We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had a room with private bathroom/TV. Great view, well equipted communal kitchen, helpful staff. I would always recommend the place. The Hotel might need some renovation, but for the price you can't be too picky.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    104
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
21
125
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

It was a great costa rican experience staying at Hotel Vista Al Golfo: very cheap but still very nice: the family that runs it is very helpful , the room is spacious and clean and the common areas (kitchen, living room, etc) cozy and well organized and the tours offered pretty nice (besides the canopy,try the canyoning and horse riding, you won't regret). Just a warning: the location is a little steepy, but the entire city / village is pretty much in the same situation, so enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THEREZA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Cartago, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Cabinas Vista al Golfo is simple in the best kind of way- it has no unnecessary frills, but it doesn't skimp on any necessities. There really isn't anything I'd change about it, and found myself saying, "I wish this place were my apartment!"

My friend and I stayed two nights, one in a double room with two beds upstairs, and the other in a dorm room downstairs. The double had more bedding/blankets, whereas the dorm only had sheets. Both had towels and shared bathrooms with hot water!

The upstairs kitchen is absolutely beautiful; it feels like you're in a tree house. It's all windows and you can gaze out at the green mountains and valleys that give Monteverde its name. The kitchen is well stocked with plenty of cutting boards, sharp knives, plates, bowls and mugs. The free breakfast is stellar- with coffee, tea, fruit, bread, jam. The downstairs kitchen is just as well stocked.

There are hammocks and lounge chairs on both levels perfect for reading, relaxing and reflecting. This is not the place to come if you're looking for a party, but it's definitely the place if you're looking to chat with someone about Game of Thrones and swap nature reserve trail suggestions.

The staff was incredibly helpful with bus/tour information and was very flexible when we decided to stay another night.

Because the hostel is on an exposed hillside, at night it was extremely windy and the howling gusts rattling the tin roof made it a little hard to fall asleep, but if you want to avoid mother nature you're traveling in the wrong country.

Room Tip: The double/triples upstairs have an almost treehouse feel. The privates downstairs are off the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is one of the best places my friend and I stayed in 5 weeks of travel in costa rica. Very friendly, helpful staff/owners. As backpackers typically only able to afford dorm rooms, we were very excited to have a private room for as much as it would cost us to have a dorm room somewhere else. The breakfast is good, lots of coffee, fruit, toast, and cereal. There's also a fun "sky kitchen" with great views of the gulf! Everything is cleaned pretty well, and there are lots of hammocks everywhere. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thousandances7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is definitely a hostel, but in a very good way. If you're looking for something fancy, this isn't the place, but if you're looking for extremely friendly and helpful locals and a place to sleep, it's perfect. We were only here for a night, but were very pleased. We had a private room and the owner was super helpful to arrange tours for us and answer our questions. The soda two doors down was wonderful and invited us into the kitchen to show us what she was cooking. The pollo con arroz was fantastic. If you're in to wildlife make sure you go do the night tour which is only $20 per person and our absolute favorite thing we did while traveling through Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We appreciated to stay in Vista el Golfo likely one of the best stay in Costa Rica. The staff was very helpful to organize all activities around and also in other part of Costa Rica. It has to be also mentioned that nearby is likely the best soda in the country. All in all the money you pay and what you get is great deal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanChlumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Owners extremely friendly and helpful. We had 1 private and 2 dorm rooms and all were clean and comfortable. Easy walk to town. We ate at the soda 2 doors up the street or cooked in the common kitchen. Many hammocks in the breezeway. Very economical for all the amenities. They will even do your laundry which was necessary after an extended stay at the beach and the rain forest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#6 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Property: Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Address: Meters Southeast Of the Supermercado la Espera 300, Santa Elena , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing