We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Certificate of Excellence
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in the Vista for 4 days on our trip to Monteverde and it was great!
Hostel has private rooms with bathroom (our choice) and also dorms. There are plenty of bathrooms and showers to use and two kitchens - one with a beautiful view of the mountains and another one is downstairs, so there is plenty of room for everyone to cook. They also have a computer room with 4 computers for you to use. Staff is very helpfull and location is great too. Our room was private and at the front of the property, but far from common areas, so it was quite at night. If you are a long time traveller like us, you will find a refuge there for a few days before moving on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aartemyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    112
    31
    12
    14
See reviews for
21
139
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford Ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We looked at another place nice, as was everywhere we stayed in Costa Rica. The view and wind were amazing, close to town and there is a great place to eat at the end of the street,La Carambola, Cooking breakfast was fun and we did each others dishes.Free Wifi (can't get that at Double Tree in Boston)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a great little B&B/Hostel in Santa Elena. We spent 3 nights there. It's comfortable with great views of the valley. There is a nice simple kitchenette and an outdoor patio with great views of the valley below. The owners were attentive and helpful and we had a wonderful time there. It's a short 5 min walk from the center of town.
The only negative is that it can get very windy and rainy in Monteverde valley and the noise from the rain/wind did wake us up at night a number of times, but I think any place in Monteverde would have the same issues.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I love this place. I stayed there a week with my little brothers in a really nice private room for only $20. The hottest water in CR! The nicest owners. Every tour recommendation they gave was amazing. We did horseback riding, ziplining, hiking. Great place great view best breakfast in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We were very happy with our two night stay at Cabinas Vista Al Golfo.
The owner met us at the bus (from SJO) and brought us up to check the place out before checking in. I'm glad, too, because I would have missed the steps and path that are a shortcut from the main market, and probably taken a hike (with all my gear). If you are driving, and see "Mundo de insectos" (or something like that) on a huge sign along the road. This place is directly above it. Don't ask me how to drive there, but there's a rocky road that you can easily walk from the center.
We had reserved a two bed private. We got room 8, upstairs, and were very happy with it!
The staff were nice and nothing but helpful. They quickly arranged the tours we wanted (all at the same price or less than my research had told me to expect to pay), and did my laundry the same day for only $5.
They have wireless and several computers for guest use. There's hammocks on the balcony, a kitchen, and an indoor common room for hanging out with other travelers. It's very close to the center of Sta Elena, and there are two nice (cheaper than in the town center) sodas just a door or two up-hill from it.
There was a lot of wind, but that's what you get for being on top of a mountain! They had sufficient windows, and nice cozy blankets on the beds.
I would recommend this place to any budget travelers! I hope to visit again some day!

Room Tip: 8 had 2 beds and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HurricaneAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments on the property that is in a different building from the rest of the hostel. It is like an efficiency, with a small kitchen (with microwave, mini fridge, counter top range, pots/pans, etc), bathroom with hot water, large bedroom with TV, and a porch that has been enveloped into the main room and glassed in. We were mainly staying in budget places, so this was luxury for us. The porch area had gulf views the whole time we were there, but the most defining feature is definitely the wind which blew almost constantly. To me it was mainly soothing as i like sleeping in a storm. :)
There was internet/WiFi available everywhere in the hotel as well as computers to use in the main area. Laundry can be done for a charge by the pound.
Lily was extremely helpful in planning adventures. There have been some scams around town and people who had bad experiences planning trips which had to be cancelled due to weather and then didn't get money back, but you can book everything through your hotel and it should all be secure. We did everything through Lily and had no problems.
Overall a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginaandscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

We paid $50 a night for the 'delux' appartment, so we weren't expecting much.

The good points - the room was lovely and big and the views were beautiful. We did feel there should be some mention of the winds on the website as they are very loud and the shaking and rattling of windows makes it quite difficuult to sleep.

The breakfast is okay for a hostel - cereal, bread and some fruit - we heard rumours that there were eggs on occasion but none while we were there. I would have preferred being offered washing up liquid to do our dishes. The breakfast is supposed to start at 6 but the one day we went down at 6 as we had to leave at 6.30 (and they knew this) nothing was ready until 6.20.

It was this attitude of the staff that really disappointed us. As soon as they found out we had booked our tours online already their whole attitude changed. They have signs everywhere warnign you to only book tours through them and that you will be hassled in town - we didn't find this to be the case. We saw them speaking to people who did book tours through them - it was amazing how much their English improved!

So overall quite disappointing as we felt the website was pretty inaccurate.

Room Tip: Be wary about the noise of the wind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Property: Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Address: Meters Southeast Of the Supermercado la Espera 300, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing