We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Rustic Lodge for 2 nights in Monteverde and it was fantastic. Free, great breakfast and coffee, and most importantly, the hotel made reservations for us at local restaurants and for guided tours as well. Super helpful and fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brutesquad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    228
    35
    3
    1
See reviews for
270
546
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The staff, breakfast and room size makes the difference. Everyone in the staff is kind, helpful, and always give you the best advice. The breakfast is so unique, homemade, diffrent, maybe the best (not in variety) from costa rica. The rooms are big, but might be a little bit noisy, I mean, you might hear something from the other rooms... But not a big deal.
I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It was very windy in Monteverde, but the hotel was great. Rooms are really big, you can dance there, big bathroom with hot water, very clean, no TV in the room. Breakfast was great, best from all hotels, staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Ernesto was helpful with our local bookings and arranging travel to our next stop. I highly recommend the stay. Bring your own blow dryer. Good wifi connection. No fridge in room. Need earplugs if wind is blowing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tammy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in February and could not have been more pleased with our choice. As non drivers, we appreciated the fact that the lodge was in walking distance to Santa Elena's coffee shops and restaurants, and also the bus stop for the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve.
Although the walk could seem a bit long and steep after a tiring day out, (it is mostly uphil from Santa Elena) , to me, the accommodation at Monteverde Rustic Lodge more than compensates. The room we had was the best we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Costa Rica, with an enormous shower and a balcony with stunning wooden furniture. The same furniture is in the breakfast room. We did not have an issue with noise from neighbours ?
Finally, José, Marcelo and Ernesto could not have been more friendly and accommodating.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a large shower and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Rustic Lodge is a beautiful sparkling clean hotel which is the real gem in Monteverde. We (family of 3 people from Canada) had a very spacious room decorated with great taste (as the rest of the hotel). Big bathroom had very good hot shower.
Dining Room where breakfast is served looks like high end restaurant with cozy warm feeling. Breakfast is home-made, delicious and fresh. Grounds of the hotel are beautiful also like everything else.
Brothers Jose and Marcelo who own hotel work there themselves. They are very special people, very warm and personable, who you want to befriend for life from the very first day. Certainly will choose it again if we return to Monteverde – it is pleasure to be there.
We highly recommend this place to everybody, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hosts Jose and Ernesto were superb. They took care of everything for us including arranging transportation. The lodge is beautiful and conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Santa Elena. The grounds are lovely. Our rooms were quiet and spotless. Meals were delicious.

We highly recommend Monteverde Rustic Lodge for anyone planning to visit the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Property: Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing