We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the private apartment which was huge, own kitchen and lovely views. Got for a good price which the owner offered, qe didn't ask for 'best price' as it was so cheap anyway. Lily was wonderful helping us with everything, very friendly, always smiling or laughing. Simple breakfast included. Only slight downside was we could easily hear noisy kids in next room. Great family restaurant 30 seconds walk away. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 309 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hostel has a lovely communal area and kitchen with beautiful views of the surrounding areas and the lady running the hostel was friendly, welcoming and helped us organise any activities that we wanted to do.

The only downfall was that the private room we stayed in (with a shared bathroom) was right next to the kitchen with the bed against the window so it felt as though it lacked privacy.

Overall, it's a great hostel to relax in and meet new people but it would be worth spending a little more to upgrade to an ensuite room away from the kitchen or staying next door in 'Nuestra Casa' if you prefer a peaceful night's sleep.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed there with our kids for three nights and had two big doublebeds. Perfect and a good price for costarica. When the weather is good you have a great view. We also booked some tours there and finally our busticket. They didn't tell us the company and so we passed it. Finally it got us 2month to get the money back. But we got it. thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Cabinas Vista al Golfo is primarily a laid back backpacker’s place with a friendly atmosphere and a wonderful communal sitting/eating area with hammocks. The best place to relax and meet young people from all around the world. Our nicely equipped $60 apartment, on the top floor, was large and comfortable with kitchenette, eating area, two double beds and a bay window overlooking the valley. We enjoyed seeing the clouds moving in late in the day. The apartment had an adjoining door with another apartment, presumably to allow for very large families to share the entire top floor. The only problem we had was an excessive amount of noise entering our apartment through the adjoining door. The teenagers next door were quite loud and we had little problem following their conversations. I would have given a 4-star rating if not for this unfortunate noise problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hostel is clean and the kitchen is well equipped. The bonus is the view from the common room, free wifi/Internet, and breakfast that consisted of toast, banana,, cereal and coffee. The drawback is that the walls are paper thin so everyone can hear the slightest noise, and the howling of wind at night doesn't help. Although the kitchen is closed after 9pm, it doesn't stop the people from using the kitchen close to midnight. Room 6, which is between the kitchen and the bathroom, should be avoided. I requested a quiet room and requested not to be in room 6, an advice taken from an Aussie couple whom I met in La Fortuna. Unfortunately, I was placed in that room as there were no available rooms that day. Upon check in, the lady who worked at the desk mentioned that I can move to room 3 the next day. Next day, when asked, she mentioned that the people in room 3 registered for 3 additional days, and that all the private rooms were booked. Very strange, as I got the chance to see room 3 when they were cleaning the vacant rooms in the morning while waiting for a tour. I didn't see any personal belongings nor was the hostel busy with travellers the next two days...

Room Tip: Avoid Room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Shame the apparent boss at this place and his cronies are so unpleasant because it would be a pretty decent backpacker's option otherwise. We stayed in a perfectly serviceable double room with shared bath for $7 each. The shower is phenomenal. I wanted to stay in there all day. There's a nice airy and well equipped kitchen upstairs which is also where they leave out a basic breakfast in the morning. This consists of coffee, bread, jam and bananas (hard and tasteless). It's a pretty good place to rest your head on a budget but I would steer clear of the hardsell in the hostel's tourist office and shop around a bit. Always take what they say with a pinch of salt. We were informed that night tours of Monteverde forest had ceased because "nobody saw any animals". You're not perchance trying to encourage me to go on your tour to a different forest are you Mr hostel man? No, course not!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Cabinas Vista Al Golfo for one night in June. We wanted to stay another day, but our booking was last minute and there were no rooms available. The room was basic, but very tidy. It had two beds and a shelf. The only problem was the howling wind in the morning. It wasn't a big issue but it did disturb sleep a little bit in the morning. The bathrooms are clean as well. The common areas are definitely a big draw for this place. We met interesting people here and had some great conversations in the balcony that looks out to Monteverde and has really nice views to offer. The breakfast is your basic continental breakfast. The staff is also extremely nice and hospitable. It's a really good deal and you should stay here if you're in Santa Elena.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddharthK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.3 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Address: Meters Southeast Of the Supermercado la Espera 300, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $28 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing