We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is an excellent budget option. For $70 a night we got a nice, extremely clean room an 8 minute walk from downtown Santa Elena. The bath had a nice tiled stall shower. It is simple but very comfortable.

Upon arrival Ernesto spent 20 minutes talking me through all of my tour options and immediately made phone calls to set me up with a night tour, a wonderful guide for the Cloud Forest the next morning (Chris; i highly recommend), a canopy tour (Original Canopy, also highly recommend), transportation, etc. He was just delightful for our full 2 days. When we came back from our canopy tour one rainy night, i asked if there was coffee to drink and the fellow at the desk made me a pot, including hot milk, to take back to my room and thanked ME 4 times for taking it. That is the kind of service at this place.

The downsides were: no fridge in room (but they let us keep stuff in kitchen fridge, so no big deal), and, the biggest thing, no comfy place to sit outside when you want to just hang out. They have a small, pretty garden area, but the chairs are wood and incredibly uncomfortable. Also no air conditioning and windows don't open, but it was plenty cool at night. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this if you want a place to stay, not just hang out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurafromAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Rustic Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had some issues trying to find the place at first but that's how Costa Rica is. The staff at this place is warm, welcoming and very very helpful. We were very happy with our stay here. The room we had must have just been finished because it still smelled like wood varnish. No TV, phone, AC or safe... and you don't need any of that. Felt very safe at all times. Wish they at least provided ice to keep food and drinks cool... I definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: There are more private rooms behind the initial set of rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreeksmonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a great stay here while in Monteverde. Jose was always more than happy to help us and even made us fresh coffee any time of day. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is great - a short walk into Santa Elena but a little out of the town, so it's quiet. Would definitely recommend Rustic Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieW1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great value, the room was small but ok for 2 people for a few night and ok for 3 people for a couple of nights I guess.
Super clean too.
The location is convenient, the breakfast is good and the staff will take the time to share with you all the good stuff to do around there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clement R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, parents, and I enjoyed staying at the Rustic Lodge for three nights. The premises were very clean and the service, impeccable. The single room is small, but do-able for a couple. Jose is incredibly gracious, prompt with e-mail communication, and does everything he can to make your stay comfortable. The best part was Joe (and his staff's) assistance with booking tours and activities. If you've never been to Costa Rica, you're in good hands with Jose, since he knows many of the tour operators and can book activities for you while you are in Monteverde. If he says you can wait until you arrive to book your activities, he means it. Just have a general idea of the things you want to do.

As for transportation, Jose can arrange a pick-up for you from San Jose Airport if you'd like. It cost us $150/one-way, plus tip.

Here's what we did during our 3-day, 3-night stay, all of which were coordinated through Jose: The Original Canopy Tour, guided tour of the Monteverde Biological Cloud Forest Reserve (through Esteban Mendez Vargas ($17 entrance fee + $17 tour fee + tip), mendezguia@hotmail.com), horseback riding & hot spring ($35/person), orchid garden ($11?), butterfly/frog pond/preserve ($13?), snake preserve/museum, Don Juan Coffee/Chocolate Tour..... Jose is familiar with all of these. Don't quote me on the prices.

There are restaurants within walking distance of the Lodge. The best priced restaurant for the quality was Sabor Tico. We ate there three times. The casado entrees are the best in my opinion. The fried taco was hard.

Make sure to bring plenty of cash. While many tours take credit, you'll need cash for taxis and activities that only take cash. Also, San Juan airport charges a $35 exit fee/person, which can be paid by card.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wellesley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and felt totally comfortable here. The rooms are very nice, good price-value. Jose and his team take their time for individual information and advice and are very supportive. According to your preferences they give you advise regarding tours, excursions on your own, places to see, restaurants and so on. Breakfast is good. Overall totally recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently stayed two nights as the Rustic Lodge. The rooms are simple and very well maintained. I loved all the word work at the lodge and its surroundings, including a sloth in a tree on the property. What really makes this place outstanding the owner and staff. Jose and Ernesto were very welcoming and were able to set us up on some tours with great guides as well as ziplining. They also had great restaurant recommendations. The breakfast each morning was really tasty. Just a really nice, welcoming place. If we ever have the opportunity to go back to this area I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbapete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing