We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$126
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$49
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveler rating
861
241
36
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
241
36
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis brotherpancakessabor ticocosta ricathe ownerwooden furniturefruitsoccer fieldgreat place to stayevery morningcloud forestbreakfast was deliciousla fortunadowntown santa elenarooms are basicthin wallsnight hike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
880 - 885 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Rustic Lodge was one of our favorite hotels in Costa Rica. It was the perfect location in the Monteverde Rainforest. Jose was a super host and we were made to feel right at home. Our 8 year old daughter felt so comfortable there as well that she arranged with the Jose, a surprise anniversary cake. We will sure come back to this location when we are in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfmford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Jose and Marcelo, 2 brothers from a family of 11, own and run this gem of a hotel. They are the two most pleasant, charming and helpful people we have met on our trip in Costa Rica.
The rooms are spacious with good quality en suite shower. Breakfast varies each day, often with home made or grown produce eg the coffee. The rooms are very reasonable, note that the $50 rate is for cash, rising to $56.50 for credit cards. The boys also made the majority of the chairs and tables.
When we arrived Jose, who speaks fluent English, went thru the various thing to do, we were there for just 2 whole days so crammed the following in
Santa Elena reserve, Don Juan coffee tour a fascinating insight into how coffe gets from bean to cup, Selvatura zip wires and reptile house. The wires are a thrill, esp above the tree line and much less expensive than Sky Trek. We also did the reptile house with guide which was very interesting. We also did a night walk which was ok, but didnt see much apart from Coati and a tarantula.
Had 3 excellent eve meals, Don Juan, restorante de Lucia and best of all Mar Y Tierra, all similar pricing.

Jose is our shining knight. After we left the hotel heading toward the Pacific coast, we took a wrong turn and ended up 4km down a farm track at the bottom of a steep, steep hill. If you have been to the Santa Elena area you may understand how we could have mistaken this for the main road. We turned round, but couldnt get up the hill and the 4x4 overheated due to a non functioning fan and broken hose.
To cut a long story short Jose came, along with a farmer and cow hand, made a temporary repair on the car, drove it up the hill like a rally driver and then followed us for 2 hours in his own car, refilling us with water each time we overheated until we met up with the hire co for a new car. What a star! NB if you are driving to Santa Elena, it is ESSENTIAL to have a 4x4.
We cannot recommend Jose and Marcelo too highly they are lovely people.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I just got back from a 2 week vacation to CR and had the pleasure of staying at the Rustic Lodge for 2 of those nights. I can honestly say that this was THE best place we stayed at on our entire vacation. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, the garden/landscaping was beautiful and the prices were more than reasonable. But what made the stay here most memorable was the unbelievable hosts. Both Jose and Marcelo treated us like family during our stay. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and helped us plan our tours/activities. Two weeks after returning home they even sent me an email thanking us for staying with them that was beyond kind. The review would not be complete without mentioning the beautiful wood future and decorations throughout the lodge that are all handmade by the brothers themselves. Amazing! If you are looking for a place to stay in the Monteverde area...this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIvetteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like old friends. The rooms were clean and simple. The lodge was quiet and in a nice little neighborhood. Our rooms were situated where we had a little patio between the rooms overlooking a garden where we saw the biggest hummingbird I've ever seen. Very restful. There was no TV in our room, but why travel to Costa Rica to watch TV? There was internet service and when we discovered our travel plans were mixed up the proprietor, Jose', helped us fix them. He also had great suggestions about what to see and do in and around Monteverde. If you want to stay in a hotel that looks and feels like the last place you stayed, go for it. If you want to get the feel and flavor of living in Costa Rica, stay at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge.
P.S. The price is great, too!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This is just simply a great place to stay! We travel with another couple on a regular basis and have experienced a lot of accomodation and the Rustic Inn in MOnteverde is exceptional! The two brothers are more than accomodating. We had a little issue with a travel agent regarding a reservation to an attraction and the owner worked it out in a matte rof minutes and we were on our way. These guys can book you to any of the attractions in Monteverde. The rooms are beyond clean. The towels made into swans was a cute plus. The hummingbird garden at this place is relaxing. Breakfast is homemade and delicious. All you want as well. Of course, local Monteverde coffee is served! It is clear that the owners really, really care about you and want you to have the best possible time in their cool little town of Monteverde. They referred us to a restaurant for lunch, "Morpho's" and it was yummy! All in all we would definitely stay here again. We just loved our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieCueZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews