We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quetzal Inn
Nearby Hotels
$126
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$49
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
27
26
11
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
26
11
4
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 80 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you like nature in your room, stay here. Otherwise, I suggest finding a cleaner hotel.

Yes, it's Costa Rica and bugs are part of nature, but I do not want them on my bed! Every night we had to do a sweep for bugs in our bed because there would be something different in our room every night.

The washrooms were kept dark and dim, so it was hard to see if they were clean. So I cannot review that. Rooms were more like little cabins.

The restaurant was ok, but food was very simple and in small portions.

This hotel is hidden in an alleyway but it is a minute walk to the main street.

There is a possibility waking up in the early morning due to monkeys running around on the roof. Pretty nice to hear but a little surreal.

Overall, there are plenty of other hostels and hotels you can stay out. You don't need to stay at this one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clumsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

First of all we love that this hotel is set back off the main street and up a hill overlooking part of Santa Elena. It made it feel like a special private oasis when returning exhausted from activities. The rooms are all wood, made out of cedar and were very clean and comfortable. We even had a private balcony. We did not eat breakfast here as we opted to go out early that morning so we can't say anything about breakfast.
On our last day there we had zip lining planned at noon, the manager had actually helped us plan which park to use and called the shuttle of the park we chose to set up the night before. Unlike everywhere/everyone else she did not push us towards any specific park but rather gave us all the information on each park so we could decide which one we wanted to go to. Being in sales I really liked that she was not trying to sell us to the one that gives her more commission. We in fact got Selvatura Tickets at a better price than their listed price and better than what the other street ticket people were offering. You'll notice in Santa Elena that everyone, every restaurant, etc sells tickets to everything. Its outright annoying and overwhelming at times. Every place you go to is pushing a different zip line park, a different coffee tour, simply because of the commission they are receiving selling those tickets, not because they are the best.
Also you would think that buying direct at the park or from the website would be the best route. Its not. Its cheaper to buy indirect, which makes no sense.
As far as this hotel for a stay? We would definitely stay here again. There were 4 of us in a standard room with 2 queen beds and that was more than enough space for us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Too bad we did not first look on TripAdvisor otherwise we did not go there.
The rooms are old and not maintained. Locks are broken, shower door will not move, if you want new towels you have to get them yourself, it's not clean, Breakfast is minimal.
The manager begins to groan when she has to do something.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_alias_Hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and enjoyed the Capuchin monkeys. The rooms were spartan but clean and the breakfast was typical. Carlos the manager was very good. Stayed there again this year (February 2012). My wife and I were the only people in the place. Place was uncomfortable, not real clean and the manager unresponsive except to repeated requests. Definitely would not stay here again..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The rooms here are very basic, but if you can handle that it's great!

It was comfy, the balcony view on the vegetation was really nice and we go to see a ton of birds, monkeys and butterflies. Just a note of "caution" do not close the balcony door when you are outside because the locking system if quite basic and if you shut the door fully you will lock yourself out. It happened to our neighbour :-)

The only slight downside is that there is a bar that features live bands not far away (sound carries) and we could pretty much figure out the songs. On the plus side, the band was quite good.

The staff was super friendly and helped up book our zip linning tour and our forest night walk.

As I said though, our room was very basic but we had a great time! But anyway, who goes to Costa Rica to stay in their room?

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews