We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Certificate of Excellence
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Cabinas Vista Al Golfo for one night in June. We wanted to stay another day, but our booking was last minute and there were no rooms available. The room was basic, but very tidy. It had two beds and a shelf. The only problem was the howling wind in the morning. It wasn't a big issue but it did disturb sleep a little bit in the morning. The bathrooms are clean as well. The common areas are definitely a big draw for this place. We met interesting people here and had some great conversations in the balcony that looks out to Monteverde and has really nice views to offer. The breakfast is your basic continental breakfast. The staff is also extremely nice and hospitable. It's a really good deal and you should stay here if you're in Santa Elena.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiddharthK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    102
    27
    12
    12
See reviews for
21
119
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

clean room, front desk is helpful at booking and changing shuttle. The shuttle they booked for me is very good from Monterverde to Arenal for $25.
only drawback is the wall is so thin, you can almost hear verything from next door, but for $20 for a private room. this is good value

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
534 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights, 2 in a shared bathroom room and 4 in a private. As it was low season they were prepared to do a good deal which we appreciated.
We had a look at other hostels in the same price range, some had slightly better rooms but we loved the common areas and the views which the others did not have.
The showers had proper hot water (no electric heads) and were great in the cool climate. The staff was very polite and helpful. Wi-fi was included and good, there were also computers for use.
There was a small kitchen (only 2 burners) that was spotless clean and had plenty of pots etc.
We booked tours through them and could pay with credit card.
I have marked them down 1 star as they had 2 kitchens and common areas but they locked downstairs as there was no one in the dorms but this meant that the 2nd kitchen could not be used (there were a lot of people in the privates) and the only common tv could not be accessed and it was the warmest area of the hostel especially when the wind was howling - so it took away from what they advertise. Also they seemed to be trying to change the agreement we made with their representative when we agreed to stay but minor problems - it was a good stay and we would recommend it. Loved Monteverde - beautiful area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely place with a brilliant view, close enough to walk to the main part of Santa Elena within minutes but far away enough to be peaceful. Quiet at night. Rooms very clean. Homely atmosphere and brilliant staff who took the initiative to make sure every part of our stay, including our departure, went forward without any problems. Great cheap laundry service too!

Room Tip: Room 9 has a great view but if the hostel was busy you would have to keep your curtains closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyandDanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in dorms (only 3 beds!), the place is clean, has a nice kitchen and good wi fi and computers for guests.
Price was ridiculously cheap for costa rica - only 7USD with breakfast!
The owner is really nice and accommodating and he will get you the best price for the shuttle to la fortuna.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilmeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, the location is good and a five minute walk from town down a dirt road.

The rooms are small but functional with a reasonable shower and comfy bed. Breakfast is provided in the morning.

Only negative is that there are no less than 7 notices in the room regarding tours that the hostel offers. Several of these are warning against booking elsewhere including a handwritten note supposedly from a previous guest recounting their bad experience when booking elsewhere and of course recommending that people only book through the hostel. The handwriting on this note is however suspiciously similar to that of the lady the runs the hostel! I didn't book any tours through the hostel and didn't have any problems nor was a murdered by a ravenous sloth as it would appear would happen. This practice actually puts me off using their travel services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a private room with a small double and bunk beds facing the main road side with a private bathroom. It was very clean, comfortable but a tight squeeze. There was good water pressure and hot water (except on the last night where the water was lukewarm). It is a 5 minute walk to town to pick up groceries or have dinner out. There is an equipped kitchen if you prefer to cook your own meals. Breakfast consists of fruits, bread with jam and cereal. There is corfee and milk but no juice for those non cofee drinkers. The views are amazing and we had a couple of nights watching the mist roll into town. The front office staff is very friendly and you can get your tickets for just about any attraction here. It's a good place to relax after hiking or partaking in other monteverde activities. Very quiet after 9 p.m.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Property: Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Address: Meters Southeast Of the Supermercado la Espera 300, Santa Elena , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing