of the Quetzal Inn and it impacts other hotels in town as well. That, said, it does not make for a restful getaway.

I had planned on staying several days, but fled the cacophony after one night.

I will certainly return to this beautiful area, but I think I will explore some of the more rural hotels outside of town.

Room Tip: If you want WiFi, you have to be in the lower section. The higher rooms also get hit with the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
#22 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#6 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Property: Quetzal Inn
Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing