We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A knight in shining armour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Jose and Marcelo, 2 brothers from a family of 11, own and run this gem of a hotel. They are the two most pleasant, charming and helpful people we have met on our trip in Costa Rica.
The rooms are spacious with good quality en suite shower. Breakfast varies each day, often with home made or grown produce eg the coffee. The rooms are very reasonable, note that the $50 rate is for cash, rising to $56.50 for credit cards. The boys also made the majority of the chairs and tables.
When we arrived Jose, who speaks fluent English, went thru the various thing to do, we were there for just 2 whole days so crammed the following in
Santa Elena reserve, Don Juan coffee tour a fascinating insight into how coffe gets from bean to cup, Selvatura zip wires and reptile house. The wires are a thrill, esp above the tree line and much less expensive than Sky Trek. We also did the reptile house with guide which was very interesting. We also did a night walk which was ok, but didnt see much apart from Coati and a tarantula.
Had 3 excellent eve meals, Don Juan, restorante de Lucia and best of all Mar Y Tierra, all similar pricing.

Jose is our shining knight. After we left the hotel heading toward the Pacific coast, we took a wrong turn and ended up 4km down a farm track at the bottom of a steep, steep hill. If you have been to the Santa Elena area you may understand how we could have mistaken this for the main road. We turned round, but couldnt get up the hill and the 4x4 overheated due to a non functioning fan and broken hose.
To cut a long story short Jose came, along with a farmer and cow hand, made a temporary repair on the car, drove it up the hill like a rally driver and then followed us for 2 hours in his own car, refilling us with water each time we overheated until we met up with the hire co for a new car. What a star! NB if you are driving to Santa Elena, it is ESSENTIAL to have a 4x4.
We cannot recommend Jose and Marcelo too highly they are lovely people.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

I just got back from a 2 week vacation to CR and had the pleasure of staying at the Rustic Lodge for 2 of those nights. I can honestly say that this was THE best place we stayed at on our entire vacation. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, the garden/landscaping was beautiful and the prices were more than reasonable. But what made the stay here most memorable was the unbelievable hosts. Both Jose and Marcelo treated us like family during our stay. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and helped us plan our tours/activities. Two weeks after returning home they even sent me an email thanking us for staying with them that was beyond kind. The review would not be complete without mentioning the beautiful wood future and decorations throughout the lodge that are all handmade by the brothers themselves. Amazing! If you are looking for a place to stay in the Monteverde area...this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIvetteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like old friends. The rooms were clean and simple. The lodge was quiet and in a nice little neighborhood. Our rooms were situated where we had a little patio between the rooms overlooking a garden where we saw the biggest hummingbird I've ever seen. Very restful. There was no TV in our room, but why travel to Costa Rica to watch TV? There was internet service and when we discovered our travel plans were mixed up the proprietor, Jose', helped us fix them. He also had great suggestions about what to see and do in and around Monteverde. If you want to stay in a hotel that looks and feels like the last place you stayed, go for it. If you want to get the feel and flavor of living in Costa Rica, stay at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge.
P.S. The price is great, too!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This is just simply a great place to stay! We travel with another couple on a regular basis and have experienced a lot of accomodation and the Rustic Inn in MOnteverde is exceptional! The two brothers are more than accomodating. We had a little issue with a travel agent regarding a reservation to an attraction and the owner worked it out in a matte rof minutes and we were on our way. These guys can book you to any of the attractions in Monteverde. The rooms are beyond clean. The towels made into swans was a cute plus. The hummingbird garden at this place is relaxing. Breakfast is homemade and delicious. All you want as well. Of course, local Monteverde coffee is served! It is clear that the owners really, really care about you and want you to have the best possible time in their cool little town of Monteverde. They referred us to a restaurant for lunch, "Morpho's" and it was yummy! All in all we would definitely stay here again. We just loved our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieCueZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Rustic Lodge itself is beautiful. The wood furniture and decorations are truly a work of art and what makes it even more special is that it was all created and constructed by the hands of Jose, Marcelo and their other brother(s). The place is very clean and the landscape and plants, and little garden with hummingbirs feeders are all a visual joy. The hotel was very reasonably priced. The homemade breakfasts were delicious , my favorite part being the home made jams.
But what made it the most special place we stayed in while in Costa Rica was the unmatched hospitality. Jose and Marcelo (brothers and owners and local Monteverdens) were beyond kind and warm. We were treated like queens and family.
If you are planning to go to Monteverde, stop your search for a place to stay. The Rustic Lodge IS the place to stay!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank jessdian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at this lodge on our family trip to Costa Rica in April. One spacious room accommodated our family of 5. The room was immaculate and the bathroom was very spacious. The handmade furniture throughout was made by the owner and his brother and was beautiful. The hospitality was wonderful - they took care of us, making sure we got where we needed to go by always helping us arrange transportation. We still remember the smell of that homemade granola cooking. We highly recommend this place if you want to get a taste of a lodge owned by local, polite, helpful, friendly Costa Ricans.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank METravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

The owners are wonderful. They are extremely hospitable and sweet. I am a 25 year old woman and I traveled with my friend who is also a woman. We felt 100% safe. The rooms are beautifully decorated. Located close to the big sites. A little noisy at night due to the bar down the street. But if I ever go back to CR, I will not miss a stop here. This was the best hotel we stayed at during our 2 week tour.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheresjenn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $66 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing