We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well priced, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, well priced, friendly”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We ended up staying at a lot of hotels on our cross-country trip through Costa Rica. This was easily one of the best hotels that we stayed at during our trip. The room we stayed in was clean and spacious. The staff was great and very helpful. They gave us advice on what to see an do and directed us on good places to eat. They were also very accommodating with our special needs as we were traveling with an 18 month old toddler. The breakfast included was good and they served you quickly so that you can get out the door and on your way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    232
    35
    3
    1
See reviews for
274
547
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tielt, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the Monteverde Rustic Lodge and we sure enjoyed our stay with them!
The owners must be the most kind people we have encountered during our stay in Costa Rica. They really help you with all your questions and are so very kind.
The laundry service was a bargain, the rooms very clean and we enjoyed the decent breakfast in the morning.
The lodge is also well situated just outside the town. It is only a walk of about 10 minutes.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gyzmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The staff is excellent. they help and assist you in anything
The area is very convenient to explore Monteverde
Breakfast is delicious!
You can use the same area to eat your own food at lunch or dinner if you want

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very confortable hotel with excellent service, an excellent breakfast and good information. Rooms very adecuate, very clean and good value for money. Morning breakfast seemed unlimited and staff very helpful. The hotel is perhaps 10 mins. walk from the center of Santa Elena. Richard, Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhuett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laarbeek
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the Rustic Lodge 21/22 December. We liked it very much. We had a lovely room, very clean and comfortable bed, good breakfast. We got also all the help we needed to book excursions and got good advise what to do and see. Friendly owners and good athmosfere. Walking distance to the town with several restaurants. We would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ennis270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for two nights and would definitely stay here again when I come back to Costa Rica. Jose was very friendly and helpful throughout our short stay. Our room was clean, big and comfy cozy, most importantly the bathroom was very clean! The free breakfast was yummy and healthy and served with a smile! Highly recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank traemendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were on a two week vacation experience with our two teenagers ages 18 and 15.
This place was amazing. It was a comfortable clean place to lay your head at night. The owners greet you daily in the morning dining room and prepare breakfast for you. A great way to start the day. Breakfast is included. They cater to all dietary needs. The owners give you great places to go and suggest nearby locations to tour and dine. In the area you must do sky tram zip lining and the hanging bridges, rosewood studio is a must, coffee tour, a night tour and go for a walk in town. A dining must is Don Luis and the lady's house for dinner. Our experience was just amazing. When we had an issue with transportation, the owners were right there to fix it for us. In our opinion, an amazing place to be and stay.

Room Tip: We had two rooms that shared the same porch. An awesome bonus! The grounds were beautiful but simpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcplante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Property: Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing